Guatemala mission highlights CANADA 150 themes


The mission marks the International Day Against Homophobia and Transphobia with the journey of the rainbow flag on the Avenue of the Americas

Guatemalans visiting the Central Park in front of the National Palace celebrate Canada’s 150th anniversary and play hockey.

Guatemala is embracing the themes of Canada’s 150 in a number of ways. All activities are designed to focus on youth, celebrate our diversity, establish a spirit of reconciliation with Indigenous peoples and strengthen our environmental awareness.

On International Day Against Homophobia and Transphobia May 17 Canada’s embassy in the City of Guatemala kicked off activities to promote diversity throughout Pride Month in June. The mission worked in collaboration with Guatemala’s umbrella organization on sexual diversity rights.

The mission marked the journey of the rainbow flag from the Canadian Embassy to the Canada Plaza, a well-known and highly transited location on Avenue of the Americas in Guatemala City, where it was flown.

Meanwhile, Guatemalan President Jimmy Morales Cabrera visited the Canada booth at the Cultural Festival in Central Park in front of the National Palace. For most of May, Guatemalans, in particular school children and youth, could visit the booth to find information about Canada’s 150th anniversary and play hockey.

Also in May representatives of the mission in Guatemala participated in a Donor Group G13 field visit on Climate Change. They went on a field visit to Chiquimula and El Progreso, located within Guatemala’s ‘dry corridor’.  The visit was given special prominence due to the participation of Guatemala’s Vice President, the Ministers of Agriculture and Environment, two Environment Vice-Ministers, and local mayors.

Earlier in April the mission launched a pilot initiative called the Indigenous Peoples’ Professional Experience Program. The mission hopes this will provide the opportunity to strengthen daily decisions that relate to Indigenous populations, including program design and delivery.

Date Modified:

La mission du Guatemala met en lumière les thèmes du 150e anniversaire du Canada


La mission marque la Journée internationale contre l’homophobie et la transphobie avec le parcours du drapeau arc-en-ciel sur the Avenue of the Americas

Les Guatémaltèques visitant Central Park face au Palais national célèbrent le 150e anniversaire du Canada et jouent au hockey.

Le Guatemala adopte les thèmes du 150e anniversaire du Canada de différentes manières. Toutes les activités sont conçues pour axer sur les jeunes, célébrer notre diversité, établir un esprit de réconciliation avec les Autochtones et renforcer notre sensibilisation à l’environnement.

Le 17 mai, dans le cadre de la Journée internationale contre l’homophobie et la transphobie, l’ambassade du Canada de la ville de Guatemala a démarré ses activités de promotion de la diversité tout au long du Mois de la fierté gaie, en juin. La mission a collaboré avec l’organisation-cadre sur les droits à la diversité sexuelle au Guatemala.

La mission a marqué le parcours du drapeau arc-en-ciel de l’ambassade canadienne à Canada Plaza, un endroit connu et très fréquenté situé sur Avenue of the Americas dans la ville de Guatemala, où il a été érigé.

Penda nt ce temps, le président guatémaltèq ue Jimmy Morales Cabrera visitait le kiosque du Canada au Cultural Festival de Central Park situé devant le palais national. Pendant presque tout le mois de mai, les Guatémaltèques, et plus particulièrement les écoliers et les jeunes, ont pu visiter le kiosque pour obtenir de l’information sur le 150e anniversaire du Canada et jouer au hockey.

En mai également, des représentants de la mission du Guatemala ont participé à une visite sur le terrain du groupe de donateurs G13 sur le changement climatique. Ils se sont rendus dans les départements de Chiquimula et d’El Progreso, qui sont situés dans le « couloir de la sécheresse » du Guatemala. La visite a occupé une place de premier plan en raison de la participation du vice-président du Guatemala, des ministres de l’Agriculture et de l’Environnement, de deux vice-ministres de l’Environnement, et de maires locaux.

Plus tôt en avril, la mission avait lancé un projet pilote appelé « Indigenous Peoples’ Professional Experience Program ». La mission espère que cela permettra de consolider les décisions quotidiennes en rapport avec les populations autochtones, dont la conception et l’exécution des programmes.

Date de modification: