Gifts that Give

Jordan Reeves, Consul General of Canada (MMBAI) celebrating Canada 150 with children at Mumbai Mobile Creches

Ian Shugart, Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs discussing Canada with students at the Royal City School

MMBAI has made donations to two local schools for underprivileged kids. The donated funds were raised by auctioning gifts that the mission received from official events over the past year.

In March 2017, Ian Shugart, Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs, joined MMBAI to donate to the Royal City School, located in Mumbai’s largest and densest slum, Dharavi, which has more than one million inhabitants. The Deputy Minister attended a short presentation by NGO Reality Gives, which since 2009 has worked with the local community to provide language and computer classes, supporting almost 400 students. After donating school supplies and funds, the Deputy Minister had an interactive question and answers session with eight-year-old students who asked him a variety of questions, including about life in Canada, his favourite foods and what he likes to do in his free time. The best question? It came from a young girl, who asked in a loud voice, “Sir, what are your qualifications?”

In July 2017, Jordan Reeves, Consul General of Canada in Mumbai, visited a school/daycare located on a large construction site run by Mumbai Mobile Creches, an NGO supporting the health, education and safety of the children of migrant construction labourers. Since 1972, Mumbai Mobile Creches has reached over 100,000 children across 270 construction sites in the region. Consul General Reeves, Consul Leonard Reil, and Media Officer Jayita Phulsunge met with three groups of children and their teachers for animated discussions about Canada, snow, polar bears and Canada 150.

Donating the proceeds of our auction in person gave us a glimpse into the important work being done by these NGOs and gave the children an opportunity to meet a few of the people who are cheering for their futures.

Date Modified:

Des cadeaux qui font du bien

Le consul général M. Jordan Reeves (MMBAI) célèbre Canada 150 avec des élèves à Mumbai Mobile Creches.

Le sous-ministre des Affaires étrangères M. Ian Shugart discute du Canada avec des élèves à la Royal City School.

MMBAI a fait des dons à deux écoles locales pour enfants défavorisés. Les fonds donnés ont été amassés grâce à la vente aux enchères de cadeaux que la mission a reçus au cours de l’année lors d’événements officiels.

En mars 2017, Ian Shugart, sous-ministre des Affaires étrangères, s’est joint à MMBAI pour faire un don à la Royal City School, qui se trouve à Dharavi, le bidonville le plus grand et le plus peuplé de Mumbai, où vivent plus d’un million de personnes. Le sous-ministre a assisté à une courte présentation de l’ONG Reality Gives, qui œuvre depuis 2009 auprès de la collectivité locale pour offrir des cours de langue et d’informatique, et qui soutient près de 400 étudiants. Après avoir donné des fournitures scolaires et des fonds, le sous-ministre a participé à une séance interactive de questions et de réponses avec des élèves de huit ans qui lui ont posé diverses questions, notamment à propos de la vie au Canada, de ses mets préférés et de ce qu’il aime faire durant ses temps libres. La meilleure question? Elle a été posée par une jeune fille qui, d’une voix forte, a demandé : « Monsieur, quelles sont vos qualifications? »

En juillet 2017, Jordan Reeves, consul général du Canada à Mumbai, a visité une école/garderie située sur un grand chantier de construction géré par Mumbai Mobile Creches, une ONG qui soutient la santé, l’éducation et la sécurité des enfants de travailleurs migrants de la construction. Depuis 1972, Mumbai Mobile Creches a aidé plus de 100 000 enfants dans 270 chantiers de construction de la région. Le consul général Reeves, le consul Leonard Reil et l’agente des médias Jayita Phulsunge ont rencontré trois groupes d’enfants et leurs enseignants dans le cadre de discussions animées sur le Canada, la neige, les ours polaires et Canada 150.

Les profits de notre vente aux enchères ont été remis en personne, ce qui nous a donné un aperçu du travail important que ces ONG accomplissent et a permis aux enfants de rencontrer quelques-unes des personnes qui se font les champions de leur avenir.

Date de modification: