Trade Commissioner

The Consulate General of Canada, Los Angeles is seeking a Trade Commissioner (Information Communication Technology) for the International Business Development Section. This is an exciting opportunity to work with the Consulate General of Canada - a modern organization that focuses on its core business to provide key services to Canada and Canadians with enthusiasm and dedication. The Consulate General is seeking someone who is dynamic, client focused and ready to work with colleagues to implement an innovative approach to service delivery.

Position Title: Trade Commissioner (Information Communication Technology)
Section: Trade
Location: Los Angeles, California
Position Number: EXT-300745
Level: LE-09
Starting Salary: $98,818 USD plus benefits
Tenure: Indeterminate
Competition No.: LNGLS_2017_06
Posting Date: November 3, 2017
Closing Date: November 17, 2017
Extension Dates: 17 November to 01 December 2017. If you have already submitted your cover letter and resume, you do not need to reapply.

Open To:

Persons who meet all of the essential requirements as stated below, who are legal residents of the Los Angeles Metropolitan area, who have work authorization, and whose applications are received by the closing date.

Summary of Duties:

In accordance with the international priorities of the Government of Canada and its specific objectives in the U.S., the incumbent is mainly responsible for providing integrated International Business Development (IBD) support to the Information Communication Technology (ICT) sector in Southern California, Arizona and Nevada.

More particularly, the incumbent is responsible for developing and executing an export strategy to promote Canadian products and services in the Aerospace and defence sectors, as well as attracting foreign direct investment (FDI) opportunities to Canada and for offering access to research, technology and venture capital business opportunities for Canadian firms and institutions. The incumbent will also be responsible for collaborating with other sector officers in delivering integrated support to customers by assisting on key projects as required.

In general, duties fall under four categories: developing and implementing a strategic and proactive plan to promote Canadian exports; developing and implementing a strategic FDI attraction plan, initiatives and events; developing and implementing a strategic and proactive plan to seek research, technology and financing opportunities for Canadian firms and institutions; developing an effective network of Canadian and local partners to deliver on program objectives; and planning high-level visits.

Language Requirement:

Fluency in English, both oral and written.  (The ability to work in French is an asset).

Computer Skills:

Word, Internet and database research, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook

Conditions of Employment (must be met):

Eligibility for Government of Canada Reliability Status which includes a criminal and credit background check; and independent work authorization in the U.S.

Essential Qualifications:

Education:

Bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university in a field related to the duties required by the position or a degree from a recognised university and a minimum of 5 years of relevant work experience.

Experience:

Rated Requirements:

Candidates who meet the Education and Experience requirements will be assessed on the following qualifications. The assessment may be a written test, an interview, an in-basket exercise, a skills test, or any combination of these methods.

Knowledge:

The incumbent must have knowledge of: the role, priorities and programs of the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada, including the Trade Commissioner Service; commercial issues – in the US generally and in Southern California, Arizona and Nevada in particular – that could have an impact on Canadian business interests; appropriate strategies for briefing senior officials and VIPs; knowledge of networking techniques.

Abilities & Personal Suitability:

Competencies:

Demonstrated superior organizational and interpersonal skills (including networking) and other competencies including: sound judgment, adaptability and flexibility, initiative, resourcefulness, thoroughness, reliability, teamwork and cooperation, tact and integrity.

Selection Procedure:

The staffing process will consist of a review of all applications to ensure that applicants meet the essential requirements.  Candidates should ensure their cover letter and/or resume demonstrate(s) clearly how they meet the essential requirements and any applicable desirable requirements.

Please note that failure to meet any of the essential requirements eliminates candidates from further consideration in the competition.  Only those applicants who meet the essential requirements may be contacted by the Consulate General for an interview or other form of assessment of the rated requirements.

The assessment can include an interview, a written test and other tests that will consist of a series of questions designed to evaluate each applicant's knowledge, abilities and personal suitability for the position.

Method of Application:

Applications including a cover letter and resume/cv are to be sent by e-mail to: lnglsjobopportunities@international.gc.ca by the closing date of 01 December 2017.  In completing their applications, candidates will confirm that they meet all the essential requirements and take care to relate their work experience to the position description.

On subject line of email, write only your last name in all caps followed by this competition number: LNGLS_2017_06.  For example, if your name is Susan Jones, you should write: JONES_LNGLS_2015_03. Hard copy applications will not be accepted.

Operational Requirements:

Hours of Work:

Normal hours of work for this position are in accordance with Locally-Engaged Staff regulations of 37.5 hours per week. The successful candidate must be willing to work overtime on occasion and when required.

Date Modified:

Délégué(e) Commercial(e)

Le Consulat général du Canada à Los Angeles est à la recherche d’un délégué commercial (technologies de l’information et des communications) pour la section du Développement du commerce international.  Il s’agit d’une excellente occasion de travailler avec le Consulat général du Canada, organisation moderne s’occupant de son mandat premier qui consiste à offrir des services principaux au Canada et aux Canadiens, avec enthousiasme et dévouement.  Le consulat général est à la recherche d’une personne dynamique, soucieuse du client et prête à collaborer avec des collègues afin de mettre en œuvre une démarche novatrice à la prestation de services.

Titre du poste : Délégué(e) commercial(e)  (technologies de l’information et des communications)
Section : Commerce
Lieu : Consulat général du Canada, Los Angeles   
Numéro de poste : EXT-300745
Niveau : LE-09
Salaire de départ : 98 818 $USD (en plus des avantages sociaux)
Durée : Mandat de cinq (5) ans
Concours no. : LNGLS_2017_06
Date d’affichage : 03 novembre 2017
Date de clôture : 17 novembre 2017
Date de prolongation : Du 17 Novembre au 01 Décembre si vous avez déjà soumis votre lettre de motivation et votre C.V., vous n’avez pas besoin de présenter de nouvelle demande.

Concours ouvert aux :

Les personnes qui répondent à l’ensemble des exigences essentielles, telles qu’elles sont décrites ci-dessous, qui sont des résidents autorisés de la région métropolitaine de Los Angeles, qui possèdent une autorisation de travailler et dont la demande est reçue avant la date limite.

Durée de l’emploi : 

Il s’agit d’un poste doté pour une période déterminée d’une durée de cinq ans.  On pourrait se servir de ce processus de dotation par concours pour dresser une liste de candidats qualifiés admissibles à ce poste et à des postes semblables de durées différentes, y compris des postes dotés pour une période déterminée et des postes par intérim.

Résumé des fonctions :

Selon les priorités internationales du gouvernement du Canada et ses objectifs particuliers aux États-Unis, le titulaire est principalement responsable des services de soutien intégré au développement du commerce international (DCI) pour le secteur des technologies de l’information et des communications dans le sud de la Californie, en Arizona et au Nevada.

En particulier, le titulaire est responsable de la formulation et de l’exécution d’une stratégie d’exportation visant à promouvoir les produits et les services canadiens dans le secteur des technologies de l’information et des communications, de même qu’attirer des investissements étrangers directs (IED) au Canada. La stratégie vise également à donner accès à des occasions d’affaires en matière de recherche, de technologie et de capital de risque aux entreprises et aux institutions canadiennes. Au besoin, le titulaire devra également collaborer avec d’autres délégués commerciaux chargés de différents secteurs pour assurer un soutien intégré aux clients lors de projets principaux.

En général, les responsabilités du poste se divisent en quatre catégories : développer et mettre en œuvre un plan stratégique et proactif afin de promouvoir les exportations canadiennes; développer et mettre en œuvre un plan, des projets et évènements stratégiques pour  attirer l’IED; développer et mettre en œuvre un plan stratégique et proactif afin de trouver des opportunités de recherche, de technologie et de financement pour les entreprises et les institutions canadiennes; établir un réseau efficace de partenaires canadiens et locaux pour assurer l’exécution des objectifs de programme et planifier les visites de haut niveau.

Exigences linguistiques :

Maîtrise de l’anglais, tant parlé qu’écrit.  (La capacité de travailler en français serait un atout).

Condition d’emploi (doit être satisfaite) :

Pour satisfaire aux exigences du gouvernement du Canada vous serez soumis à une vérification des antécédents criminels, vérification de crédit, et devrez soumettre une preuve valide d’autorisation de travail aux États-Unis.

Exigences essentielles :

Études :

Baccalauréat d’un collège ou d’une université accréditée dans un domaine lié aux responsabilités du poste ou un diplôme d’une université reconnue et un minimum de cinq années d’expérience pratique pertinente.

Expérience :

Exigences cotées :

Les candidats qui répondent aux exigences en matière d’études et d’expérience seront évalués en fonction des qualifications ci-dessous. L’évaluation peut se faire par écrit, sous forme d’entrevue, d’un exercice de la corbeille, d’un examen des compétences ou par un agencement quelconque de ces méthodes.

Connaissances :

Le titulaire doit connaître ce qui suit : le rôle, les priorités et les programmes d’Affaires mondiales Canada, y compris le Service des délégués commerciaux; les dossiers commerciaux à problème – aux États-Unis en général et dans le sud de la Californie, en Arizona et au Nevada en particulier – susceptibles d’avoir une incidence sur les intérêts commerciaux du Canada; des stratégies adéquates pour breffer les hauts fonctionnaires et VIPs; les techniques de réseautage.

Aptitudes & Qualités personnelles :

Compétences :

Aptitudes supérieures démontrées à l’organisation et en relations interpersonnelles (y compris le réseautage) et autres compétences, y compris les suivantes : bon jugement, capacité de s’adapter et souplesse, initiative, débrouillardise, rigueur, fiabilité, capacité de travailler en équipe et de coopérer, tact et intégrité.

Procédure de sélection :

Le processus de dotation consistera en un examen de l’ensemble des demandes pour s’assurer que les postulants possèdent les qualifications essentielles requises.  Les candidats doivent s’assurer de démontrer clairement dans leur lettre d’accompagnement ou leur curriculum vitae en quoi ils répondent aux exigences essentielles et aux exigences souhaitables les concernant.

Il est à noter que les personnes qui ne répondent pas à toutes les exigences essentielles verront leur candidature rejetée.  Le consulat général ne communiquera qu’avec les postulants qui répondent à ces exigences essentielles en vue de fixer une date d’entrevue ou d’organiser une autre forme d’évaluation des exigences cotées du poste.

Procédure pour postuler :

Les demandes doivent être transmises par courrier électronique à l’adresse suivante : lnglsjobopportunities@international.gc.ca  d’ici la date d’échéance du 01 decembre 2017.&nbspVeuillez inscrire dans la zone de texte « objet » du message que votre nom de famille en majuscules suivi du numéro de concours : LNGLS_2017_06. Les demandes transmises en format imprimé ne seront pas acceptées.

Heures de travail :

Le nombre d’heures de travail normal pour ce poste est égal à 37,5 heures par semaine, conformément aux règlements régissant le recrutement d’employés sur place (ERP). Le/la titulaire sera appelé(e) à faire des heures supplémentaires selon les besoins.

Date de modification: