Canada 150 hockey days in Kazakhstan

To mark the 25th anniversary of Canada-Kazakhstan relations, the Embassy of Canada is drawing upon this shared tradition through its Canada 150 Hockey Days in Kazakhstan initiative.

Ambassador Steil and the Zamandas 21 tournament champions.

Hockey Night in Canada is a Canadian cultural icon. Turns out, hockey is also very important to the country of Kazakhstan. To mark the 25th anniversary of Canada-Kazakhstan relations, the Embassy of Canada is drawing upon this shared tradition through its Canada 150 Hockey Days in Kazakhstan initiative.

Canada and Kazakhstan share a passion for hockey. Our countries are united by a love for the game. This year, the Embassy of Canada to Kazakhstan is mobilizing our mutual passion for hockey to promote Canadian priorities in Kazakhstan and celebrate many significant milestones, including Canada 150 and 25 years of partnership. Hockey unites.

The Canadian Embassy in Kazakhstan is celebrating Canada 150 with hockey events that promote the themes of the anniversary, particularly youth and inclusivity. The initiative will raise money for youth sport in Kazakhstan while demonstrating that hockey is for everyone, regardless of age or gender. Brought together by a love for the game, “hockey diplomacy” provides Canada with a unique opportunity to conduct engaging diplomatic outreach in Kazakhstan.

Organized by the Embassy, four major hockey events have already taken place. The Embassy is also preparing for a signature weekend in May. Canada 150 Hockey Days in Kazakhstan began with an outdoor youth game in Almaty. The next event was organized to support Zamandas 21, a Kazakhstani non-profit dedicated to promoting youth sport. The largest event to date was the River Hockey Cup, the first pond hockey tournament ever held in Kazakhstan! More recently, the Embassy participated in Canada National Film Day with a screening of The Rocket Public enthusiasm for all of the events has been beyond expectations. Through hockey, the messages of youth and inclusivity are resonating in Kazakhstan. Hockey is a movement.

Almaty outdoor youth hockey

Ambassador Steil facing Canadian players Brendan Shinnimin, Corey Trivino, and Dustin Boyd of local KHL team Barys Astana.

The outdoor youth hockey game in Almaty coincided with the opening of the 2017 Winter Universiade. Athletes from the Canadian men’s and women’s hockey teams were in attendance.

For young players and spectators alike, the highlight was an informal “shinny” game and hockey masterclass hosted by the Canadian athletes! The event was held in partnership with local organization, Sport Concept.  This initiative was supported by money raised in 2016 for youth hockey in Kazakhstan events.

Zamandas 21

Youth development is a central theme of Canada 150.  The Embassy is reaching out to Kazakhstani youth through Canada’s support of the Zamandas 21 hockey initiative.

Zamandas 21 is a foundation dedicated to promoting youth sport in Kazakhstan. Last year Canada donated 1.5 million tenge (CAD 6,300.00) to the foundation so young hockey players could purchase new equipment in partnership with Bauer.

Pond hockey

On February 19, the Embassy hosted a pond hockey tournament on the Ishim River in Astana, in partnership with the Astana Akimat and Kazakhstan Amateur Hockey League. Twenty-four teams participated, 16 adult and 8 youth. The tournament was also joined by members of Tomiris, a local women’s hockey team.

This was the first pond hockey tournament Kazakhstani history. The highlight was an exhibition game featuring Ambassador Steil and Canadian stars from the local KHL team, Barys Astana.

The tournament celebrated Canada 150 with some good old-fashioned fun based on inclusivity and a mutual Canada-Kazakhstan love of hockey.

Canada film night

On April 19, the Embassy held a screening of The Rocket, a film about legendary French-Canadian hockey player Maurice Richard. The event celebrated National Film Day, an occasion to screen Canadian films worldwide.. Special guests included youth hockey players affiliated with the Zamandas 21 program.

Ambassador Steil hosted another film night. He welcomed players from local women’s hockey team Tomiris for a screening of Manon Rhéaume,. This documentary tells the story about the one and only woman to play hockey in the NHL.

Date Modified:

Le Canada 150 - Journées du hockey au Kazakhstan

Pour marquer le 25e anniversaire des relations entre le Canada et le Kazakhstan, l’ambassade du Canada s’appuie sur cette tradition partagée en associant à l’initiative au Kazakhstan ses journées du hockey de Canada 150.

L'Ambassadeur Steil et les champions du tournoi Zamandas 21.

Au Canada, la soirée de hockey est un symbole culturel canadien. Il s’avère que le hockey est aussi très important dans un pays comme le Kazakhstan. Pour marquer le 25e anniversaire des relations entre le Canada et le Kazakhstan, l’ambassade du Canada s’appuie sur cette tradition partagée en associant à l’initiative au Kazakhstan ses journées du hockey de Canada 150.

Le Canada et le Kazakhstan partagent une passion pour le hockey. Nos deux pays sont unis par un amour mutuel envers ce sport. Cette année, l'Ambassade du Canada au Kazakhstan mobilise cette passion commune pour le hockey afin de promouvoir les priorités du Canada au Kazakhstan, et de célébrer de nombreuses étapes importantes, dont le Canada 150 et nos 25 ans de partenariat. Le hockey nous réunit.

L’ambassade du Canada au Kazakhstan célèbre Canada 150 avec des évènements de hockey qui font la promotion des thèmes associés à l’anniversaire, en particulier les jeunes et l’intégration. L’initiative permettra de recueillir des fonds pour l’activité sportive des jeunes du Kazakhstan tout en tout en démontrant que le hockey est pour tout le monde, indépendamment de l'âge ou du sexe. Rassemblés par l’amour du jeu, la « diplomatie du hockey » offre au Canada une occasion unique de rayonnement diplomatique au Kazakhstan.

Quatre évènements majeurs de hockey organisés par l’ambassade ont déjà eu lieu. L’ambassade prépare aussi une fin de semaine de signatures en mai. Les Journées du Hockey de Canada 150 au Kazakhstan ont commencé par une partie de hockey en plein air à Almaty. L’évènement suivant a été organisé pour appuyer Zamandas 21, une organisation Kazakh sans but lucratif dédiée à la promotion du sport des jeunes. Le plus grand évènement à ce jour fut la Coupe de hockey de la rivière, le premier tournoi de hockey sur étang jamais organisé au Kazakhstan! Plus récemment, l’ambassade a participé à la Journée du cinéma canadien en projetant « The Rocket ». L’enthousiasme du public pour l’ensemble des évènements a dépassé toute attente. À travers le hockey, les messages sur la jeunesse et l'inclusion résonnent au Kazakhstan. Le hockey est un mouvement.

Hockey des jeunes en plein air à Almaty

L'Ambassadeur Steil face aux joueurs canadiens Brendan Shinnimin, Corey Trivino, et Dustin Boyd de l'équipe locale de la KHL Barys Astana.

La partie de hockey des jeunes en plein air à Almaty a coïncidé avec l’ouverture de l’Universiade d’hiver 2017. Les athlètes des équipes canadiennes de hockey masculin et féminin y étaient présents.

Pour les jeunes joueurs et les spectateurs, le moment marquant a été un match de hockey amical et un cours de maître de hockey organisé par nos athlètes canadiens! L'événement a été organisé en partenariat avec l'ONG locale Sport Concept et a été rendu possible grâce à l'argent collecté en 2016 pour le hockey des jeunes au Kazakhstan.

Zamandas 21

Le développement des jeunes est un thème central du Canada 150. L’ambassade va à la rencontre de la jeunesse Kazakh en appuyant l’initiative de hockey Zamandas 21.

Zamandas 21 est une fondation dédiée à la promotion du sport des jeunes au Kazakhstan. L'année dernière, ASTNA a fait un don de 1,5 million de tenge (6,300 dollars) afin que les jeunes joueurs de hockey puissent acheter de nouveaux équipements en partenariat avec Bauer.

Le hockey sur étang

Le 19 février, l’ambassade a organisé un tournoi de hockey sur étang sur la rivière Ishim à Astana, en partenariat avec l’Akimat d’Astana et la Ligue de Hockey amateur du Kazakhstan. Vingt-quatre équipes, dont 16 d’adultes et 8 de jeunes, y ont participé. Les membres de Tomiris, une équipe féminine locale de hockey, se sont joints au tournoi.

Ce fut le premier tournoi de hockey sur étang dans l'histoire kazakhe. Le moment fort fut le match amical avec l'Ambassadeur Steil et les vedettes canadiennes de Barys Astana, l'équipe locale de la Ligue continentale de Hockey (KHL).

Le tournoi a célébré Canada 150 avec de bons divertissements à l’ancienne fondés sur l’inclusion et l’amour mutuel du Canada et du Kazakhstan pour le hockey.

La nuit du cinéma canadien

Le 19 avril, l’ambassade a projeté « The Rocket », un film sur Maurice Richard le légendaire joueur québécois de hockey. L’évènement soulignait la Journée du cinéma canadien, une occasion de présenter le cinéma canadien dans le monde entier. Parmi les invités de marque étaient présents de jeunes joueurs de hockey affiliés au programme Zamandas 21.

L’ambassadeur a organisé une autre soirée de cinéma. Il a invité les joueuses de l’équipe locale de hockey, Tomiris à la projection de « Manon Rhéaume ». Ce documentaire raconte l’histoire de la seule et unique femme à jouer au hockey dans la LNH.
Date de modification: