Canada in Greece showcase Canadian films for Canada 150

A kickoff to anniversary celebrations in Greece, the Canadian mission in Athens presented a film festival to showcase Canadian films.

Canadian film director Kim Nguyen answers audience questions on opening night.

(L-R) Kim Nguyen; Ambassador Morrill; Greek Minister of Culture Lydia Koniordou; Director of Greek Film Archive, Maria Komninou

Canada 150 invites us to celebrate Canada. At our missions abroad, the anniversary compels us to create and share occasions that portray our heritage, people, land and diversity. It is a time to reflect on what makes us proud to be Canadian, at home and around the world.

In Greece, Canada 150 celebrations coincide with the 75th anniversary of Canada-Greece diplomatic relations. A kickoff to anniversary celebrations in Greece, the Canadian mission in Athens presented a film festival to showcase Canadian films. In partnership with Greece’s Film Archive, “Canada Film Week: A celebration of diversity” was run from February 2 to 8, 2017.

Canada is known for its filmmaking heritage and Canada Film Week was a way to introduce Greek film enthusiasts to our film industry. During the week-long program, ten recent Canadian films in English, French and Inuktitut were screened. Hundreds of enthusiastic Greek cinephiles attended the screenings. They saw films that showed the work of Canadian directors and actors of varied backgrounds and origins. The films told  stories about various periods and places, within and outside Canada.  Audience-goers were invited to explore Canada’s linguistic, cultural and geographic diversity.

In conversation with Canadian and Greek filmmakers

As part of the event, panel discussions were organized with director Kim Nguyen, producer Will Woods and actress Kawennahere Devery Jacobs and director Yannis Sakaridis, producer Despina Mouzaki and actress Vaggelio Andreadaki, moderated by Greek Film Archive Executive Director Maria Komninou  Greek audiences were interested to learn about aspects of Canadian society and history. There were discussions about the legacy of the residential school system and reconciliation efforts with Indigenous peoples.

An award-winning independent film, “Two Lovers and a Bear,” opened the event. The film is set in a far north Canadian community. The screening was attended by the Greek Culture Minister Lydia Koniordou, Members of Parliament, representatives of the Greek cultural sector, and prominent members of the Canadian community in Greece.

Ambassador Morrill reiterated Prime Minister Trudeau’s message that “Canada’s diversity is its strength.” He emphasized the important and unique contributions of the Greek-Canadian diaspora to our success as a country. Greek Minister of Culture Koniordou recognized that Canada’s leadership is known for its respect of humankind, protection of the environment, acceptance of diversity and encouragement for open dialogue.  
Date Modified:

Le Canada en Grèce met en vedette le cinéma canadien à l’occasion de Canada 150

Lors du coup d’envoi des célébrations de cet anniversaire, la mission du Canada à Athènes a présenté un festival de films pour mettre en vedette le cinéma canadien.

La réalisatrice canadienne Kim Nguyen répond aux questions du public lors de la soirée d’ouverture.

(L-R) Kim Nguyen; l’ambassadeur Morrill; la ministre grecque de la Culture Lydia Koniordou; la directrice de la Cinémathèque de Grèce, Maria Komninou

Canada 150 nous invite à fêter le Canada. Dans nos missions à l’étranger, la célébration nous invite à créer et à partager des occasions de présenter notre patrimoine, notre population, notre pays et sa diversité. C’est le moment de réfléchir à ce qui nous rend fiers d’être canadien, au pays et partout dans le monde.

En Grèce, les célébrations de Canada 150 coïncident avec le 75e anniversaire des relations diplomatiques entre le Canada et la Grèce. Lors du coup d’envoi des célébrations de cet anniversaire, la mission du Canada à Athènes a présenté un festival de films pour mettre en vedette le cinéma canadien. En partenariat avec la Cinémathèque de Grèce la « Semaine du cinéma canadien : une célébration de la diversité » s’est tenue du 2 au 8 février 2017.

Le Canada est connu pour son patrimoine cinématographique et la Semaine du cinéma canadien a été une occasion de présenter notre industrie cinématographique aux cinéphiles grecs. Pendant le programme d’une semaine, dix récents films canadiens ont été présentés en français, anglais et inuktitut. Des centaines de cinéphiles grecs ont assisté aux projections. Ils ont visionné des films montrant les œuvres de réalisateurs et d’acteurs canadiens d’horizons et d’origine diverses. Les films racontent des histoires sur des périodes et des lieux variés, au Canada ou à l’étranger. Le public a été invité à explorer la diversité linguistique, culturelle et géographique du Canada.

Dialogues entre cinéastes canadiens et grecs

Dans le cadre de l’évènement, des tables rondes ont été organisées avec le réalisateur Kim Nguyen, le producteur Will Woods et l’actrice Kawennahere Devery Jacobs et le réalisateur Yannis Sakaridis, la productrice Despina Mouzaki, l’actrice Vaggelio Andreadaki. Elles ont été animées par la Directrice générale de la Cinémathèque de Grèce Maria Komninou. Le public grec souhaitait mieux connaître les aspects de la société et l’histoire du Canada. Des discussions ont eu lieu sur l’expérience du système des pensionnait indiens et les efforts de réconciliation avec les peuples autochtones.

L’événement s’est ouvert sur un film primé indépendant « Un ours et deux amants ». Le film se déroule dans une communauté du Grand Nord canadien. La ministre de la Culture grecque, Lydia Koniordou et des parlementaires représentants du monde de la culture grecque et des membres éminents de la communauté canadienne en Grèce ont assisté à la projection.

L’ambassadeur Morrill a rappelé le message du Premier ministre Trudeau : la diversité du Canada fait notre force. Il a souligné les contributions importantes et uniques de la diaspora grecque à notre succès en tant que pays. La ministre grecque de la culture Koniordou a reconnu que le leadership du Canada est reconnu pour son respect de la personne humaine, de protection de l’environnement, l’acceptation de la diversité et l’encouragement au dialogue ouvert.

Date de modification: