Canada awards Bangladesh officials in the battle against Child, Early and Forced Marriage

Canadian High Commissioner Benoît-Pierre Laramée, Minister Tarana Halim, and UN Resident Coordinator Robert Watkins at the award ceremony with the four awardees (standing L/R): Mr. Syed Faruq Ahmed, Upazila Nirbahi Officer, Kaliganj, Khulna, Mr. Mr. Mohammed Gaus, Divisional Commissioner Barisal, Mr. Mohammed Mostafa Kamal, Deputy Commissioner Khulna, Mr. Mohammad Golam Kibria for Mr. Shahabuddin Khan, Deputy Commissioner Jamalpur.

Canadian High Commissioner Benoît-Pierre Laramée and Trade Commissioner Kamal Uddin speak with a guest during the reception following the award ceremony.

Canada is a firm defender of children’s rights including the right to live without the dangers of child, early and forced marriage (CEFM). As a developmental priority for Canada, Canada has been working with partners in multiple countries including Bangladesh to eliminate the harmful practice.

2015 marked a significant milestone for efforts against child, early forced marriage in Bangladesh as four local officials were recognized by The High Commission of Canada to Bangladesh for their leadership in working to eliminate CEFM.

Mohammad Gaus, Divisional Commissioner of Barisal, Mohammed Mostafa Kamal, Deputy Commissioner of Khulna, Mohammed Shahbuddin Khan, Deputy Commissioner of Jamalpur, and Syed Frauq Ahmed, Upazila Nirbahi Officer of Kaliganj were honoured by the High Commission of Canada in the award ceremony.

A national vision, a local effort

The efforts of the four individuals had far reaching impact in Bangladesh where child, early and forced marriage remain pervasive.

Deputy Commissioner Kamal was awarded for his district action plan in Bangladesh’s Khulna district which aimed to reduce the rate of child marriage. The plan spread awareness of the impact of child marriage using Pot Song, a popular traditional story telling method of music and painted pots in southern Bangladesh. This localized effort was supported by UNICEF and Rupantar and highly effective in raising the message.

UN Resident Coordinator Robert Watkins, Canadian High Commissioner Benoît-Pierre Laramée and Minister Tarana Halim present an award to Mr. Mohammed Mostafa Kamal, Deputy Commissioner Khulna.

“This January, the rate of child marriage was 70 percent [in the district], but now according to an assessment by UNICEF, the rate went down to 40 percent” said Kamal in an interview with The Daily Star.

Divisional Commissioner Gaus personally monitored the development of child marriage interventions in the Barisal division and gathered community and UNICEF support to expand his interventions to other districts.

Deputy Commissioner Khan established a reputation as the “Divisional Commissioner of Ending child Marriage,” for his personal engagement to eliminating CEFM. Khan addressed over 5,000 people during local level campaigns as a key speaker and developed a database of youth vulnerable to child marriage in UNICEF targeted areas.

Upazila Nirbahi Officer Ahmed demonstrated excellence in collaboration with various NGOs, government officials, and religious leaders to expand efforts against eliminating CEFM. By mobilizing the various stakeholders and the public, he organized an impressive gathering of those declaring their goal to make Kaliganj the first CEFM–free upazila in Bangladesh.

A work in progress

At the award ceremony, High Commissioner of Canada to Bangladesh Benoît-Pierre Laramée recognized the four officials’ unique contribution to ending CEFM in Bangladesh by stating: “The Prime Minister and the Cabinet form laws and set priorities. But at the end of the day, it is officials, at the Divisional, District, Upazila or Union level, who are responsible for implementation”

High Commissioner Laramée also recognized youth leaders from Plan Bangladesh who are leaders in their communities in preventing child marriage.

Following the awards ceremony, the High Commission also held a reception which gathered various diplomats, NGOs and business leaders of Bangladesh. The reception featured a photo gallery of powerful images of child marriage in Bangladesh by photographer Allison Joyce.

Introducing the award winners to the distinguished guests, the High Commissioner reiterated an important point about the vast work accomplished by unnamed individuals.

“We have chosen to highlight today the achievements of these four individuals and of their teams. But there are many other champions for girls and development in Bangladesh. Since I have arrived in Bangladesh I have witnessed people from all across society working on this issue. They are far too numerous to name, but I salute each and every one of them.” said High Commissioner Laramée.

Daniel Loutfi, Head of Public Affairs at the Canadian High Commission and a guest discuss photographer Allison Joyce’s photos of child marriage in Bangladesh.

The road to completely eliminating CEFM will be challenging for Bangladesh where the practice is still prevalent. However, a Bangladesh without CEFM will become reality through great local initiatives and international collaboration.

Canada will continue working with partner countries in paving a future without CEFM so they can enjoy their youth without the burden of child marriage.

Date Modified:

Le Canada souligne le travail des agents du Bangladesh dans la lutte contre les mariages d’enfants, précoces et forcés

Benoît-Pierre Laramée, haut-commissaire du Canada, Tarana Halim, ministre, et Robert Watkins, coordonnateur résident pour les Nations Unies, à la cérémonie de remise de prix avec les quatre lauréats (debout, de gauche à droite) : M. Syed Faruq Ahmed, agent upazila nirbahi à Khulna, Kaliganj; M. Mohammed Gaus, commissaire de division à Barisal; M. Mohammed Mostafa Kamal, commissaire adjoint à Khulna; M. Mohammad Golam Kibria qui représente M. Shahabuddin Khan, commissaire adjoint à Jamalpur.

Benoît-Pierre Laramée, haut-commissaire du Canada et Kamal Uddin, attaché commercial, discutent avec un invité durant la réception qui a suivi la cérémonie de remise de prix.

Le Canada est un fervent défenseur des droits des enfants, y compris leur droit de vivre sans la menace des mariages d’enfants, précoces et forcés (MEPF). Puisqu’il s’agit, pour lui, d’une priorité de développement, le Canada travaille avec des partenaires dans différents pays, y compris le Bangladesh, pour éliminer cette pratique néfaste.

L’année 2015 marque un jalon important dans les efforts pour contrer les mariages d’enfants, précoces et forcés au Bangladesh, et le haut-commissariat du Canada au Bangladesh a souligné les efforts et le leadership de quatre agents de la région pour contrer les MEPF.

Le haut-commissariat du Canada a honoré Mohammad Gaus, commissaire de la division de Barisal, Mohammed Mostafa Kamal, commissaire adjoint à Khulna, Mohammed Shahbuddin Khan, commissaire adjoint à Jamalpur, et Syed Frauq Ahmed, agent upazila nirbahi à Kaliganj lors d’une cérémonie de remise de prix.

Une vision nationale, un effort local

Les efforts de ces quatre personnes ont eu une grande portée dans ce pays où les MEPF demeurent omniprésents.

Monsieur Kamal a reçu un prix pour son plan d’action appliqué dans le district de Khulna, lequel vise à réduire le taux de mariages d’enfants. Le plan a permis de sensibiliser le public sur les incidences des mariages d’enfants en utilisant une méthode traditionnelle populaire de mise en récit dans le sud du Bangladesh nommée Pot Song, laquelle utilise de la musique et des pots peints. Cet effort concentré sur la région a reçu l’appui d’UNICEF et de Rupantar. Le plan d’action a connu un fort succès de sensibilisation.

Robert Watkins, coordonnateur résident pour les Nations Unies, Benoît-Pierre Laramée, haut-commissaire du Canada et Tarana Halim, ministre, présentent un prix à M. Mohammed Mostafa Kamal, commissaire adjoint à Khulna.

« En janvier, le taux de mariages d’enfants était de 70 % (dans le district), mais aujourd’hui, selon une évaluation réalisée par UNICEF, ce taux est maintenant à 40 %, » a expliqué monsieur Kamal lors d’une entrevue avec le Daily Star.

Monsieur Gau s’est personnellement chargé du suivi du développement des interventions pour contrer le mariage d’enfants dans la division Barisal, et a réussi à l’obtenir l’appui de la collectivité et d’UNICEF pour appliquer ses interventions dans d’autres districts.

Monsieur Khan s’est forgé la réputation de « commissaire de division qui mettra fin au mariage d’enfants » en raison de son engagement personnel dans la lutte contre les MEPF. Monsieur Khan s’est adressé à plus de 5000 personnes à titre de conférencier principal dans des campagnes menées à l’échelle locale, et a mis sur pied une base de données sur les jeunes vulnérables au mariage dans les régions ciblées par l’UNICEF.

Monsieur Ahmed a fait preuve d’excellence dans sa collaboration avec différentes ONG, représentants du gouvernement et chefs religieux pour accroître la portée des efforts réalisés pour éliminer les MEPF. En mobilisant différents intervenants et le public, il a organisé un rassemblement impressionnant de personnes qui souhaitent faire de Kaliganj le premier upazila sans MEPF du Bangladesh.

Travail en cours

Lors de la cérémonie de remise de prix, Benoît-Pierre Laramée, haut-commissaire du Canada au Bangladesh, a souligné l’unique contribution des quatre agents pour mettre un terme aux MEPF au Bangladesh en déclarant : « Le premier ministre et le Cabinet créent des lois et établissent des priorités. Mais en fin de compte, les agents de division, de district, d’upazila ou d’union sont responsables de la mise en œuvre. »

Monsieur Laramée a également salué les efforts des jeunes dirigeants de Plan Bangladesh, une initiative très active dans leurs collectivités pour empêcher le mariage d’enfants.

Après la cérémonie de remise de prix, le haut-commissariat a tenu une réception au cours de laquelle des diplomates, des ONG et des chefs d’entreprises du Bangladesh se sont réunis. Une galerie de photos était sur les lieux de la réception. Elle présentait de puissantes images de mariages d’enfants au Bangladesh, prises par la photographe Allison Joyce.

Lors de sa présentation des lauréats aux invités, le haut-commissaire Laramée en a profité pour répéter un élément important concernant l’énorme travail accompli par ceux et celles qu’on ne mentionne pas :

“ Aujourd’hui, nous avons choisi d’applaudir les réalisations de quatre personnes et de leur équipe. Mais n’oublions pas qu’il existe beaucoup d’autres champions qui défendent les filles et le développement au Bangladesh. Depuis mon arrivée au Bangladesh, j’ai vu des gens de tous les milieux sociétaux travailler sur cet enjeu. Ils sont beaucoup trop nombreux pour les nommer, mais je tiens à saluer chacun d’eux ”.

Daniel Loutfi, chef des relations publiques au haut-commissariat du Canada et un invité discutent des photos d’Allison Joyce sur les mariages d’enfants au Bangladesh

Le parcours pour éliminer complètement les MEPF au Bangladesh sera difficile, car cette pratique y demeure très ancrée. Par contre, grâce aux excellentes initiatives locales et à la collaboration internationale il n’y aura un jour plus de MEPF au Bangladesh.

Le Canada continuera de travailler avec les pays partenaires pour enrayer les MEPF et ainsi donner la chance aux enfants de profiter pleinement de leur jeunesse, sans le fardeau du mariage.

Date de modification: