Senior Commercial Officer – Ontario

Position Title: Senior Commercial Officer - Ontario
Section: Ontario
Location: San Francisco, California
Position Number: EXT - TBD
Level: LE-09
Starting Salary: $106,977 USD plus benefits
Tenure:  Term, Five (5) years with potential of indeterminate status a future date
Competition No.: SFRAN_2017_04
Posting Date: September 29, 2017
Closing Date: October 19, 2017

Summary of Position:

The province of Ontario generates 40% of Canada’s GDP and has both the 2nd largest financial services and 2nd largest tech sectors in North America. The Ontario Government has a network of representational offices, Ontario International: Trade and Investment Offices (TIOs), in cities around the world. They are co-located in Canadian Missions, composed of a Canadian Diplomat (Head of the TIO) and a locally engaged team. Measured by quantitative results, TIOs are mandated to build commercial relations between Ontario and the host country in 3 ways: 1) Export Promotion; 2) Foreign Direct Investment Attraction; and 3) Partnership Development.

This is not a “normal” government job. It is suited for an innovative and passionate professional, from public or private sector, looking to thrive and build their career in a unique, dynamic and entrepreneurial-like environment.

The Senior Commercial Officer – Ontario is a local employee of the Government of Canada but works closely with and reports to the Head of the TIO. The successful candidate will take a prominent role in planning, developing and delivering initiatives to fulfil the commercial objectives of the Government of Ontario in the US, including:

Essential Qualifications:

Candidates will initially be screened on the essential qualifications below and must demonstrate in their cover letter and CV how they meet these criteria. Only those candidates who meet all the Essential Requirements will proceed to the next stage of the process.

Rated Requirements:

Candidates must also meet the Rated Requirements shown below, which will be assessed through any of the following: written test, oral communication, interview and reference checks.

Asset Qualifications:

The Consulate General has the right to further screen on asset qualifications and as such, preference may be given to candidates who have the following asset qualifications (which will also be assessed through any of the following: written test, oral communication, interview and reference checks). Candidates should also clearly demonstrate in their cover letter and CV if they meet these qualifications.

Organizational Needs: NA

Operational Requirements:
Some travel, overtime and weekend work may be necessary on occasion.

Important Notes:

This position is open to candidates currently resident in the US, who hold current documentation allowing them to work in the US without restriction, who meet all of the essential requirements stated and whose applications are received by the closing date. Those candidates holding documentation/visas not renewable in the US will not be eligible to apply for this position.

The Consulate General of Canada does not reimburse any relocation costs. The Consulate General of Canada does not sponsor work permit applications on behalf of candidates.

The Consulate General of Canada is committed to building a diverse workforce.

The Consulate General of Canada is committed to conducting inclusive, barrier-free selection processes.

Conditions of Employment (must be met):

Selection Procedure:

The staffing process will consist of a review of all applications and cover letters to ensure that applicants meet the essential requirements. Please note that failure to meet any of the essential requirements eliminates candidates from further consideration in the competition.

Only those applicants who meet these will be contacted by the Human Resources Section for an interview or other form of assessment of the Rated Requirements.

The assessment may include an interview, a written test, reference checks and other tests that will consist of a series of questions designed to evaluate each applicant's knowledge, abilities and personal suitability for the position.

An eligibility list of qualified candidates will be established for this position, and for similar positions.

Confirmation in post is subject to security clearance.

The mission offers a competitive salary, generous leave and a strong benefits package to include medical and dental benefits, various leave provisions, and a pension plan to name a few.

The mission is committed to conducting inclusive, barrier-free selection processes.

Method of Application:

Applications are to be sent by e-mail to: SFRANJobOpportunities@international.gc.ca by the closing date and time. Your application must include a detailed cover letter (as outlined above) and curriculum vitae.  When submitting your application by email, on subject line of email write only your last name in all caps followed by this competition number: SFRAN_2017_4.  For example, if your name is Susan Jones, you would write: JONES –SFRAN_2017_4. Hard copy applications will not be accepted.

Please ensure that your application includes a valid, functional email address that accepts messages from unknown users.

Hours of Work:

Normal hours of work for this position are in accordance with Locally-Engaged Staff regulations of 37.5 hours per week. The successful candidate must be willing to work overtime on occasion and on short notice.

Travel:

This position requires some business travel within California, Arizona, Nevada and Hawaii.

Date Modified:

Agent(e) commercial(e) principal(e) – Ontario

Titre du poste : Agent(e) commercial(e) principal(e) - Ontario
Section : Ontario
Lieu : Consulat Général du Canada, San Francisco, Californie
No du poste : EXT - TBD
Niveau : LE-09
Salaire de départ : 106977 $USD (en plus des avantages sociaux)
Durée : Période déterminée, cinq (5) ans, avec possibilité d’un statut indéterminé à une date ultérieure.
Concours No : SFRAN_2017_04
Date d'affichage : 29 septembre 2017
Date de clôture :19 octobre 2017

Résumé Du Poste :

Le PIB de la province de l’Ontario représente 40 % de celui du Canada, et la province occupe la deuxième position en Amérique du Nord pour les services financiers et pour le secteur technologique. Le gouvernement de l’Ontario possède un réseau de bureaux de représentation à l’étranger dans les grandes villes du monde : les Bureaux du commerce et de l’investissement (sigle anglais TIO). Ils sont situés dans les missions du Canada et sont composés d’un diplomate canadien (chef du TIO) et d’une équipe d’employés recrutés sur place. Évalués en fonction des résultats quantitatifs, les TIO ont pour mandat de construire des relations commerciales entre l’Ontario et le pays hôte, et ce, de trois façons : 1) Promotion des exportations; 2) Appel d’investissements directs étrangers; et, 3) Développement de partenariats.

Ce poste n’est pas un emploi « normal » au gouvernement. Il convient à un professionnel novateur et passionné, du secteur public ou privé, cherchant à réussir et à bâtir sa carrière dans un environnement unique et dynamique d’entrepreneuriat.

L’agent(e) commercial(e) principal(e) ‒ Ontario est un employé local du gouvernement du Canada, mais il/elle travaille en étroite collaboration avec le responsable du TIO, et c’est de lui qu’il relève. Le/La candidat(e) retenu(e) jouera un rôle de premier plan dans la planification, le développement et la mise en œuvre d’initiatives visant à atteindre les objectifs commerciaux du gouvernement de l’Ontario aux É.-U., notamment :

Qualifications Essentielles :

Les personnes qui posent leur candidature seront d’abord sélectionnées d’après les qualifications essentielles énumérées ci-dessous, et elles doivent démontrer dans leur lettre de motivation et leur CV comment elles remplissent ces critères. Seul(e)s les candidat(e)s qui satisfont à toutes les exigences essentielles passeront à l’étape suivante du processus.

Exigences cotées :

Les candidat(e)s doivent également satisfaire aux exigences cotées énumérées ci-dessous, lesquelles seront évaluées à l’aide de l’une des méthodes suivantes : test écrit, communication orale, entrevue et vérifications des références.

Qualifications Constituant Un Atout :

Le Consulat général a le droit de pousser plus avant la sélection en se basant sur les qualifications constituant un atout, de sorte qu’il est possible que la préférence soit donnée aux candidat(e)s possédant celles qui sont énumérées ci-dessous (lesquelles seront également évaluées selon l’une des méthodes suivantes : test écrit, communication orale, entrevue et vérifications des références). Les personnes qui posent leur candidature doivent également démontrer clairement qu’elles possèdent ces qualifications dans leur lettre de motivation et leur CV.

Besoins organisationnels : S.O.

Exigences opérationnelles :
Des déplacements, des heures supplémentaires et du travail durant les week-ends peuvent être nécessaires, à l’occasion.

Notes importantes :

Ce poste est ouvert aux candidat(e)s qui, actuellement, résident aux É.-U. et disposent de documents leur permettant de travailler sans restriction aux É.-U., qui satisfont à toutes les exigences essentielles énoncées et dont les candidatures seront reçues au plus tard à la date de clôture. Les candidat(e)s qui détiennent des documents/visas non renouvelables aux É.-U. ne seront pas admissibles à ce poste.

Le Consulat général du Canada ne rembourse aucuns frais de réinstallation. Le Consulat général du Canada ne parraine pas les demandes de permis de travail au nom des candidats.

Le Consulat général du Canada s’engage à constituer une main-d’œuvre diversifiée.

Le Consulat général du Canada est engagé à mener des processus de sélection inclusifs et ouverts.

Conditions d’emploi (doivent être remplies) :

Procédure de sélection :

Dans le cadre du processus de dotation, toutes les demandes et les lettres de motivations seront examinées afin de vérifier que les candidats satisfont aux qualifications essentielles. Veuillez noter que le non-respect d`une exigence essentielle exclura systématiquement les candidats de la participation au concours.

Seuls les candidats qui répondent à ces dernières exigences seront contactés par la Section des ressources humaines pour une entrevue ou une autre forme d'évaluation des exigences cotées.
L'évaluation peut comprendre une entrevue, test écrit, la vérification des références et d'autres tests qui consistent en une série de questions visant à évaluer les connaissances de chaque candidat, les capacités et les qualités personnelles requises pour le poste.

Une liste de candidats qualifiés sera établie pour ce poste, et pour des postes similaires.

La personne choisie doit obtenir la cote de sécurité exigée pour être nommée au poste.

La mission offre un salaire concurrentiel, de nombreux congés et des avantages sociaux intéressants, dont les soins médicaux et dentaires, l’assurance invalidité de courte et de longue durée et un régime d’épargne-retraite.

La mission s’est engagée à conduire des processus de sélection ouverts à tous et sans obstacles.

Pour Postuler :

Les demandes doivent être envoyées par e-mail à : SFRANJobOpportunities@international.gc.ca
par la date de clôture. Votre demande doit comprendre une lettre de motivation détaillée (tel que décrit ci-dessus) et un curriculum vitae. Lorsque vous soumettez votre demande par courriel, sur la ligne d'objet du courriel écrire que votre nom de famille en majuscules suivies par ce numéro de la concurrence : SFRAN_2017_04. Par exemple, si votre nom est Susan Jones, vous écrivez : JONES-SFRAN_2017_04. Applications sur papier ne seront pas acceptées.

S'il vous plaît assurer que votre demande comprend une adresse de courriel valide, fonctionnel qui accepte les messages des utilisateurs inconnus.

Heures de travail :

Les heures normales de travail pour ce poste sont conformes aux règlements des employés recrutés sur place (ERP) de l'ordre de 37,5  heures par semaine. Volonté d'effectuer des heures supplémentaires périodiquement et à court préavis);

Voyage :

Ce poste requiert un certain nombre de voyages d'affaires dans le Californie, Arizona, Nevada et Hawaï.

Date de modification: