Reporting By and On Women –Media Workshops in India

High Commissioner Nadir Patel providing opening remarks to ‘Reporting By and On Women’ media workshop.

Adrienne Batra, editor in chief at the Toronto Sun, weighs into the discussions about gender equality.

Participants engage in a heated discussion during the panel discussions.

In an era where mass information is available at our fingertips, technology has broken down several barriers of entry for journalists everywhere. Despite these advances, there is still an underrepresentation of women working in journalism worldwide, according to the International Women’s Media Foundation.

The High Commission of Canada to New Delhi was proud to work with the Women’s Future Service and the Indian Women’s Press Corps in creating media workshops that explored the challenges facing women in journalism.

Reporting By and On Women was the sixth edition of a series of media workshops organized to discuss the significance of media in the current global environment and to foster long-lasting network building in the Indian media and beyond.

The workshops addressed critical questions about the role of gender and media such as; does the Indian media have a gender bias in reporting, what are the challenges in reporting on women’s issue, and how can we explain gender issues from both a Canadian and South Asian perspective.

A perspective on journalism indifferent countries

Journalists hailing from India, Afghanistan, Bhutan, Nepal and Sri Lanka gathered in the day-long workshop with the interest of refining their understanding of these gender issues.  Many were already familiar with publicizing gender issues, but participants also had the opportunity to receive the Canadian perspective on the issues.

"In Canada, we feel strongly that gender equality is not only a human rights issue, but an essential component of sustainable development, social justice, peace and security."
Nadir Patel, Canada’s High Commissioner to New Delhi.

The High Commission also invited Adrienne Batra, Editor-in-Chief of the Toronto Sun, as a guest speaker to the workshops. Batra weighed her opinions in a panel with various Indian editors and experts from prominent Indian newspapers and television channels.

"One of the challenges that we continually face in Canada is not dissimilar to the issues in India, but I think beyond gender parity… It is more about how we cover the story, not necessarily who is covering the story."
Adrienne Batra, Editor-in-Chief of the Toronto Sun

Nazira Babori, a journalist and coordinator of Afghan Journalists Safety Committee told the panel a darker side of journalism where explicit threats are a continuing reality.

"To be a woman is difficult in Afghanistan, especially in the media. We receive different kinds of threats by the Taliban, ISIS, but also locals who ask what your problem is, and why we are speaking opinions."
Nazira Babori, journalist and coordinator of Afghan Journalists Safety Committee

Journalism, a powerful tool for gender equality

The diversity of the panel highlighted the varying degrees to which journalism is received by the public and the assorted challenges of each region. Despite the differences, all participants agreed that journalism is a powerful tool for women and gender equality must be pursued.

The success of this series of media workshops has led to its expansion to other Canadian Embassies in Central and South Asia, signalling a global interest on discourse of women in the media and their challenges.

Media workshops such as Reporting By and On Women provide wide opportunities for both locals and Canadian missions to cooperatively approach a global issue. Canada hopes to foster the momentum of the workshops and provide global leadership on the promotion of gender equality.

Date Modified:

Reportage par et sur les femmes – Ateliers sur les médias en Inde

Haut-commissaire Nadir Patel prononçant un mot d’ouverture à l’atelier sur les médias Reportage par et sur les femmes.

Adrienne Batra, rédactrice en chef au Toronto Sun, fait part de ses idées au cours de la discussion sur l’égalité hommes-femmes.

Participants prenant part à un échange passionné au cours de discussions en groupe.

À une époque où les médias sont disponibles à portée de main, la technologie a facilité l’accès aux journalistes, et ce partout dans le monde. Malgré ces avancées, les femmes travaillant dans le journalisme dans le monde sont toujours sous-représentées selon l’International Women’s Media Foundation.

Le Haut-commissariat du Canada à New Delhi était fier de collaborer avec le Women’s Future Service et la Indian Women’s Press Corps pour créer des ateliers sur les médias qui étudiaient les défis auxquels sont confrontées les femmes dans le journalisme.

Reportage par et sur les femmes était la sixième édition d’une série d’ateliers sur les médias organisés pour parler de l’importance des médias dans le contexte international actuel et pour encourager la création de réseaux durables dans les médias indiens et au-delà.

Lors de ces ateliers, des questions importantes ont été abordées au sujet du rôle du sexe et des médias, comme : « les médias indiens ont-ils des préjugés sexistes lorsqu’ils présentent l’information? », « quels sont les défis associés aux communications sur les préoccupations des femmes? » et « comment pouvons-nous expliquer les préoccupations d’ordre sexiste à la fois du point de vue du Canada et de celui de l’Asie du Sud? ».

Une vision des pays indifférents quant au journalisme

Les journalistes venant d’Inde, d’Afghanistan, du Bhoutan, du Népal et du Sri Lanka se sont rassemblés lors d’un atelier d’une journée pour échanger afin d’améliorer leur compréhension de ces préoccupations d’ordre sexiste. Plusieurs étaient déjà familiarisés avec la diffusion des questions d’ordre sexiste, mais les participants ont également eu la possibilité de connaître le point de vue du Canada sur ces questions.

« Au Canada, nous pensons fortement que l’égalité des sexes n’est pas seulement une question de droits de la personne, mais un élément essentiel du développement durable, de la justice sociale, de la paix et de la sécurité. »
Nadir Patel, haut-commissaire du Canada à New Delhi.

Le Haut-commissariat a également convié Adrienne Batra, rédactrice en chef du Toronto Sun, à titre de conférencière aux ateliers. Mme Batra a fait part de ses idées dans un groupe de plusieurs rédacteurs et d’experts indiens issus de journaux indiens et de chaînes de télévision indiennes réputés.

« Un des défis auxquels nous sommes toujours confrontés au Canada n’est pas différent des problèmes en Inde. Je pense que cela va bien au-delà de la parité hommes-femmes... Il s’agit plus de savoir comment nous parlons de ces problèmes, pas forcément de qui en parle. »
Adrienne Batra, rédactrice en chef du Toronto Sun

Nazira Babori, journaliste et coordonnatrice du Afghan Journalists Safety Committee, a révélé au groupe d’experts un côté sombre du journalisme où les menaces évidentes sont une réalité continue.

« Il est difficile d’être une femme en Afghanistan, en particulier dans les médias. Nous sommes victimes de différents types de menaces des talibans, de l’EIIL, mais également des habitants de la région qui nous demandent quel est notre problème et pourquoi nous partageons nos points de vue. »
Nazira Babori, journaliste et coordonnatrice du Afghan Journalists Safety Committee

Le journalisme, un outil puissant pour l’égalité hommes-femmes

La diversité du groupe d’experts a permis de souligner les divers degrés auxquels le public perçoit le journalisme et les défis variés de chaque région. Malgré les différences, tous les participants se sont accordés sur le fait que le journalisme est un outil puissant pour les femmes et que l’égalité hommes-femmes doit continuer à être défendue.

En raison de la réussite que cette série d’ateliers sur les médias a entraînée, d’autres ambassades du Canada en Asie Centrale et du Sud s’y sont intéressées, ce qui démontre un intérêt mondial concernant les discussions des femmes dans les médias et leurs défis.

Les ateliers sur les médias, tels que Reportage par et sur les femmes, fournissent de vastes occasions aux habitants de la région et aux missions canadiennes d’aborder ensemble un problème international. Le Canada espère entretenir la dynamique des ateliers et fournir un leadership international pour la promotion de l’égalité hommes-femmes.

Date de modification: