Canada contributes to increasing access to justice in Mali and Ukraine

Judicial training for young Malian jurists

A quick browse of our news feeds will remind us that without the rule of law and access to justice in a country, peace and security are threatened and sustainable development is extremely difficult.

Shockingly, 4 billion people around the world lack access to justice. Poor, vulnerable and marginalized communities such as women and children, persons with disabilities, Indigenous peoples, and LGBTQ2 persons, are often most at risk.

The international community, including Canada, has recognized the importance of the rule of law and access to justice in Agenda 2030. Sustainable Development Goal 16 (SDG 16) – target 3, aims to promote the rule of law at the national and international levels and ensure equal access to justice for all.

This past spring, Global Affairs Canada was invited to write an article for A Better World Volume 2, to showcase our efforts to advance SDG16. Below you will find some of the highlights of this article, on improving people’s access to justice.  To read the complete article, please visit Canada’s international assistance contributes to increasing access to justice – efforts in Mali and Ukraine.

Our work in Mali and Ukraine

Provision of legal aid at the Odesa office

Our work to improve people’s access to justice is guided by specific country contexts. Mali and Ukraine present two different case studies. There are similarities between the two. They both emphasize the value of partnerships, including local partners as well as large multilateral partners. They also demonstrate the key role of civil society to help promote people’s access to justice within their communities.

In Mali, Canada is working with Lawyers without Borders Canada, the Center for International Studies and Cooperation, and the National School of Public Administration of Quebec  to improve access to justice, conflict prevention, and reconciliation.  These efforts focus on the people affected by the crisis and instability in Mali since 2012; engaging them in social dialogue, and promoting activities to improve their human rights. The project is working directly with women and children to help:

  • raise awareness about gender-based violence;
  • provide legal services;
  • identify ways to prevent and resolve local conflicts; and
  • support a community approach to achieving justice.

In Ukraine, Canada is supporting the Canadian Bureau for International Education to help the Government of Ukraine and Ukrainian civil society launch a new legal aid system that reaches marginalized Ukrainians. Prior to the passing of the law on Free Legal Aid in June 2011, all Ukrainian citizens were required to pay for legal advice and representation. Many people could not afford legal services.

Beginning in 2012, Canada provided support for the roll out of the new legal aid system, starting with the establishment of the Coordination Center for Legal Aid Provision (CCLAP).  This is an arms-length agency of the Ministry of Justice of Ukraine, with a mandate to improve social justice by offering equitable access to quality legal aid services for all Ukrainians, particularly individuals from marginalized groups. The next phase was the provision of free legal representation in criminal cases, followed by the right to free legal representation in civil (family) and administrative cases. The final phase introduced legal aid at the grassroots level.

Results

Canadian efforts to improve access to justice in Mali and Ukraine, and many other countries around the world, are helping to strengthen the work of government institutions and processes, and civil society organizations.  These efforts help build the capacity of women and people from marginalized groups to represent their communities and collectively address the challenges they face. Read the full article to learn more about the specific results in Mali and Ukraine. These projects also contribute to achieving SDG 16 in these countries.

For more information on these and other international assistance projects funded by Canada, please consult the Government of Canada’s Project Browser.

Date Modified:

Le Canada contribue à accroître l’accès à la justice au Mali et en Ukraine

Formation juridique pour de jeunes juristes maliens

Une exploration rapide des nouvelles nous rappelle que sans la primauté du droit et l’accès à la justice dans un pays, la paix et la sécurité sont menacées. Ces conditions rendent extrêmement difficile l’atteinte du développement durable.

Fait consternant, 4 milliards de personnes dans le monde n’ont pas accès à la justice. Les communautés pauvres, vulnérables et marginalisées sont souvent les plus susceptibles de ne pas avoir accès à la justice. Des groupes comme les femmes et les enfants, les personnes ayant un handicap, les peuples autochtones et les LGBTQ2 peuvent être les plus touchés.

La communauté internationale, dont le Canada, a reconnu l’importance de la primauté du droit et de l’accès à la justice dans le Programme 2030. L’Objectif de développement durable 16 (ODD 16) – cible 3, vise à promouvoir l’état de droit aux niveaux national et international et donner à tous accès à la justice dans des conditions d’égalité.

Le printemps dernier, Affaires mondiales Canada a été invité à rédiger un article pour A Better World Volume 2, pour mettre en évidence les efforts du Canada pour faire progresser l’ODD 16. Vous trouverez ci-dessous certains des faits saillants de l’article sur l’amélioration de l’accès à la justice. Pour lire l’article complet, veuillez consulter Canada’s International Assistance Contributes to Increasing Access to Justice – Efforts in Mali and Ukraine (en anglais).

Notre travail au Mali et en Ukraine

Prestation d’aide juridique au Bureau d’Odessa

Même si notre travail pour améliorer l’accès des gens à la justice est guidé par des contextes propres aux pays, il existe des similarités entre le Mali et l’Ukraine. Les deux pays insistent sur l’utilité des partenariats, qu’ils soient locaux ou avec de grands partenaires multilatéraux. Ils mettent aussi en évidence le rôle clé de la société civile pour aider à promouvoir l’accès des gens à la justice au sein de leurs communautés.

Au Mali, le Canada travaille avec Avocats sans frontières Canada, le Centre d’étude et de coopération internationale et l’École nationale d’administration publique du Québec. Ces efforts visent à améliorer l’accès à la justice, à prévenir les conflits et à faciliter la réconciliation. Ils portent aussi sur les personnes touchées par la crise et l’instabilité au Mali depuis 2012, en les faisant participer à un dialogue social et à la promotion d’activités pour améliorer leurs droits fondamentaux. Dans le cadre du projet, on travaille directement avec des femmes et des enfants pour contribuer à :

  • Accroître la sensibilisation à la violence sexiste ;
  • Fournir des services juridiques ;
  • Cerner de nouveaux moyens de prévenir et de résoudre les conflits locaux ;
  • Favoriser une approche communautaire pour instaurer la justice.

En Ukraine, le Canada appuie le Bureau canadien de l’éducation internationale pour aider le gouvernement de l’Ukraine et la société civile ukrainienne à lancer un nouveau système d’aide juridique qui rejoint les Ukrainiens marginalisés. Avant l’adoption de la loi sur l’aide juridique gratuite en juin 2011, tous les citoyens ukrainiens devaient payer pour obtenir des conseils juridiques et être représentés en justice. De nombreuses personnes n’avaient pas les moyens de payer pour des services juridiques.  

Le déploiement du nouveau système d’aide juridique a commencé par l’établissement du Coordination Center for Legal Aid Provision (CCLAP). Il s’agit d’un organisme indépendant du ministère de la Justice de l’Ukraine. Il a le mandat d’améliorer la justice sociale en offrant un accès équitable à des services d’aide juridique de qualité à tous les Ukrainiens, particulièrement les personnes faisant partie de groupes marginalisés. La phase suivante a été la prestation d’une représentation en justice gratuite dans les causes au criminel, puis le droit à la représentation en justice gratuite dans les causes civiles (famille) et administratives. La dernière phase a permis d’introduire l’aide juridique pour les citoyens ordinaires.

Résultats

Les efforts du Canada pour améliorer l’accès à la justice au Mali et en Ukraine et dans de nombreux pays du monde contribuent à renforcer le travail des institutions et processus gouvernementaux, ainsi que les organisations de la société civile. Ces efforts contribuent à renforcer la capacité des femmes et des gens des groupes marginalisés à représenter leurs communautés et collectivités pour relever les défis auxquels ils font face. (Lisez l’article intégral pour en savoir davantage sur les résultats précis obtenus au Mali et en Ukraine). Ces projets contribuent aussi à l’atteinte de l’ODD 16 dans ces pays.  

Pour obtenir plus d’information sur ces projets d’aide internationale et d’autres projets d’aide internationale financés par le Canada, veuillez consulter la Banque de projets du gouvernement du Canada.

Date de modification: