Cooking up solutions in Haiti

Canada is providing support to tackle Haiti's extreme deforestation and air pollution problems.

A customer is happy to use her new energy-efficient and safer cookstoves.

One of the 40 D & E Green Enterprises employees working in the factory in Port-au-Prince.

Most Haitians use charcoal and wood as their source of energy for cooking. As a result, the country suffers from extreme deforestation. To make matters worse, only 2 percent of the Haitian landscape is forested making Haiti one of the most deforested countries in the world.

Household fuel consumption in Haiti contributes to indoor and outdoor air pollution. In fact, the Global Alliance for Clean Cookstoves estimates that 9,500 Haitians die each year due to hazardous air pollutants.

The April 2016 Paris agreement signed by Haiti, Canada and 173 other countries, signified a global commitment to slow global warming.. As part of this agreement, Haiti has set a target of reducing its greenhouse gas emissions  by 31% by 2030. Canada is committed to helping Haiti adapt to climate change.

Clean cooking solutions

D & E Green Enterprises in Haiti developed energy -efficient cookstoves that are low-cost and provide healthier and clean energy solutions to poor and vulnerable communities.Employing 40 people and bringing business to 100 distributors, this company has sold more than 60,000 energy-efficient cookstoves so far. This clean cooking solution reduces pollution, provides jobs and  helps Haitians live healthier lives.

In 2010, Haiti’s devastating earthquake destroyed the factory. The owner, Mr. Duquesne Fednard, was unsure of his company’s next steps. When many of the company’s employees continued to show up for work each day, he was inspired by their dedication, and decided to rebuild.

Support for Compete Caribbean projects

With a factory expansion under way, Canada’s Compete Caribbean program supported the purchase of new equipment. The Compete Caribbean works with local businesses to fund initiatives that support climate reform and contribute to the growth of local economies.

Breaking the cycle of energy poverty

D & E Green Enterprises is helping Haitian households cut charcoal consumption by as much as 50%. This cost reduction helps break the cycle of energy poverty by helping families reduce their energy costs. In Haiti, with the use of this cookstove, families can save up to $150US per year, which is significant considering the average annual income in Haiti is $830US.

D & E Green Enterprises also offers microfinance options to companies and groups that bring this environmental approach to poor households. These groups often provide cookstoves to employees on credit and then individuals make payments through installments to their employer. Sales have increased by more than 75% through this financing option.

One stove at a time, Canada is helping Haiti use cleaner cooking practices, which improves the living conditions and environment the local community.

Related links

Date Modified:

Concocter des solutions pour Haïti

Le Canada apporte son aide à la lutte contre la déforestation extrême et la pollution atmosphérique en Haïti‎.

Une cliente est heureuse grâce à ses nouveaux fourneaux de cuisine à haut rendement énergétique qui sont aussi plus sécuritaires.

Un des 40 employés de D & E Green Enterprises qui travaille dans une usine à Port-au-Prince.

La plupart des Haïtiens utilise du charbon et du bois comme source d’énergie à des fins de cuisson. Par conséquent, le pays souffre de déforestation extrême. À peine 2 % du paysage d’Haïti se compose de forêts, ce qui en fait l’un des pays du monde le plus déboisé.

La consommation de fuel domestique contribue à la pollution de l’air à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur.  En fait, l'Alliance mondiale pour des cuisinières propres (Global Alliance for Clean Cookstoves) estime que 9 500 Haïtiens et Haïtiennes meurent chaque année à cause des polluants atmosphériques dangereux. 

En avril 2016, Haiti, le Canada et 173 autres pays ont signé les accords de Paris, marquant un engagement mondial de freiner le réchauffement climatique. . Dans le cadre de cette entente, Haïti s’est fixé comme objectif de diminuer de 31 % ses émissions de gaz à effet de serre d’ici 2030. Le Canada s’est engagé à aider Haïti à s’adapter au changement climatique.

Solutions écologiques de cuisson

D & E Green Enterprises a mis au point en Haïti des fourneaux de cuisine économes en énergie Ceux-ci sont d’un coût modique et offrent des solutions énergétiques propres et plus saines aux populations pauvres et vulnérables. Employant 40 personnes et travaillant avec 100 distributeurs, cette compagnie a vendu à ce jour plus de 60 000 cuisinières économes. Cette solution de cuisson propre diminue la pollution, fournit des emplois et aide les Haïtiens à vivre plus sainement.

En 2010, le séisme dévastateur d’Haïti a détruit l’usine. Le propriétaire, monsieur Duquesne Fednard, était incertain quant à l’avenir de son entreprise. Alors que nombre de ses employés continuaient de se présenter à l’usine tous les jours, leur dévouement l’a inspiré et il a décidé de reconstruire son usine.

Aides aux projets de Compete Caribbean

Avec l’agrandissement de l’usine en cours, le programme de Compete Caribbean aide à l’achat de nouveaux équipements. Compete Caribbean travaille avec les entreprises locales pour financer des initiatives qui appuient les réformes liées aux questions climatiques et contribuent à la croissance des économies locales.

Briser le cycle de la pauvreté énergétique

L’entreprise D & E Green Enterprises aide les ménages haïtiens à réduire leur consommation de charbon dans une proportion pouvant atteindre 50 %. Cette réduction des coûts contribue à briser le cycle de la pauvreté énergétique en aidant les familles à réduire leur budget consacré à l’énergie. En Haïti grâce à l’utilisation de ces fourneaux, les ménages peuvent épargner jusqu’à 150 $US par année, ce qui représente une économie considérable étant donné que le revenu annuel moyen s’établit à 830 $US. 

D & E Green Enterprises offre également des possibilités de micro-crédit à d’autres sociétés et groupes, ce qui rend cette démarche écologique plus accessible aux ménages pauvres. Ces groupes fournissent des fourneaux de cuisine à crédit aux employés et ceux-ci paient par prélèvement effectué sur leur chèque de paie. Grâce à cette possibilité de financement, les ventes se sont accrues de plus de 75 %.

Un fourneau à la fois, le Canada aide Haïti à adopter des modes de cuisson plus propres, ce qui améliore les conditions de vie et l’environnement des collectivités locales.

Liens connexes

Date de modification: