Empowering women and youth in Egypt

Helping young Egyptians, especially women, get the job skills they need is essential to their wellbeing.

Sanaa ironing the labels.

A skilled workforce is an important foundation of sustainable economic growth. Countries that invest heavily in human capital usually demonstrate the strongest growth.  More than a quarter of Egyptians are in the 15-to-24 age group. At least 90 percent of Egypt's unemployed are under 30 years of age.

Women, in particular, face significant hurdles to full and effective participation in many economies as employees, employers, and entrepreneurs, often due to legal, social, regulatory, and cultural barriers. Empowering women to be active economic actors has significant potential to increase sustainable economic growth, bring more benefits to women and their families and accelerate poverty reduction

Canada is committed to the economic empowerment and improvement of work conditions for youth and women. With the Decent Employment for Youth project, Canada aims to support the Government of Egypt’s efforts to stimulate sustainable economic growth and provide appropriate jobs for young people.

Hag Salah Ali Hassan is the owner of one of the small enterprises supported by the project. With the help of his two sons, Hassan manages 25 workers, 6 young women and 19 men, who are working full time, dying thread and producing printed labels and emblems. The young women sit in an airy and spacious room preparing the labels. They are grateful to have the opportunity to make some money and help their families while working in a decent environment.   

To date, with Canada’s support, this project has increased the professional capacity of approximately 35 percent of all technical staff at the Ministry of Manpower and Migration and has rolled out skills for employment curriculum and training programs to all of Egypt’s higher-education technical colleges and 15 public universities.

The project has also created more than 2,500 job opportunities for youth, women and other marginalized groups in its target regions. Overall, the project has significantly strengthened the abilities of government ministries, the private sector and not-for-profit institutions to implement Egypt’s Youth Employment National Action Plan.

Date Modified:

L'autonomisation des femmes et des jeunes en Égypte

Aider les jeunes d’Égypte, en particulier les femmes, à acquérir les compétences requises est nécessaire à leur bien-être.

Sanaa repasse les étiquettes.

Une main-d'œuvre qualifiée est un fondement important pour une croissance économique durable. Les pays qui investissent massivement dans le capital humain démontrent généralement la plus forte croissance. Plus d'un quart des Égyptiens sont dans le groupe d'âge des 15 à 24 ans. Au moins 90 pour cent des chômeurs  Égyptiens ont moins de 30 ans.

Les femmes, en particulier, sont confrontées à d'importants obstacles  dans de nombreux pays en tant que salariées, employeurs et entrepreneurs, souvent en raison d'obstacles juridiques, sociaux et culturelles. Habiliter les femmes à prendre part à  l’économie active a un potentiel important pour augmenter la croissance économique durable et apportera  d'avantage aux femmes et à leurs familles et accélèrera  la réduction de la pauvreté.

Le Canada est déterminé à l'autonomisation économique et a améliorer les conditions de travail pour les jeunes et les femmes. Avec le projet emploi décent pour la jeunesse, le Canada vise à appuyer le gouvernement Égyptien dans leurs efforts  pour stimuler la croissance économique durable et offrir des emplois appropriés pour les jeunes.

Hag Salah Ali Hassan est  propriétaire de l'une des petites entreprises appuyées par le projet. Avec l'aide de ses deux fils, Hassan gère 25 travailleurs, 6 jeunes femmes et 19 hommes, qui travaillent à plein temps, produisent des étiquettes et des emblèmes imprimés. Les jeunes et les femmes assis dans un endroit aéré et spacieux préparent  les étiquettes. Ils sont reconnaissants d'avoir l'occasion de faire un peu d'argent et ainsi pouvoirs aider leurs familles tout en travaillant dans un environnement décent.

À ce jour, avec l'appui du Canada, le projet a augmenté la capacité professionnelle d'environ 35 pour cent du personnel  technique au ministère de la Main-d’œuvre et de la Migration et a déployé des compétences pour des programmes sur l'emploi et la formation dans tous les collèges techniques d’Égypte ainsi que 15 universités publiques.

Le projet a également créé plus de 2 500 possibilités d'emploi pour les jeunes, les femmes et autres groupes marginaux dans les régions cibles. Globalement, le projet a considérablement renforcé les capacités des ministères du gouvernement, du secteur privé et des établissements à but lucratif à mettre en œuvre le Plan d'action national pour l'emploi des jeunes en Égypte.

Date de modification: