Cool Canada film festival in Chile to celebrate Canada 150

Opening night at Matucana 100 Cultural Center

Alfredo Babún, CEO of Air Canada in Chile; Paula Vargas; Cristián Rodríguez, Film Commissioner at Matucana 100; Hélène Mayrand, Political Counsellor a.i.; Paulina Vilches, Public Affairs Officer

The Embassy of Canada to Chile held the second annual Cool Canada film festival (August 16 to 27, 2017) building on the success of last year’s first edition. With 10 award-winning films by renowned Canadian directors-including a retrospective of Oscar-nominated filmmaker Denis Villeneuve-the festival opened at Santiago’s Matucana 100 cultural centre on August 16.

More than a hundred guests attended the opening night, including youth, business and cultural contacts, as well as diplomatic representatives. The audience was delighted with the screening of the film La passion d’Augustine by Léa Pool, set in a small convent school in rural Quebec during the Quiet Revolution.

This 10-day festival highlighted Canada’s 150th anniversary and also promoted important values for Canada, such as diversity, inclusion and gender equality, through films. Cool Canada featured films by directors such as Xavier Dolan, Patricia Rozema and Robert Cohen, among others, in addition of Villeneuve’s retrospective.

In 2016, we celebrated the 75th anniversary of diplomatic relations between Canada and Chile with the first edition of this film festival at Matucana 100. Canada’s cultural presence in Chile has expanded in recent years, mostly thanks to performing arts such as music, theater and circus, as well as films.

Hélène Mayrand, Political Counsellor a.i.

Other Cool Canada films included:

  • La passion d’Augustine / Léa Pool / 2015
  • Arrival / Denis Villeneuve / 2016
  • Being Canadian / Robert Cohen / 2015
  • Into the forest / Patricia Rozema / 2016
  • Prisoners / Denis Villeneuve / 2013
  • Les Démons / Philippe Lesage / 2015
  • Enemy / Denis Villeneuve / 2014
  • Juste la fin du monde / Xavier Dolan / 2016
  • Sicario / Denis Villeneuve / 2015
  • Polytechnique / Denis Villeneuve / 2009
Date Modified:

Le festival du film « Cool Canada » se rend au Chili pour célébrer le 150e anniversaire du Canada

Soirée d’ouverture au centre culturel Matucana 100

Alfredo Babún, chef de la direction d’Air Canada au Chili; Paula Vargas; Cristián Rodríguez, commissaire à la cinématographie au centre Matucana 100; Hélène Mayrand, conseillère politique intérimaire; Paulina Vilches, agente des affaires publiques

L’ambassade du Canada au Chili  a tenu la deuxième édition annuelle du Festival du film « Cool Canada » (du 16 au 27 août 2017), fort du succès que le Festival a connu l’année dernière, lors de sa première édition. Le Festival s’est ouvert le 16 août, au centre culturel Matucana 100 de Santiago et présentait 10 films primés de réalisateurs canadiens de renom, dont une rétrospective du cinéaste en nomination aux Oscars Denis Villeneuve.

Plus d’une centaine d’invités ont assisté à la soirée d’ouverture, y compris des jeunes et des personnes des milieux culturels et des affaires, ainsi que des représentants diplomatiques.La foule a été enchanté de la projection du film « La Passion d’Augustine » de Léa Pool, dont l’histoire se déroule dans un petit couvent du Québec rural pendant la Révolution tranquille.

Ce festival de 10 jours a permis de souligner le 150e anniversaire du Canada et de promouvoir des valeurs importantes pour le Canada telles que la diversité, l’inclusion et l’égalité des genres. Des films réalisés par Xavier Dolan, Patricia Rozema et Robert Cohen, entre autres, y ont été présentés, en plus de la rétrospective des œuvres de Villeneuve.

En 2016, nous avons célébré le 75e anniversaire des relations diplomatiques entre le Canada et le Chili en organisant la première édition du Festival du film au centre Matucana 100. La présence culturelle du Canada au Chili s’est accrue ces dernières années, principalement dans les domaines liés aux disciplines artistiques comme la musique, le théâtre et le cirque, de même que les films.

Hélène Mayrand, conseillère politique intérimaire

Autres films au programme de « Cool Canada »

  • La Passion d’Augustine / Léa Pool / 2015
  • Arrival / Denis Villeneuve / 2016
  • Being Canadian / Robert Cohen / 2015
  • Into the forest / Patricia Rozema / 2016
  • Prisoners / Denis Villeneuve / 2013
  • Les Démons / Philippe Lesage / 2015
  • Enemy / Denis Villeneuve / 2014
  • Juste la fin du monde / Xavier Dolan / 2016
  • Sicario / Denis Villeneuve / 2015
  • Polytechnique / Denis Villeneuve / 2009

Date de modification: