Human Resources (HR) Generalist

The Embassy of Canada in Washington D.C. is hiring a Human Resources Generalist who will provide advice, support, and delivery of services, including recruitment and benefits administration, for locally-engaged employees and managers at the Embassy and at missions throughout the United States.

Position title: Human Resources (HR) Generalist
Section: Locally-Engaged Staff Portal
Location: Embassy of Canada, Washington, D.C.
Position no: EXT-310944
Level: LE-07
Starting salary: $70,494 USD per year, plus benefits
Competition no: 19/17
Date posted: November 8, 2017
Closing date: November 27, 2017
Employment Tenure: There is one (1) term position to be filled, having a specified period of employment of three (3) years, with the possibility of extension or change in employment status to indeterminate based on operational needs. This competitive staffing process may be used to create an eligibility list of qualified candidates for this position and similar positions with various tenures, including indeterminate, term, assignment/ transfer, and acting opportunities at the Embassy of Canada in Washington, D.C. When you submit your application, you must specify all types of employment tenures for which you wish to be considered, e.g., indeterminate, term, assignment/transfer, and/or acting.

Open to:

All applicants must:

Summary of duties:

Under the supervision of the HR Officer and in close collaboration with the HR team, the HR Generalist will support human resources functions for locally-engaged employees and managers at the Embassy and at missions throughout the United States.  Primary responsibilities will include functional areas such as recruitment, classification, benefits administration, HRIS administration, employee record management, employee onboarding and out-processing, basic employee relations, and employee communication. The incumbent will also work on special / cyclical projects for the HR section and will have other duties as requested by the Head of HR.

Language requirement:

English (The ability to work in French would be an asset.)

Condition of employment (must be met):

Essential requirements:

Candidates must demonstrate clearly how they meet the Education and Experience requirements listed below:

Education:

A degree from an accredited college or university in business, HR, or a related field OR an acceptable combination of relevant experience, education, and training related to the duties and specific areas of competence required by the position, e.g., PHR certification.

Experience:

Rated requirements:

Candidates who meet the Education and Experience requirements will be assessed on the following qualifications. The assessment may be a written test, an interview, an in-basket exercise, a skills test, or any combination of these methods.

Knowledge:

Abilities:

Personal Suitability:

Desirable Requirements :

Selection procedures:

The staffing process will consist of a review of all applications to ensure that applicants meet the Essential Requirements. Please note that failure to meet any of the Essential Requirements eliminates candidates from further consideration in the competition. Only those applicants who meet these will be contacted by the Human Resources Section for an interview or other form of assessment of the Rated Requirements.

The assessment may include an interview, a written test and other tests that will consist of a series of questions designed to evaluate each applicant's knowledge, abilities and personal suitability for the position.

The Embassy offers a competitive salary, generous leave and a strong benefits package to include medical, dental, long term and short term disability, and a retirement savings plan to name a few.

The Embassy is committed to conducting inclusive, barrier-free selection processes.

Method of application:

Applications should be sent by e-mail to: resume@international.gc.ca by the closing date. In completing their applications, candidates should confirm that they meet all the Essential Requirements and take care to relate their work experience to the position description and indicate the position number.

Hours of work:

Normal hours of work for this position are in accordance with the Terms and Conditions of Employment for Locally Engaged Staff (LES) in the United States of 37.5 hours per week. The incumbent will be required to work overtime on an as-needed basis.

Date Modified:

Agent(e) généraliste en ressources humaines

L’ambassade du Canada à Washington D.C. souhaite embaucher un/une agent(e) généraliste en ressources humaines qui va fournir des conseils et du soutien, et assurer la prestation de services, notamment le recrutement ainsi que l’administration des avantages sociaux pour les employés recrutés sur place et pour les gestionnaires, à l’ambassade et dans les missions partout aux États-Unis.

Titre du poste : Agent(e) généraliste en ressources humaines
Section : Portail des employés recrutés sur place (ERP)
Endroit : Ambassade du Canada à Washington
Numéro de poste : EXT-310944
Niveau : LE-07
Salaire de départ : 70 494$ USD par an, plus avantages sociaux
Numéro de concours : 19/17
Date d’affichage du poste: 08 novembre 2017
Date de clôture: 27 novembre 2017
Durée de l’emploi : Un (1) poste à durée déterminée à combler pour une période d’emploi de trois (3) années, avec possibilité de prolongation ou de changement de statut pour un poste à durée indéterminée, selon les besoins opérationnels. Ce concours peut aussi servir à créer une liste d’admissibilité de candidats(es) qualifiés(es) pour ce poste ou autres postes similaires avec durées variées, incluant des opportunités d’emploi à durée indéterminée, déterminée, affectation/mutation et intérim à l’ambassade du Canada à Washington, D.C. Lors de la soumission de votre candidature, vous devez préciser tous les types d’emploi pour lesquels vous désirer être considéré(e), par exemple indéterminée, déterminée, affectation/mutation ou intérim.

Personnes admissibles :

Tout candidat doit répondre aux conditions suivantes :

Résumé des fonctions :

Sous la supervision de l’agent des RH et en étroite collaboration avec l’équipe des RH, l’agent(e) généraliste en ressources humaines va apporter son soutien aux fonctions liées aux ressources humaines pour les employés recrutés sur place et pour les gestionnaires à l’ambassade et dans les missions à travers les États-Unis. Les principales responsabilités vont comprendre des domaines fonctionnels tels que le recrutement, la classification, l’administration des avantages sociaux, l’administration du SIRH, la gestion des dossiers des employés, la prise en charge des nouveaux employés et le traitement de départ, les relations de base avec les employés et la communication avec eux. La personne titulaire va également travailler à des projets spéciaux/cycliques pour la section des RH et effectuer d’autres tâches selon les demandes du chef des RH.

Exigences linguistiques : 

Anglais (La capacité de travailler en français constitue un atout.)

Conditions d’emploi (obligatoires) :

Exigences essentielles :

Les candidats (tes) doivent démontrer clairement en quoi ils/elles répondent aux exigences en matière d’études et d’expérience ci-dessous :

Études :

Un diplôme d’un collège ou d’une université agréée en affaires, en ressources humaines ou dans un domaine connexe OU un agencement acceptable d’études, de formation et d’expérience de travail liées aux fonctions et aux domaines de compétence particuliers du poste, c’est-à-dire un titre professionnel en ressources humaines.

Expérience :

Exigences cotées :

Les candidat(e)s qui répondent aux exigences en matière d’études et d’expérience seront évalués en fonction des qualifications ci-dessous. L’évaluation peut se faire sous forme de test écrit, d’entrevue, d’exercice de gestion de cas, d’un examen des compétences ou d’une combinaison de toutes ces méthodes.

Connaissances :

Aptitudes :

Qualités personnelles :  

Qualités/aptitudes souhaitables :

Processus de sélection :

Dans le cadre du processus de dotation, toutes les demandes seront examinées afin de vérifier si les candidat(e)s satisfont aux exigences essentielles. Veuillez noter que les candidat(e)s qui ne possèdent pas toutes les qualifications essentielles verront leur candidature rejetée. Les représentants de la Section des ressources humaines ne communiqueront qu’avec les candidat(e)s qui possèdent ces qualifications, afin de les inviter à passer une entrevue ou à se soumettre à un autre type d’évaluation des exigences évaluées.

L’évaluation peut comprendre une entrevue, un examen écrit et d’autres examens composés d’une série de questions visant à évaluer les connaissances, les capacités et les qualités personnelles des candidats pour le poste.

L’ambassade offre un salaire et un régime de congé compétitifs, ainsi que de bons avantages sociaux (assurance médicale, assurance dentaire, assurance-invalidité de courte et de longue durée et régime d’épargne-retraite, pour n’en nommer que quelques-uns).

L’ambassade s’est engagée à mettre en place des processus de sélection inclusifs et non discrétionnaires.

Procédure pour postuler :

Les demandes doivent être envoyées à resume@international.gc.ca au plus tard à la date de clôture. Dans leur demande, les candidats doivent confirmer qu’ils satisfont à toutes les qualifications essentielles, établir un rapport entre leur expérience professionnelle et la description du poste et indiquer le numéro du poste/du concours.

Heures de travail :

Le nombre normal d’heures de travail pour ce poste est  de 37,5 heures par semaine conformément aux conditions d’emploi  pour les employés recrutés sur place (ERP) aux États-Unis.  La personne titulaire devra travailler en heures supplémentaires, au besoin.

Date de modification: