David Alward, Consul General of Canada in Boston, United States

Image of David Alward

Message from the Consul General

It is my great pleasure to serve as the Consul General of Canada to New England, representing Canada in the states of Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont. Having served as the Premier of New Brunswick, I know how important the Canada-New England relationship is. Rooted in our history, culture, and shared values, this relationship has helped both our economies to grow and prosper. The mutually beneficial trade and investment ties between Canada and New England have helped to create jobs on both sides of the border, and made both our countries more competitive in an increasingly connected global economy. The many border crossings between northern New England and Canada keep our two regions closely connected. In communities located along the border, many residents cross the border frequently to shop and visit friends and family. Canadian tourists make many trips south to visit the region, pumping millions of dollars into the local economy, and Americans frequently visit their neighbours to the north as well, experiencing all that Canada has to offer.

From our office in Boston, I am proud to lead a dynamic team of dedicated public servants. It is our mission to promote Canada’s interests and to advance political and economic ties between Canada and New England, and to expand the all-important trade and investment relationship between our two countries. We also provide consular assistance to Canadians who are visiting or living in our territory.

After arriving in June of 2015, I immediately started working with local business leaders, elected officials, and other partners to continue to build the already vibrant relationship shared by Canada and the region. I look forward to having the opportunity to meet many New Englanders throughout our five-state territory and to further develop the Canada-New England partnership.

Sincerely,

David Alward
Consul General

Biography

David Nathan Alward was appointed as Canada’s Consul General to New England in May of 2015, and serves as Canada’s representative in Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont.

He was born in Beverly, Massachusetts and is the son of Rev. Ford and Jean Alward. He graduated from Nackawic Senior High School in New Brunswick and completed his Bachelor of Arts degree in Psychology at Bryan College in Dayton, Tennessee.

Mr. Alward was employed with the Canadian federal government from 1982 until 1996. From 1996 to 1999, he was self-employed as a human resource development and community development consultant.

He was first elected to the Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick in 1999, was sworn in as Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Aquaculture in 2003, and took the oath of office to become the 32nd Premier of New Brunswick in 2010.

As an active member of his community, Mr. Alward volunteered as an emergency medical technician and laboratory instructor with St. John Ambulance and as a firefighter with the Meductic Fire Department. He has also served as a volunteer in recreational activities and student tutoring, and was a member of the Woodstock Rotary Club in New Brunswick.

Mr. Alward and his wife Rhonda have two adult sons, Jonathan and Benjamin. He and his family still maintain a small family farm in Riceville, New Brunswick, where they raise purebred Hereford cattle.

Date Modified:

David Alward, Consul général du Canada aux États-Unis à Boston

Image de David Alward

Message du Consul général

C’est un grand plaisir d’occuper le poste de Consul général du Canada en Nouvelle-Angleterre et de représenter le Canada dans les États du Maine, du Massachusetts, du New Hampshire, du Rhode Island et du Vermont. Ayant occupé le poste de premier ministre au Nouveau-Brunswick, je sais à quel point la relation entre le Canada et la Nouvelle-Angleterre est primordiale. En effet, cette relation, enracinée dans notre histoire, notre culture et nos valeurs, a contribué à l’accroissement de nos deux économies. Les liens mutuellement bénéfiques de commerce et d'investissement entre le Canada et la Nouvelle-Angleterre ont contribué à la création d’emplois aux deux côtés de la frontière, et a rendu nos deux pays plus compétitifs dans une économie mondiale de plus en plus connectée. Les nombreux passages frontaliers entre le nord de la Nouvelle-Angleterre et le Canada maintiennent un lien étroit entre nos deux régions. Dans les communautés situées au long de la frontière, de nombreux habitants traversent fréquemment la frontière pour magasiner et visiter des amis et la famille. Les touristes canadiens visitent souvent la région; et dépensent ensemble des millions de dollars dans l'économie locale. De même, les américains visitent fréquemment leurs voisins du nord et profitent de tout ce que le Canada a à leur offrir.

Ici à Boston, je suis fier de diriger une équipe dynamique de fonctionnaires dévoués. Nous avons comme mission de promouvoir les intérêts du Canada ainsi que les relations politiques et économiques entre le Canada et la Nouvelle-Angleterre, et de développer davantage la relation très importante de commerce et d’investissement entre nos deux pays. Nous fournissons également une assistance consulaire aux Canadiens qui visitent ou qui vivent dans notre territoire.

Dès mon arrivée en juin 2015, j’ai commencé à travailler avec les dirigeants d'affaires locales, des officiers élus, et d'autres partenaires afin de continuer à construire la relation déjà très dynamique partagée par le Canada et notre région. J’ai hâte d'avoir l'occasion de rencontrer de nombreux habitants de la Nouvelle-Angleterre à travers notre région de cinq états afin de développer davantage le partenariat entre le Canada et la Nouvelle-Angleterre.

Cordialement,

David Alward
Consul général

Biographie

David Nathan Alward a été nommé Consul général du Canada en Nouvelle-Angleterre en mai 2015, et est représentant du Canada au Maine, au Massachusetts, au New Hampshire, au Rhode Island et au Vermont.

Il est né à Beverly au Massachusetts et est le fils du révérend Ford et Jean Alward. Il est diplômé de Nackawic Senior High School au Nouveau-Brunswick et a reçu son baccalauréat en arts en psychologie de l’université Bryan à Dayton, Tennessee.

M. Alward a travaillé pour le gouvernement fédéral canadien de 1982 à 1996. De 1996 à 1999, il a travaillé pour lui-même comme consultant en développement des ressources humaines et pour le développement de la communauté.

Il a été élu à l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick en 1999, a été assermenté comme ministre de l'Agriculture, des Pêches et de l'Aquaculture en 2003, et a pris le serment d'office pour devenir le 32ème premier ministre du Nouveau-Brunswick en 2010.

En tant que membre actif de sa communauté, M. Alward a servi en tant que bénévole comme technicien médical d'urgence et moniteur de laboratoire pour St. John Ambulance et a été pompier à la caserne des pompiers Meductic. Il a également servi en tant que bénévole à diverses activités récréatives et a été tuteur pour étudiants. Enfin, il a été membre du club Rotary de Woodstock au Nouveau-Brunswick.

M. Alward et sa femme Rhonda ont deux fils adultes, Jonathan et Benjamin. Lui et sa famille maintiennent encore une petite ferme à Riceville au Nouveau-Brunswick, où ils élèvent des bovins Hereford de race pure.

Date de modification: