Kazakhstan celebrates 150 years of Canadian Confederation with star-packed Hockey Days

Canada and Kazakhstan share a love of hockey. On May 20 and 21, 2017, the Embassy of Canada to Kazakhstan (ASTNA) staged a hockey festival to honour that mutual passion and celebrate two milestones: the 150th anniversary of Canada’s Confederation and 25 years of diplomatic relations between Canada and Kazakhstan. ASTNA invited a number of hockey legends, including Ken Dryden, Igor Larionov, Billy Bridges, Dennis Maruk, Sami Jo Small, Sergei Nemchinov, Robert Kron and Brian Propp, to join Ambassador Shawn Steil at this festival, called Canada 150 Hockey Days in Kazakhstan. The festival evoked Canadian excellence and values, and raised money to support youth hockey programs. Canadian, Kazakhstani and other international partners spent more than a year planning Canada 150 Hockey Days in Kazakhstan. Other activities took place leading up to the May event as well.

Under a Canada-Kazakhstan “United by hockey” logo, the Embassy of Canada in Astana, Kazakhstan, created the largest celebration of Canada-Kazakhstan cooperation in 25 years of bilateral relations. Canada 150 and our national winter sport brought Canadians and Kazakhs together for two days of “first ever” events. Through a shared passion for hockey, these events highlighted Canadian values of inclusion and diversity, engaged youth and demonstrated Canadian technological excellence. The events reinforced Canada’s position as a preferred partner for Kazakhstan.


ASTNA celebrated Canada 150 along with 25 years of bilateral relations with Kazakhstan and many hockey milestones under a “United by Hockey” banner.

Canada 150 Hockey Days in Kazakhstan kicked off with a Gala Fundraiser dinner that featured a keynote speech by Mr. Dryden, who recalled the 1972 Summit Series. The dinner also featured the best of Canadian food and drink, a musical performance by the Juno award-winning band The Sheepdogs, a lively auction of Wayne Gretzky memorabilia, an exclusive one-on-one on-ice session with Mr. Larionov and more.

The following day’s events were held at Barys Arena in Astana and included a pancake breakfast for 1,200, served by hockey legends, Ambassador Shawn Steil and First Deputy Prime Minister of Kazakhstan Askar Mamin. During the day, visitors viewed a commercial exhibition displaying the best of Canadian innovation at work in Kazakhstan and took part in a raffle of exclusive Canadian fashion, including a Fendi mink coat.

A Hockey Hall of Fame exhibit curated for Canada 150 Hockey Days in Kazakhstan by the Hockey Hall of Fame’s Craig Campbell and Phil Pritchard, the official keeper of the Stanley Cup, included the Canada Cup and items from Canadian and Kazakh men’s, women’s and para hockey. This exhibit helped inaugurate Kazakhstan’s new national hockey museum.

On the ice, hockey legends led master classes for local youth teams. Ms. Small led a clinic for Astana’s only women’s team. In support of the Kazakhstan Paralympic Committee’s efforts to launch a national sledge hockey program, Mr. Bridges brought in two new sleds in order to teach the basics. Following these friendly scrimmages, fans heard a fitting video message from the Honourable Carla Qualtrough, Canada’s Minister of Sport and Persons with Disabilities, and were energized by Canada 150 giveaways and prizes, live performances from The Sheepdogs and a custom-made Canada 150 Hockey Days 3D video projection on the arena ice.

All this created much anticipation leading up to the Heritage Cup match. Team Canada was represented by former NHL stars and Canadian amateurs, with sledge hockey legend Billy Bridges serving as “secret weapon,” international and Olympic women’s hockey champion Sami Jo Small between the pipes and hockey great Ken Dryden as head coach. Team Canada faced off against former national team stars, politicians and imminent personalities representing Kazakhstan. Kazakhstan’s First Deputy Prime Minister clinched the winning goal in an overtime shootout for a 5-4 victory by Kazakhstan. The country’s Minister of Education and Science, meanwhile, was named “best amateur.” The victors received a trophy designed by the Canadian embassy and custom-made by the Southern Alberta Institute of Technology.

At the post-game award reception, invitees dined on Canadian food and drink. After presenting player of the game awards, Ambassador Steil declared that “friendship was the real winner.” The approximately $25,000 raised during the two-day event will support opportunities for under-privileged boys and girls to experience the joy of hockey. The funds raised also leave a living Canada 150 legacy in Kazakhstan. The Heritage Cup will find its permanent home in Kazakhstan’s hockey museum in the Kontinental Hockey League Barys Arena, a symbolic reminder of friendship, diplomacy, inclusion and the shared passion for hockey that unites us. These were themes that resonated not only in Astana, but in other parts of Kazakhstan and in the Kyrgyz Republic and Tajikistan during a Central Asia outreach tour by Mr. Dryden following the events.

To learn more, watch this short video about Canada 150 in Kazakhstan and follow reaction on the Embassy of Canada’s Facebook page.


A gala dinner featured a number of hockey celebrities, including Ken Dryden and Igor Larionov. Wayne Gretzky Estates wine was served.


From left, hockey legends Ken Dryden and Igor Larionov, First Deputy Prime Minister of Kazakhstan Askar Mamin and Canadian Ambassador Shawn Steil serve pancakes with Canadian maple syrup.


Ambassador Steil, Ken Dryden, First Deputy Prime Minister Askar Mamin and Igor Larionov officially open the Canadian Hockey Hall of Fame exhibit as part of the inauguration of Kazakhstan’s national hockey museum.


The Juno Award-winning Sheepdogs brought their talent and enthusiasm to three performances in Astana, including a live radio interview and a performance.


Craig Campbell (left) and Phil “Keeper of the Cup” Pritchard (right) present the Heritage Cup (made by the Southern Alberta Institute of Technology) to the Kazakhstan Team Captain, First Deputy Prime Minister Askar Mamin.


#UnitedByHockey #Canada150 #ForTheLoveOfTheGame

Date Modified:

Le Kazakhstan célèbre les 150 ans de la Confédération canadienne avec les Journées du hockey remplies de vedettes

Le Canada et le Kazakhstan sont tous deux des passionnés de hockey. Les 20 et 21 mai, l’ambassade du Canada au Kazakhstan (ASTNA) a organisé un festival du hockey pour souligner cette passion commune et célébrer deux événements importants : le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération canadienne et les 25 ans des relations diplomatiques entre le Canada et le Kazakhstan. ASTNA avait invité des légendes du hockey, entre autres Ken Dryden, Igor Larionov, Billy Bridges, Dennis Maruk, Sami Jo Small, Sergei Nemchinov, Robert Kron et Brian Propp, qui ont participé avec l’ambassadeur Shawn Steil à ce festival, intitulé Canada 150 au Kazakhstan. Le festival évoquait l’excellence et les valeurs canadiennes, et a permis d’amasser des fonds destinés à des programmes de hockey pour les jeunes. Des partenaires canadiens, kazakhstanais et internationaux ont consacré plus d’une année à la planification des célébrations du 150e anniversaire de la Confédération du Canada au Kazakhstan. Par ailleurs, d’autres activités ont eu lieu avant le festival.

L’appui de l’organisation d’un dîner de collecte de fonds, de l’inauguration du musée national de hockey du Kazakhstan avec une exposition du Temples de la renommée du hockey, d’un petit déjeuner canadien gratuit de crêpes au sirop d’érable, des cours de maître de hockey et de hockey sur luge pour les enfants et les femmes, des concerts du groupe primé de Juno The Sheepdogs, d’un match de hockey de célébrités “La Coupe Héritage” et d’une réception des prix. Ces événements ont amassé des fonds afin de supporter les programmes de hockey pour les jeunes, tout en laissant un héritage du Canada 150 au Kazakhstan.

Sous la bannière Canada-Kazakhstan « Unis par le hockey », l’ambassade du Canada à Astana, au Kazakhstan a organisé la plus grande célébration des 25 années de coopération Canada-Kazakhstan. Le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération et notre sport d’hiver national ont rassemblé des Canadiens et des Kazakhstanais(es) pour les deux jours de ce festival qui se tenait pour la première fois. Inspirées de notre passion commune pour le hockey, les activités ont fait ressortir les valeurs canadiennes telles que l’inclusion, la diversité, l’engagement des jeunes et l’excellence technologique, et ont permis de resserrer les liens déjà privilégiés du Canada avec le Kazakhstan.


ASTNA a célébré le Canada 150, les 25 ans de relations bilatérales avec le Kazakhstan, et plusieurs étapes importantes dans l’histoire du hockey sous la bannière “Unis par le Hockey”.

Le festival a débuté avec un dîner de gala-bénéfice, au cours duquel M. Dryden a prononcé le discours principal et évoqué la Série du siècle 1972. Le dîner a aussi présenté le meilleur des aliments et boissons canadiens, des performances musicales de The Sheepdogs, le groupe qui a remporté un Juno, une enchère animée de souvenirs de Wayne Gretzky, une session individualisée sur glace avec M. Larionov, et bien plus.

Les événements du jour suivant ont eu lieu à l’Aréna Barys et comprenaient un petit-déjeuner aux crêpes pour 1,200 personnes, servi par les légendes de hockey, l’Ambassadeur Steil et le vice premier ministre du Kazakhstan, une exhibition commerciale sur le meilleur de l’innovation canadienne au travail au Kazakhstan, et un tirage au sort de la mode canadienne, y compris un manteau de vision Fendi.

Une exposition du Temple de la renommée du hockey organisée par Craig Campbell et Phil “Le Gardien de la Coupe Stanley” Pritchard spécifiquement pour l'événement – qui comprenait la Coupe du Canada et les articles des équipes de hockey féminines, masculines et paralympiques du Canada et du Kazakhstan – a aidé à inaugurer le musée national de hockey du Kazakhstan.

Sur la glace, les légendes de hockey ont mené des cours de maître pour les équipes juniors locales. Sami Jo Small a dirigé une clinique pour la seule équipe féminine d'Astana et Billy Bridges a apporté deux nouveaux traîneaux pour enseigner les bases de hockey et pour soutenir les efforts du Comité paralympique du Kazakhstan afin de lancer un programme national de hockey sur luge. À la suite de ces jeux amicaux, les amateurs ont écouté un message vidéo de la ministre canadienne des Sports et des personnes handicapées et ont été dynamisés par les cadeaux et les prix du Canada 150, les spectacles en direct de The Sheepdogs et une projection vidéo 3D personnalisée sur le Canada 150 sur la glace à l’aréna.

Tout cela a donné lieu à un match passionnant de la Coupe Héritage, un trophée conçu par l’Ambassade et fabriqué sur mesure par l’Institut de technologie du Sud de l’Alberta. L’Équipe Canada – représentée par les anciennes vedettes de la LNH et des amateurs canadiens, avec la légende du hockey sur luge Billy Bridges qui a servi d’arme secrète, la championne internationale et olympique de hockey féminin Sami Jo Small entre les poteaux et Ken Dryden en tant qu’entraîneur principal – a affronté les anciennes stars de l’équipe nationale, les politiciens et les personnalités imminentes représentant le Kazakhstan. Le ministre des sciences et de l’éducation du Kazakhstan a été nommé “le meilleur amateur” et le premier vice-premier ministre a remporté le but gagnant lors d’un tir pendant la période de prolongation, avec une victoire de 5 à 4 par le Kazakhstan.

Lors de la réception des prix après le jeu, les invités ont dîné des aliments et des boissons d’origine canadienne. Après avoir présenté les prix du joueur du jeu, l'Ambassadeur Steil a annoncé que “l'amitié était la véritable gagnante”. Les fonds recueillis au cours de l'événement de deux jours appuieront les opportunités pour les garçons et les filles défavorisés de vivre la joie du hockey et laisseront un héritage vivant du Canada 150 au Kazakhstan. La Coupe Héritage trouvera sa résidence permanente au musée de hockey du Kazakhstan au KHL Aréna Barys, et ceci est un rappel symbolique de l'amitié, de la diplomatie, de l'inclusion et de la passion commune pour le hockey qui nous unit. Ce sont des thèmes qui ont résonné non seulement à Astana, mais aussi dans d'autres parties du Kazakhstan, de la République kirghize et du Tadjikistan lors d'une tournée de sensibilisation en Asie centrale par Ken Dryden suite aux événements.

Pour en savoir plus, regardez cette courte vidéo et suivez la réaction sur la page Facebook de l'Ambassade du Canada.


Le dîner de gala a offert l’occasion de servir du vin Gretzky à Ken Dryden, Igor Larionov et les huit autres célébrités de hockey.


Ken Dryden, Igor Larionov, le premier vice-premier ministre Askar Mamin et l’Ambassadeur Steil servent des crêpes au sirop d'érable canadien importé par la CEE.


L'Ambassadeur Steil, Ken Dryden, le premier vice-premier ministre Askar Mamin et Igor Larionov ouvrent officiellement l'exposition du Temple de la renommée du hockey et le musée du hockey du Kazakhstan.


The Sheepdogs ont apporté leur talent et leur enthousiasme à trois spectacles à Astana, y compris une entrevue et une performance en direct à la radio.


Craig Campbell et Phil “le Gardien de la Coupe Stanley” Pritchard présentent la Coupe Héritage faite par ITSA au capitaine de l’Équipe Kazakhstan, le premier vice-premier ministre, Askar Mamin.


#UnisParLeHockey #Canada150 #Pourl’AmourDuJeu

Date de modification: