Canada 150 celebrated in Mongolia


Mongolian ethnic band, Khusugtun, performing at the reception. The band toured across Canada in 2016

Ambassador Ed Jager presenting “Canada 150 Commemorative pin” to Mr. Batsukh

Mongolia’s annual Canada Day reception took place at the Choijin Lama Temple museum in the heart of the capital Ulaanbaatar June 30.

The temple is rich in cultural heritage as the former residence of one of Mongolia’s last religious rulers in the early 20th century. 

Canada 150 celebrations have been ongoing since the beginning of the year but this reception marked the highlight of the festivities. More than 250 high-level government officials and business contacts, including the Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs of Mongolia, Members of Parliament and other officials attended. The event was covered by five local TV stations and eight news websites.

Following the reception on July 3 Ambassador Ed Jager presented the first “Friends of Canada” commemorative pin to longstanding partner of Canada in Mongolia Mr. Batsukh Galsan. The presentation ceremony was held in front of “King of the Altai” argali sheep statue located on the northwest side of Mongolia’s Parliament House. The statue was sculpted by a Canadian Rich Taylor in 2006.

Galsan is the Chairman of the Board at Oyu Tolgoi, the mining mega project in which Canada is a significant investor. He has previously served as the first resident Ambassador of Mongolia to Canada and notes the relationship has covered terrain similar to the powerful argali mountain sheep.

“(The statue) represents a symbol of friendship between Mongolia and Canada,” noted Galan “Bilateral relations have been through ups and downs, but mostly ups.”

Date Modified:

Le 150e anniversaire du Canada célébré en Mongolie


Le groupe ethnique mongolien, Khusugtun, en spectacle lors de la soirée. Le groupe a fait une tournée pancanadienne en 2016.

L’ambassadeur Ed Jager présentant « l’épinglette commémorative Canada 150 » à M. Batsukh

La réception annuelle de la Fête du Canada en Mongolie a eu lieu au musée Choijin Lama Temple, au cœur de la capitale, Oulan-Bator, le 30 juin.

Le temple est riche sur le plan du patrimoine culturel, car il est l’ancienne résidence de l’un des derniers chefs spirituels de la Mongolie, au début du XXe siècle.

Les célébrations du 150e anniversaire du Canada sont en cours depuis le début de l’année, mais cette réception est le point saillant des festivités. Plus de 250 hauts fonctionnaires et contacts d’affaires, y compris le sous-ministre des Affaires étrangères de la Mongolie, des membres du Parlement et d’autres fonctionnaires, étaient présents. L’événement a fait l’objet d’une couverture médiatique par cinq stations de télévision et huit sites Web d’information, à l’échelle locale.

À la suite de la réception, le 3 juillet, l’ambassadeur Ed Jager a présenté la première épinglette commémorative « Amis du Canada » à un partenaire de longue date du Canada en Mongolie, M. Batsukh Galsan. La cérémonie de présentation a eu lieu devant la statue de l’argali « King of the Altai », située du côté nord-ouest du parlement de la Mongolie. La statue a été sculptée par le Canadien Rich Taylor, en 2006.

M. Galsan est le président du Conseil d’administration d’Oyu Tolgoi, mégaprojet minier dans le cadre duquel le Canada est un important investisseur. Il a été le premier ambassadeur résident de la Mongolie au Canada et il fait valoir que la relation entre les deux pays a fait beaucoup de chemin, tout comme le puissant argali.

« (La statue) est le symbole de l’amitié entre la Mongolie et le Canada », fait valoir M. Galan. « Les relations bilatérales ont connu des hauts et des bas, mais principalement des hauts. »

Date de modification: