Canada’s Commitment to Economic Development Efforts in Ukraine

The Maidan revolution (revolution of dignity) of 2013-14 provided Ukraine with a historic opportunity to make a real break with its Soviet-influenced past and transform itself into a country governed by democratic values and the rule of law. Ukraine’s new government has since committed to implementing additional, much-needed reforms to increase its prosperity.

Making connections and commitments

As a trusted partner of Ukraine, Canada has placed itself at the forefront of international efforts supporting sustainable economic growth and advancing democratic governance in Ukraine. Against this backdrop, more than 400 business representatives and prominent members of the Ukrainian-Canadian community gathered at the Canada-Ukraine Business Forum on June 20 and 21, 2016, in Toronto.

The Forum also attracted political leaders from the two countries. Prime Minister Justin Trudeau and Minister of International Trade Chrystia Freeland met with Stepan Kubiv, First Vice Prime Minister of Ukraine and Minister of Economic Development and Trade. Kubiv led a Ukrainian delegation comprising the ministers of finance, agriculture, infrastructure and ecology. Their participation in the Forum demonstrates the commitment that Ukraine is making to adopt a positive, forward-looking vision to the world.

Canada-Ukraine Business Forum

The Canada-Ukraine Business Forum promotes Ukraine to Canada’s private sector as a place to invest and to do business through facilitating business-to-business exchanges and establishing linkages between small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) from both countries.

These kinds of links are intended to emphasize the importance of vibrant SMEs in fostering sustainable economic growth in Ukraine. For example, a young couple from Ukraine who own and operate a company specialized in growing garlic attended the Forum, where they promoted their products and explored potential export activities in Canada through business-matching activities and site visits in the Toronto region.

The Forum was organized by the governments of Canada and Ukraine, in partnership with the Conference Board of Canada and the Canada-Ukraine Chamber of Commerce. Its program focused attention on four key sectors: agriculture, energy efficiency and renewables, innovation, and information technologies.

The Canada-Ukraine Business Forum was organized as part of the Canada-Ukraine Trade and Investment Support (CUTIS) project, an initiative announced in December 2015 by Minister Freeland and International Development Minister Marie-Claude Bibeau. By strengthening SMEs involvement in trade and their ability to attract foreign investment, as well as by increasing their productivity, the CUTIS project will help to generate sustainable economic growth, employment and reduce poverty in Ukraine.

More benefits of Canada’s CUTIS project

The CUTIS project will also help the Ukrainian government develop investment attraction and diversification strategies and conduct market research to facilitate increased trade and investment between Canada and Ukraine. In addition, Canada will provide technical assistance to help Ukraine’s public and private sectors to identify and take advantage of new trade opportunities resulting from the implementation of the Canada-Ukraine Free Trade Agreement (CUFTA).  The agreement was signed during Prime Minister Trudeau’s visit to Ukraine on July 11, 2016, and will come into effect in the near future.

Related links:

Date Modified:

Engagement du Canada envers les efforts de développement économique en Ukraine

La révolution de Maïdan (révolution de la dignité) qui a eu lieu en 2013-2014 a donné une occasion historique à l’Ukraine de rompre avec son passé influencé par la pensée soviétique et de se transformer en pays régi par des valeurs démocratiques et la primauté du droit. Depuis, le nouveau gouvernement de l’Ukraine s’est engagé à mettre en œuvre d’autres réformes dont le pays a grandement besoin pour accroître sa prospérité.

Établir des liens et prendre des engagements

En tant que partenaire de confiance de l’Ukraine, le Canada s’est placé au premier plan des efforts internationaux déployés pour appuyer une croissance économique durable et promouvoir une gouvernance démocratique en Ukraine. Dans ce contexte, plus de 400 représentants d’entreprises et membres importants de la communauté ukrainienne au Canada ont participé au Forum des affaires Canada–Ukraine qui s’est déroulé les 20 et 21 juin 2016, à Toronto.

Le Forum réunissait également des chefs politiques des deux pays. Le premier ministre Justin Trudeau et la ministre du Commerce international Chrystia Freeland ont rencontré le premier vice-premier ministre et ministre du Développement économique et du Commerce de l’Ukraine, M. Stepan Kubiv. Ce dernier était à la tête d’une délégation ukrainienne formée des ministres des Finances, de l’Agriculture, de l’Infrastructure et de l’Écologie. Leur participation au Forum démontre que l’Ukraine est résolue à adopter une vision positive et prospective du monde.

Forum des affaires Canada–Ukraine

Le Forum des affaires Canada–Ukraine fait la promotion de l’Ukraine auprès du secteur privé canadien et présente le pays comme une destination où investir et faire des affaires, en favorisant les échanges interentreprises et en établissant des liens entre les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) des deux pays.

Ce type de liens vise à souligner l’importance de PME dynamiques pour favoriser une croissance économique durable en Ukraine. Par exemple, un jeune couple ukrainien, qui possède et exploite une entreprise spécialisée dans la production d’ail, a participé au Forum. Le couple y a fait la promotion de ses produits en plus d’examiner les possibilités d’exportation au Canada, grâce au jumelage d’entreprises et à des visites d’installations dans la région de Toronto.

Le Forum était organisé par les gouvernements du Canada et de l’Ukraine, en partenariat avec le Conference Board du Canada et la Chambre de commerce Canada–Ukraine. Le programme du Forum était axé sur quatre secteurs clés : l’agriculture, l’efficacité énergétique et les énergies renouvelables, l’innovation et les technologies de l’information.

Le Forum des affaires Canada–Ukraine a été organisé dans le cadre du projet Programme de Commerce et soutien à l’investissement Canada-Ukraine (CUTIS), une initiative annoncée en décembre 2015 par la ministre Freeland et la ministre du Développement international Marie-Claude Bibeau. En renforçant la participation des PME au commerce ainsi que leur capacité d’attirer les investissements étrangers, et en augmentant leur productivité, le projet CUTIS contribuera à favoriser la croissance économique durable, à créer des emplois et à  réduire la pauvreté en Ukraine.

Autres bénéfices du projet canadien CUTIS

Le projet CUTIS aidera aussi le gouvernement de l’Ukraine à concevoir des stratégies pour stimuler et diversifier les investissements, ainsi qu’à réaliser des études de marché pour favoriser une augmentation des échanges et des investissements entre le Canada et l’Ukraine. En outre, le Canada fournira une assistance technique pour aider les secteurs publics et privés ukrainiens à cibler et profiter des nouveaux débouchés commerciaux issus de la mise en œuvre de l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Ukraine (ALECU). Signé pendant la visite du premier ministre Trudeau en Ukraine le 11 juillet 2016, cet accord entrera en vigueur prochainement.

Liens connexes :

Date de modification: