When the child is healthy, the mother is happy

Free vaccinations programs in Bangladesh help immunize children in hard-to-reach areas of the country.

With Canada’s support, the Expanded Program on Immunization clinic in Dhaka provides life-saving vaccinations to young patients.

Syeda Sultana Roushan Jahan, a 40-year-old mother of two, has visited Bangladesh’s Expanded Program on Immunization (EPI) headquarters in Dhaka many times. It is where she came to get her first child immunized. Now, she has come back to start vaccinations for her second baby.

With the calm of an experienced mother, she watches as the doctor holds part of the baby’s thigh and slowly inserts the needle. The child starts to wail and Syeda laughs and bends her head down to kiss his tears. She knows the vaccine will help to build up her baby’s immune system and protect him from deadly diseases. “When the child is healthy, the mother is happy,” she says with a smile.

Vaccinating more children to prevent diseases

Syeda is one of a dozen mothers at the clinic. Bangladesh’s EPI, which was introduced by the Government in 1979 with the help of UNICEF, is one of the country’s biggest success stories. As recently as 1985, only about two percent of Bangladeshi children were vaccinated against preventable diseases. Today, that percentage has reached 82.5 percent—and is still rising.

The EPI’s objective is to eliminate vaccine-preventable diseases in Bangladesh. With the support of donors like Canada, the EPI is credited with preventing approximately 200,000 deaths a year in Bangladesh. Its success in achieving and maintaining polio-eradication status, and in staying on course to eliminate measles by 2016, is widely acknowledged—even in rural areas.

“EPI is doing good things in our country,” says Syeda. “Everyone is quite pleased with this program because, so far, in the rural areas everyone is completing these free vaccinations. We rarely see someone suffering from polio or tuberculosis, so we are doing well.”

Reaching hard-to-reach areas

The EPI is large-scale, with 140,000 active sites across the country and more than 50,000 government employees playing a role. Employees are a mix of health and family welfare assistants and front-line supervisors.

To expand its reach, at all of its sites the EPI has a bright yellow flag featuring a baby in the centre so that it is recognizable even to illiterate parents. According to Syeda, it has become a very popular sign in Bangladesh.

Canada’s current contribution to the EPI—known as the Immunization Strengthening Project—seeks to increase the number of  vaccines provided in the country.  It also plans to reach children who live in underserved and hard-to-reach areas, such as islands, hilly areas, slums and floating communities.

To make this happen, Canada is providing help to purchase and install equipment, such as cold rooms and ice-lined refrigerators. This equipment ensures the proper storage and safe handling of vaccines. Having onsite vaccines are necessary to battle potentially deadly or crippling diseases such as tuberculosis, polio, measles and tetanus. It also means more chidlren, who are younger than two, receive all vaccines with the right antigens, at the right time.

In Bangladesh, as in many countries with a large population, the battle against preventable and infectious diseases is hard-fought. But the Immunization Strengthening Project contributes greatly to levelling the playing field.

Date Modified:

Lorsque l’enfant est en santé, la maman est heureuse

Les programmes de vaccinations gratuites au Bangladesh aident à vacciner les enfants des régions du pays mal desservies et difficiles d’accès.

Avec l'appui du Canada, le Programme élargi de vaccination en clinique offre aux jeunes patients de Dacca des vaccins vitaux.

Syeda Sultana Roushan Jahan a 40 ans, elle est mère de deux enfants. Elle s’est plusieurs fois rendue au bureau du Programme élargi de vaccination (PEV) du Bangladesh, situé à Dacca. C’est là qu’elle y a fait vacciner son premier enfant. Elle est revenue aujourd’hui pour faire vacciner son deuxième enfant.

Avec le calme d’une mère expérimentée, elle regarde le médecin insérer doucement la seringue dans la cuisse du bébé. Celui-ci pousse un petit cri. Syeda rit, puis embrasse l’enfant pour sécher ses larmes. Elle sait que le vaccin l’aidera à bâtir son système immunitaire et le protégera contre des maladies mortelles. « Lorsque l’enfant est en santé, la maman est heureuse », dit-elle avec un sourire.

Vacciner un plus grand nombre d’enfants pour prévenir les maladies

Syeda fait partie de la douzaine de mères qui sont venues à la clinique. Le PEV du Bangladesh, mis en place en 1979 par le gouvernement avec l’aide de l’UNICEF, figure parmi les plus grandes réussites au pays. En 1985, il n’y a de cela que quelques années, à peine 2 % des enfants et des femmes enceintes au Bangladesh étaient vaccinés contre les maladies évitables. Aujourd’hui, ce pourcentage atteint 82,5 %, et il ne cesse d’augmenter.

L’objectif du PEV est d’éliminer les maladies évitables au Bangladesh grâce à la vaccination. Avec l’aide de nombreux donateurs, dont le Canada, le PEV a permis d’éviter chaque année 200 000 décès. On reconnaît largement l’efficacité du programme, même dans les régions rurales, pour éradiquer la poliomyélite et veiller à ce que cette situation perdure, tout en gardant le cap en vue d’éliminer la rougeole d’ici 2016.

« Le PEV donne de bons résultats dans notre pays, dit Syeda. Tout le monde se réjouit de ce programme, car, jusqu’à ce jour, dans les régions rurales, les gens font la queue pour recevoir gratuitement des vaccins. Déjà, l’incidence de certaines maladies diminue. Moins de gens souffrent de poliomyélite ou de tuberculose. Donc, les choses vont bien. »

Atteindre les régions difficiles d’accès

Le PEV a une grande portée. Il compte 140 000 bureaux actifs au Bangladesh. Plus de 50 000 fonctionnaires assurent des fonctions combinées d’agents de la santé, d’aide aux familles, ou de superviseurs directs.

Pour étendre sa portée, le PEV hisse au-dessus de chacun de ses bureaux un brillant drapeau jaune où l’on voit un bébé, pour que tous, même les parents illettrés, reconnaissent facilement ses bureaux. Selon Syeda, ce drapeau est maintenant très populaire au Bangladesh.

La contribution actuelle du Canada au PEV, appelée Projet de renforcement de la vaccination, vise à augmenter le nombre de vaccins offerts dans le pays. Elle envisage aussi d’atteindre les enfants qui vivent dans les régions mal desservies et difficiles à rejoindre, comme les îles, les montagnes, les bidonvilles et les villages flottants.

Pour atteindre cet objectif, le Canada aide à l’acquisition et à l’installation de matériel, comme des chambres froides et des glacières. Ces équipements permettent d’assurer un stockage approprié et une manipulation sans danger des vaccins. Disposer des vaccins sur place est nécessaire pour lutter efficacement contre les maladies potentiellement mortelles ou débilitantes, comme la tuberculose, la poliomyélite et le tétanos. Cela veut dire davantage d’enfants de moins de deux ans qui reçoivent tous les vaccins dotés des bons antigènes, en temps opportun.

Au Bangladesh, comme dans tout autre pays densément peuplé, la lutte contre les maladies évitables et infectieuses est ardue. Mais le Projet de renforcement de la vaccination contribue grandement à lutter sur un pied d’égalité.

Date de modification: