Call to action in Barbados – “How can you champion gender equality?”

Roundtable discussion with Senator the Honourable Maxine McClean. Minister of Foreign Affairs.

Ms. Rose-Mary Reynolds and Christopher Brathwaite arriving at Barbados Parliament for morning meetings.

Ms. Rose-Mary Reynolds and Christopher Brathwaite, the winners at Parliament.

Town Hall meeting with High Commission staff.

While the advancement of women’s participation in social, economic, cultural and political avenues is happening in many places around the world, progress is slow.

Canada envisions a world where women and girls are valued and empowered, have control over their own lives, fully participate as decision-makers in their homes and societies, and contribute to and benefit from development and prosperity.

Spotlight local champions

The High Commission of Canada in Barbados used this year’s International Women’s Day, to spotlight local champions!

Launching a video competition called "Be High Commissioner for a Day,” people were asked to submit a 60-90 second video answering the question: “How can YOU champion Women’s Equality in the Caribbean"?

Ms. Rose-Mary Reynolds, 19 years old from Antigua and Barbuda was the winner of the competition.  Rose-Mary acknowledges that there’s work to do in the region in particular on domestic violence, sexual harassment in the workplace and under representation. Listen to her message.

Christopher Brathwaite, 16 years old from Barbados runner up claims the first thing to help fix a problem is being aware of the problem and that it’s time to stop listening to history and to also listen to ‘her’story. Listen to Christopher’s message.

Working together

Having been named as the winners in the competition, Ms. Reynolds and Mr. Brathwaite spent the day ‘shadowing’ as acting High Commissioner and Deputy High Commissioner.  
Together, they participated in a number of activities that focused on gender equality and women’s rights, including thoughtful discussions with the Honourable Maxine McClean, Minister of Foreign Affairs.  They also took part in a Town Hall meeting with all staff at the High Commission staff.

Ms. Reynolds plans to continue her work advocating for gender equality in her community of Antigua and Barbuda and through practising law and Mr. Brathwaite also plans to continue advocating for gender equality throughout his community in Barbados.

The High Commission plans to keep in touch with all of the contestants, to help grow a network of youth interested in advancing gender equality. The High Commission will hold this event again next year to continue to shine the spotlight on the voices of people wanting to make positive change in the community and to raise awareness of issues pertaining to gender equality.

Promoting change around the world

Gender equality is a human rights issue, essential to achieving prosperity, sustainable development, inclusive governance and accountability, social justice, peace, and security.

More information

Date Modified:

Appel à l’action à la Barbade – « Comment pouvez-vous défendre l’égalité des sexes? »

Table ronde avec la sénatrice, l’Honorable Maxine McClean, ministre des Affaires étrangères.

Rose-Mary Reynolds et Christopher Brathwaite arrivent au Parlement de la Barbade pour une réunion en avant-midi.

Rose-Mary Reynolds et Christopher Brathwaite, les gagnants, au Parlement.

Assemblée publique locale avec le personnel du Haut-commissariat.

Bien que l’avancement de la participation des femmes dans les sphères sociale, économique, culturelle et politique progresse à plusieurs endroits dans le monde, ce progrès est lent.

Le Canada imagine un monde où les femmes et les filles sont valorisées et autonomes, où elles ont le contrôle de leur propre vie, où elles participent pleinement à la prise de décisions dans leur foyer et leur société et où elles contribuent au développement et à la prospérité et en tirent profit.

Pleins feux sur les champions locaux

Le Haut-commissariat du Canada à la Barbade a profité de la Journée internationale de la femme de cette année pour souligner les champions locaux!

Un concours vidéo appelé « Haut-commissaire d’une journée » a été lancée. Les participants devaient soumettre une vidéo de 60 à 90 secondes dans laquelle ils répondent à la question « Comment pouvez-VOUS défendre l’égalité des femmes aux Caraïbes? »

Rose-Mary Reynolds, 19 ans, d’Antigua-et-Barbuda a remporté le concours. Rose-Mary reconnaît qu’il reste encore du travail à faire dans la région, surtout en ce qui concerne la violence domestique, le harcèlement sexuel dans les milieux de travail et la sous-représentation. Écoutez le message de Rose-Mary.

Christopher Brathwaite, 16 ans de la Barbade, finaliste, affirme que la première chose à faire pour résoudre un problème est de prendre conscience du problème et qu’il est maintenant temps de ne plus s’attarder au passé de la femme, mais à son avenir. Écoutez le message de Christopher.

Collaborer

Déclarés gagnants du concours, Rose-Mary et Christopher ont passé la journée à suivre le Haut-commissaire et le Haut-commissaire adjoint.

Ensemble, ils ont participé à plusieurs activités axées sur l’égalité des sexes et les droits de la femme, notamment des discussions réfléchies avec l’Honorable Maxine McClean, ministre des Affaires étrangères. Ils ont également participé à une assemblée publique locale avec tous les membres du personnel du Haut-commissariat.

Rose-Mary poursuivra son travail de défense de l’égalité des sexes dans sa collectivité à Antigua-et-Barbuda en pratiquant le droit. Christopher continuera également de défendre l’égalité des sexes dans sa collectivité à la Barbade.

Le Haut-commissariat restera en contact avec tous les participants pour favoriser l’établissement d’un réseau de jeunes intéressés par l’avancement de l’égalité des sexes. Le Haut-commissariat organisera de nouveau cet évènement l’an prochain pour continuer à souligner les voix des personnes qui souhaitent apporter un changement positif dans leur milieu et pour sensibiliser la population aux problèmes qui persistent en matière d’égalité des sexes.

Favoriser le changement dans le monde

L’égalité des sexes est un enjeu des droits de la personne qui est essentiel à la prospérité, au développement durable, à la gouvernance inclusive et à la responsabilité, à la justice sociale, à la paix et à la sécurité.

Pour obtenir d’autres renseignements

Date de modification: