Cuban International Book Fair helps celebrate Canada 150

In celebration of our 150th anniversary of Confederation, Canada was invited to be the guest country of honour at this year’s Cuban international book fair.

Drawn by Canadian story tellers such as Margaret Atwood, Giller Prize winner Madeleine Thien, Quebec author, Luc Chartrand and many others, 400,000 participants attended the Havana International Book Fair in Cuba from February 9 to 19. In celebration of our 150th anniversary of Confederation, Canada was invited to be the guest country of honour at this year’s event.

During the ten-day Book Fair, 30 Canadian authors, 18 book publishers, and two dozen artists and distinguished guests were invited to promote their work. At the same time, they gave a sense of some of the values Canadians hold dear.

Canada’s book fair pavilion was run by The Embassy of Canada to Cuba in Havana, in partnership with Canadian Heritage, the Canada Council for the Arts, the Government of Quebec, the National Film Board of Canada and Livres Canada Books. Canadian company, Sherritt, also supported the event.   

In addition to English and French offerings, books that have been translated into Spanish, were featured. This included such literary works as author Maya Ombasic’s novel, Primer día después de Babel (First day after Babel) and Aline Apostolka’s book, Un verano de amor y de cenizas (A summer of love and ashes).

“The Book Fair showcased Canada’s excellence. Through the arts, literature, music, design, we proudly demonstrated aspects of what makes Canada so remarkable. This cultural exchange helps to deepen our relationship and our understanding of one another, building on a long friendship between our countries,” said Ambassador Patrick Parisot.

Celebrating Canada Cuba ties

Canada and Cuba have close ties. This year marks the 72nd anniversary of Canada-Cuba diplomatic relations. Canadians also accounts for 40% of Cuba’s tourists each year.

To highlight Canada-Cuba work together, a photo exhibit featured agriculture and educational projects in the country.

Canadian entertainers

The Jerry Cans, a musical group from Iqaluit, Nunavut played in several venues throughout the 10-day Fair. They sang in Inuktitut, a mix of throat singing and high energy alt-country music.

Caillou, a well-known Canadian animated character, dropped by the event to the delight of young visitors. And as part of the Quebec programming, a cirque artist from Quebec’s “Les 7 doigts de la main” company performed to an enthusiastic outdoor crowd who watched him defy gravity in a body-twisting performance.

Special events

The Honourable George J. Furey, Speaker of the Senate, presided over the ribbon-cutting ceremony at the opening of the Canadian pavilion, along with His Excellency Abel Prieto, Cuba’s Minister of Culture.

Christine St-Pierre, Quebec’s Minister of International Relations and La Francophonie, led a delegation of Quebec artists, authors and publishers, which included presentationsand the opening of an exhibit, the History of Comics and Graphic Novels in Quebec.

Event attendees were invited to hear panelists speak about different aspects of Canadian life Subjects included  Indigenous youth literature, the Caribbean and Cuban diaspora in Canada, cooking and food culture in Canada, the life and people of Quebec and Canadian studies.

The National Film Board of Canada presented a series of animated short films. While there, they secured a license with Cuban state television to broadcast nine Canadian films. This is the first television licence between the National Film Board of Canada and a Cuban broadcaster. The nine NFB films—a selection of documentaries, animated short films, and one drama—will be broadcast in Spanish.

Cubans welcome Canadian visitors

In addition to the literary and cultural special events held, Cubans were excited to have the chance to purchase Canadian books. Priced for the local market, Cubans, from all walks of life, lined up to buy Canadian works in French, English and Spanish. For Canadian authors, they were invited to showcase Canada and celebrate its 150 anniversary. They were pleased to have the opportunity to promote their books in a Latin American market.

To see more photos on this event, please visit the Storify Havana International Book Fair page.

Date Modified:

La Foire internationale du livre de la Havane prend part à la célébration de Canada 150

Pour célébrer le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération canadienne, le Canada a participé cette année à la Foire internationale du livre de Cuba en qualité d’invité d’honneur.

Attirés par des auteurs canadiens comme Margaret Atwood, Madeleine Thien lauréate du Prix Giller, Luc Chartrand et beaucoup d’autres, 400 000 personnes ont participé à la Foire internationale du livre de la Havane, à Cuba, du 9 au 19 février dernier. Pour célébrer le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération canadienne, le Canada a participé en qualité d’invité d’honneur de cette année.

Pendant les dix jours du Salon du livre, 30 auteurs canadiens, 18 éditeurs et une vingtaine d’artistes et d’hôtes de marque ont été invités à promouvoir leur travail. Et, dans le même temps, ils ont donné une idée de quelques valeurs chères aux Canadiens.

Le pavillon du Canada à la Foire du livre a été géré par l’ambassade du Canada à Cuba, à la Havane en partenariat avec Patrimoine Canada, le Conseil des arts du Canada, le gouvernement du Québec, l’Office national du film du Canada, Livres Canada Books et Sherritt International qui ont aussi appuyé l’évènement.

En plus de l’offre de livres en français et en anglais, des livres traduits en espagnol ont été présentés. Ceci comprend des œuvres littéraires telles que la nouvelle de Maya Ombasic intitulée « Primer día después de Babel » (First day after Babel) et le livre d’Aline Apostolka, « Un verano de amor y de cenizas » (A summer of love and ashes).

« À a Foire du livre, le Canada a mis en évidence son excellence. Par le biais des arts, de la littérature, de la musique et du design, nous avons fièrement présenté une partie de ce qui rend le Canada si remarquable. Ces échanges culturels aident à approfondir nos relations ainsi que notre compréhension mutuelle en misant sur l’amitié de longue date unissant nos deux pays » a affirmé l’ambassadeur Patrick Parisot.

Célébrer les liens entre le Canada et Cuba

Le Canada et Cuba entretiennent des liens étroits. Cette année marque le 72e anniversaire des relations diplomatiques entre le Canada et Cuba. Les Canadiens représentent aussi 40% des touristes visitant Cuba chaque année.

Pour illustrer que le Canada et Cuba travaillent ensemble, une exposition de photographies présente les projets relatifs à l’agriculture et l’éducation dans le pays.

Des artistes canadiens

Le groupe musical The Jerry Cans originaire d’Iqaluit, Nunavut a joué dans plusieurs salles tout au long des dix jours du salon. Ils ont chanté en Inuktitut, une combinaison de chant guttural et de musique alternative country.

Caillou, un célèbre personnage animé canadien, a participé à l’évènement, et fait la joie des jeunes visiteurs. Puis, dans le cadre de la programmation du Québec, un artiste de cirque de la compagnie québécoise « Les 7 doigts de la main » s’est produit à l’extérieur, devant une foule enthousiaste qui l’a regardé défier la gravité avec une performance de contorsionniste.

Des évènements spéciaux

L’honorable George J. Furey, Président du Sénat, a présidé la cérémonie d’inauguration du Pavillon du Canada en compagnie de Son Excellence Abel Prieto, ministre de la Culture de Cuba.

Mme Christine St-Pierre, la ministre des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie du Québec, a dirigé une délégation d’artistes, d’auteurs et d’éditeurs du Québec. Au nombre des évènements, il y a eu diverses présentations et l’inauguration de l’exposition consacrée à l’histoire de la bande dessinée au Québec.

Les participants ont été invités à écouter des panélistes débattre des différents aspects de la vie canadienne. Parmi les thèmes abordés : la littérature jeunesse autochtone, la diaspora des Caraïbes et de Cuba présente au Canada, la cuisine et la culture culinaire au Canada, la vie et population québécoises et les études canadiennes.

L’Office national du film a présenté une série de courts métrages d’animation. Il a profité de sa présence pour conclure des ententes de licence avec la télévision d’état cubaine pour diffuser neuf films canadiens. C’est la première licence de télévision signée entre l’Office national du film du Canada et un télédiffuseur cubain. Les neuf films de l’ONF, une sélection de documentaires, de courts métrages d’animation et un drame, seront diffusés en espagnol.

Les Cubains accueillent les visiteurs canadiens

Outre l’attrait des évènements spéciaux littéraires et culturels, les Cubains ont été enchantés d’avoir l’occasion d’acheter des livres canadiens à des prix adaptés au marché local. Ainsi, les Cubains, de tous les milieux, ont fait la queue pour acheter des ouvrages en français, anglais et espagnol. Pour ce qui est des auteurs canadiens, ils étaient invités à promouvoir le Canada et célébrer son 150e anniversaire. Ils ont été enchantés d’avoir l’occasion de faire la promotion de leurs livres sur le marché latino-américain.

Pour découvrir plus de photos de cet évènement, veuillez consulter la page Storify Foire internationale du livre de la Havane (en anglais seulement).

Date de modification: