Canada supports Food for Literacy to empower young girls

In Afghanistan this food for literacy program encourages families to send girls to school.

Afghan girl

Nilab, 16, can now read and write after attending WFP-supported literacy classes in Shakardara district in Kabul province. ©; WFP/Wahidullah Amani

“After completing the literacy course, I will be able to read newspapers,” says Nilab, 16. © WFP/Wahidullah Amani

Poverty is one of the reasons Afghan girls don’t attend school. Girls tend to stay home to help their families with chores, such as harvesting food or fetching water and firewood. The attitudes of parents and family members toward education help determine who in the household can attend school and for how long, and girls more often face restrictions in some parts of Afghanistan.

Canada, as part of its humanitarian assistance program in Afghanistan, is working with the World Food Programme (WFP) to implement a Food for Literacy initiative. Through the project, families receive food in exchange for sending their daughters to classes, which helps to increase girls’ literacy and brings food into the homes of some of the most vulnerable community members.

Nilab, a 16-year-old girl, is among the youngest students at WFP’s Food for Literacy class in the Shakardara district of Kabul province. Nilab dreamed of learning to read, but never expected she would get the chance. Thanks to the WFP program, her dream came true when her father changed his mind and gave her permission to attend the class.

“I did not imagine that I would be able to read banners, write basic conversation and learn basic numeric skills,” says Nilab. “After completing the literacy course, I will be able to read newspapers.”

She believes that illiteracy is the biggest problem in Afghan society, but she thinks that is now about to change.

By the end of 2015, WFP aims to have provided literacy and vocational skills training to approximately 30,000 people in 20 Afghan provinces, with women accounting for more than 70 percent of the trainees.

Canada is working with other international donors to support WFP’s Protracted Relief and Recovery Operations  in Afghanistan, which fund programs such as Food for Literacy. These efforts, which also include support for domestic production of grain and high-energy biscuits for schoolchildren, are helping Afghans take a big step forward in their goal of building more resilient communities.

Date Modified:

Le Canada soutient un programme Vivres contre formation pour autonomiser les jeunes filles

En Afghanistan le présent programme Vivres contre formation encourage les familles à envoyer leurs filles à l’école.

Nilab, 16 ans, peut maintenant lire et écrire après avoir assisté aux cours d’alphabétisation offerts par le PAM dans le district de Shakardara dans la province de Kaboul. © PAM/Wahidullah Amani

« Après avoir réussi les cours d’alphabétisation, je vais pouvoir lire les journaux », affirme Nilab, 16 ans. © PAM/Wahidullah Amani

La pauvreté est l’une des raisons pour lesquelles les filles afghanes ne fréquentent pas l’école. Les filles ont tendance à rester à la maison pour aider aux récoltes ou aller chercher de l’eau ou du bois de chauffage. C’est l’attitude des parents et des membres de la famille à l’égard de l’éducation qui détermine qui dans la maisonnée ira à l’école et pour combien de temps. Les restrictions touchent plus souvent les filles de certaines régions d’Afghanistan.

Le Canada, dans le cadre de son programme d’aide humanitaire en Afghanistan, collabore avec le Programme alimentaire mondial (PAM) afin de mettre en œuvre une initiative Vivres contre formation. Grâce à ce projet, les familles qui envoient leurs filles à l’école reçoivent des aliments, ce qui permet d’augmenter le taux d’alphabétisation des filles et de combler les besoins alimentaires des familles comptant parmi les plus vulnérables de la collectivité.

Âgée de 16 ans, Nilab est l’une des plus jeunes participantes au programme Vivres contre formation du PAM, dans le district de Shakardara, dans la province de Kaboul. Nilab ne croyait pas pouvoir lire un jour, mais heureusement, son père a finalement accepté qu’elle assiste aux cours d’alphabétisation offerts par le PAM, et elle a pu réaliser son rêve.

« Je n’imaginais pas qu’un jour je pourrais lire des bannières, rédiger des dialogues simples ou compter », affirme Nilab. « Quand j’aurai fini le cours d’alphabétisation, je vais pouvoir lire les journaux. »

Elle croit que l’analphabétisme est la source de tous les problèmes de la société afghane, mais que la situation est sur le point de changer.

D’ici la fin de 2015, le PAM compte permettre à environ 30 000 personnes dans 20 provinces de l’Afghanistan, dont plus de 70 p. 100 seront des femmes, d’acquérir des compétences professionnelles et d’augmenter leur niveau d’alphabétisation.

Le Canada collabore avec d’autres donateurs internationaux à l’appui des Interventions prolongées de secours et de redressement du PAM en Afghanistan, qui financent des programmes comme Vivres contre formation. Ces efforts, y compris l’appui à la production intérieure de grains et de biscuits à haute teneur énergétique pour les écoliers, aident les Afghans à progresser rapidement vers l’établissement de communautés résilientes.

Date de modification: