Promoting security and stability

The government of Canada is focusing on training and advising local security forces to take their fight directly to Daesh. To this end, additional military resources will be dedicated to supporting Coalition partners at various headquarters and to training, advising and assisting Iraqi security forces in their efforts to degrade and defeat Daesh. While Canada will cease air strike operations, aerial refueling and surveillance activities will continue. As well, stabilization and counter-terrorism measures and chemical, biological, radiological and nuclear security programming in the region will be enhanced.

Canada is undertaking the following activities, in close co-ordination with key Coalition allies and local and international partners to accomplish the goal of promoting security and stability:

Military efforts

Military efforts continue to play an important role in setting the conditions necessary to deal with the threat posed by Daesh. Following discussions with the Government of Iraq and Coalition partners, Canada extended its military engagement in Iraq and Syria under Operation IMPACT until March 31, 2017, and is making the following contributions under its new approach:

Canada will allocate approximately $305.9 million towards these efforts with an additional $41.9 million allocated for redeployment of personnel and equipment in 2016-17. Recognizing the complexity of the challenging security environment, we will assess at a later date whether the mission should be extended beyond March 31, 2017.

Non-military security efforts

Other Government of Canada security initiatives include:

These initiatives will also be undertaken in close consultation and collaboration with local and international partners, including Coalition partners and allies.

On May 5, 2016, Canada signed a memorandum of understanding with Jordan to increase cooperation between the two countries on security and stabilization in the region. For more information, see Canada and Jordan cooperate on security and fighting terrorism.

For more information, please see:

Date Modified:

Promouvoir la sécurité et la stabilité

Le gouvernement du Canada s’attache à former, à conseiller et à autonomiser les forces de sécurité locales pour qu’elles puissent lutter elles-mêmes contre Daesh. Pour ce faire, des ressources militaires additionnelles iront expressément aider les partenaires de la Coalition dans divers quartiers généraux, et iront former et conseiller les forces de sécurité irakiennes et aider les forces dans leurs efforts visant à affaiblir et à vaincre Daesh. Le Canada cessera ses opérations de frappes aériennes, mais poursuivra ses activités de surveillance aérienne et de ravitaillement de carburant en vol. De plus, il améliorera ses mesures de stabilisation et de lutte antiterroriste ainsi que ses programmes de sécurité chimique, biologique, radiologique et nucléaire dans la région.

Afin d’atteindre l’objectif de promouvoir la sécurité et la stabilité , le Canada entreprend les activités suivantes en étroite collaboration avec ses principaux alliés de la Coalition et ses partenaires locaux et internationaux :

Efforts militaires

Le rôle des efforts militaires demeure important pour l’instauration des conditions nécessaires à la lutte contre la menace que représente Daesh. Suite à de plus amples discussions avec le gouvernement de l’Irak et les partenaires de la Coalition, le Canada a prolongé jusqu’au 31 mars 2017 son engagement militaire en Irak et en Syrie au sein de l’Opération IMPACT, et apporte les contributions suivantes dans le cadre de sa nouvelle approche :

Le Canada allouera environ 305,9 millions de dollars à ces efforts ainsi que 41,9 millions de dollars additionnels au redéploiement du personnel et de l’équipement en 2017. Nous sommes conscients de la complexité du contexte de sécurité exigeant, alors nous réévaluerons plus tard s’il est nécessaire de prolonger la mission après le 31 mars 2017.

Efforts de sécurité non militaires

Parmi les autres initiatives de sécurité du gouvernement du Canada, notons les suivantes :

Ces initiatives seront également entreprises en étroite consultation et en étroite collaboration avec les partenaires locaux et internationaux, y compris les alliés et les partenaires de la Coalition.

Le 5 mai 2016, le Canada a signé un protocole d’entente avec la Jordanie pour renforcer la collaboration entre les deux pays à l’égard de la sécurité et de la stabilité dans la région. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter Canada et la Jordanie collaborent en matière de sécurité et de lutte anti-terroriste.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter les pages suivantes :

Date de modification: