Migration Assistant

The Embassy of Canada in Washington D.C. is hiring a Migration Assistantto provide assistance in supporting the delivery of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) Programs.

Position title: Migration Assistant
Section: Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC)
Location: Embassy of Canada, Washington, D.C.
Position no: EXT-310456
Level: LE-05
Starting salary: $50,178 USD, plus benefits
Competition no: 13/17
Date posted: September 19, 2017
Closing date: October 5, 2017
Employment Tenure: Indeterminate

Open to: 

All applicants must:

Summary of duties: 

Under general supervision of the Operations Manager, the Migration Assistant supports the delivery of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship (IRCC) programs by furthering the processing of client applications through dealing directly with the public on immigration and visa issues and by using procedural expertise and/ or assisting an Officer in reporting and liaison and program integrity. The incumbent requires a developed knowledge of established guidelines and procedures and exercises initiative in organizing work, tracking resources, and resolving difficult problems.

Language requirement:  

English and French

Condition of employment (must be met):

Essential requirements:

Candidates must demonstrate clearly how they meet the Education and Experience requirements listed below:

Education:

A degree from an accredited university or college; or an acceptable combination of relevant experience, education, and training related to the duties and specific areas of competence required by the position.

Experience:

Rated requirements:

Candidates who meet the Education and Experience requirements will be assessed on the following qualifications. The assessment may be a written test, an interview, an in-basket exercise, a skills test, or any combination of these methods.

Knowledge:

Abilities:

Personal suitability:

Desirable requirements:

Selection procedure:

The staffing process will consist of a review of all applications to ensure that applicants meet the essential requirements.  Please note that failure to meet any of the essential requirements eliminates candidates from further consideration in the competition. Only those applicants who meet these will be contacted by the Human Resources Section for an interview or other form of assessment of the Rated Requirements.

The assessment may include an interview, a written test and other tests that will consist of a series of questions designed to evaluate each applicant's knowledge, abilities and personal suitability for the position.
The Embassy offers a competitive salary, generous leave and a strong benefits package to include medical, dental, long term and short term disability, and a retirement savings plan to name a few.

The Embassy is committed to conducting inclusive, barrier-free selection processes.

Method of application:

Applications should be sent by e-mail to: resume@international.gc.ca by the closing date. In completing their applications, candidates should confirm that they meet all the essential requirements and take care to relate their work experience to the position description and indicate the position number.

Hours of work:

Normal hours of work for this position are in accordance with the Terms and Conditions of Employment for Locally Engaged Staff (LES) in the United States of 37.5 hours per week.  The incumbent will be required to work overtime on an as-needed basis.

Date Modified:

Adjoint(e) des migrations

L’ambassade du Canada à Washington D.C. est à la recherche d’un(e) adjoint(e) des migrations, qui fournira du soutien à la prestation des programmes d’immigration, de réfugiés et citoyenneté (IRCC).

Titre du poste : Adjoint(e) des migrations
Section : Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada (IRCC)
Lieu de travail: Ambassade du Canada à Washington D.C.
No du poste: EXT-310456
Niveau : LE-05
Salaire de départ: 50,178$ USD plus avantages sociaux
No du concours: 13/17
Date d’affichage: 19 septembre 2017
Date limite: 05 octobre 2017
Durée de l’emploi:  Indéterminée

Personnes admissibles :

Tout candidat doit répondre aux conditions suivantes :

Résumé des fonctions :

Sous la supervision générale du directeur des opérations, l’adjoint(e) des migrations fournit un appui à la prestation des programmes d’immigration, de réfugiés et citoyenneté (IRCC) en contribuant à l’ouverture des dossiers des clients; la personne le fait en s’occupant directement des clients externes pour les questions d’immigration et de visa, en utilisant l’expertise en matière de procédure ou en aidant un agent dans les activités suivantes : production de rapports, liaison et intégrité du programme. La personne titulaire du poste doit avoir une connaissance poussée des directives et procédures établies, et faire preuve d’initiative pour organiser le travail, faire le suivi des ressources et trouver une solution aux problèmes difficiles à résoudre.

Exigences linguistiques :

Anglais et Français

Condition d’emploi (obligatoire) :

Exigences essentielles :

Les candidats doivent démontrer clairement qu’ils satisfont aux exigences énumérées ci-dessous en matière d’études et d’expérience.

Études :

Un diplôme d’une université ou un collège reconnu; ou un agencement acceptable d’expérience, d’études et de formation ayant trait aux tâches et compétences spécifiques du poste. 

Expérience :

Exigences cotées :

Les candidats qui répondent aux exigences en matière d’études et d’expérience seront évalués en fonction des qualifications ci-dessous. L’évaluation peut se faire par écrit, sous forme d’entrevues, d’exercice de la corbeille, d’un examen des compétences ou peut être une combinaison de toutes ces méthodes.

Connaissances :

Aptitudes :

Qualités personnelles :

Exigences Souhaitables :        

Processus de sélection :

Dans le cadre du processus de dotation, toutes les demandes seront examinées afin de vérifier si les candidats satisfont aux qualifications essentielles. Veuillez noter que les candidats qui ne possèdent pas toutes les qualifications essentielles verront leur candidature rejetée. Les représentants de la Section des ressources humaines ne communiqueront qu’avec les candidats qui possèdent ces qualifications, afin de les inviter à passer une entrevue ou à se soumettre à un autre type d’évaluation des exigences cotées.

L’évaluation peut comprendre une entrevue, un examen écrit et d’autres examens composés d’une série de questions visant à évaluer les connaissances, les capacités et les qualités personnelles des candidats pour le poste.
L’Ambassade offre un salaire compétitif, de nombreux congés ainsi que de bons avantages sociaux (assurance médicale, assurance dentaire, assurance-invalidité de courte et de longue durée et régime d’épargne-retraite, pour n’en nommer que quelques-uns).

L’ambassade s’est engagée à mettre en place des processus de sélection inclusifs et exempts d’obstacles.

Procédure de candidature :

Les demandes doivent être envoyées à resume@international.gc.ca au plus tard à la date de clôture. Dans leur demande, les candidats doivent confirmer qu'ils satisfont à toutes les qualifications essentielles, établir un rapport entre leur expérience de travail et la description du poste et indiquer le numéro du poste/du concours.

Heures de travail :

Le nombre normal d’heures de travail pour ce poste en conformité avec les termes et conditions d’employés recrutés sur place (ERP) aux États-Unis est de 37,5 heures par semaine. La personne titulaire devra travailler en heures supplémentaires, au besoin.

Date de modification: