John Cruickshank, Consul General of Canada in Chicago, United States

Image of John Cruickshank

John Cruickshank (BA [Literature], Trinity College, University of Toronto, 1975) was most recently the chairman of the Canadian Journalism Foundation and co-chair of Canadian Press Enterprises Inc. He was publisher of the Toronto Star, Canada’s highest-circulation newspaper, and president of Star Media Group from 2009 until 2016. He was the ninth publisher in the Star’s 124-year history.

Mr. Cruickshank has enjoyed a distinguished career in newspapers and television in both Canada and the United States. He served as publisher of CBC News from 2007 to 2008; he was responsible for all English-language television, radio and online news. Before joining the CBC, he was publisher of the Chicago Sun-Times and chief operating officer of the Sun-Times Media Group, based in Chicago, Illinois, from 2003 to 2007. Prior to being named publisher of the Sun-Times, he was vice president, editorial, from 2000 to 2003.

Mr. Cruickshank is also a former managing editor of the Globe and Mail and former editor-in-chief of the Vancouver Sun. He has also worked for the Montreal Gazette and started his journalism career with the Kingston Whig-Standard.

Mr. Cruikshank was born and raised in Toronto, Ontario. He received an honorary Doctor of Sacred Letters from Trinity College in 2013.

Date Modified:

John Cruickshank, Consul général du Canada aux États-Unis à Chicago

Image de John Cruickshank

M. John Cruickshank (B.A. [littérature], Trinity College, Université de Toronto, 1975) était jusqu’à récemment le président de la Fondation pour le journalisme canadien et le coprésident des Entreprises Presse Canadienne Inc. Il a été éditeur du Toronto Star, le 9e à occuper ce poste en 124 ans d’existence de ce quotidien ayant actuellement le plus fort tirage au pays. De plus, il a été président du groupe Star Media de 2009 à 2016.

M. Cruickshank a mené une brillante carrière dans le milieu de la presse écrite et de la télévision, tant au Canada qu’aux États-Unis. En 2007-2008, il a occupé le poste de rédacteur en chef de CBC News, où il était responsable de toutes les nouvelles anglophones diffusées à la télévision, à la radio et en ligne. Avant de se joindre à la CBC, il avait été éditeur du Chicago Sun-Times et chef de l’exploitation du groupe Sun-Times Media, à Chicago, en Illinois, de 2003 à 2007, et précédemment vice-président de la rédaction, de 2000 à 2003.

M. Cruickshank est également un ancien directeur de la rédaction du Globe and Mail et rédacteur en chef du Vancouver Sun. Il a commencé sa carrière de journaliste au Kingston Whig-Standard, avant de passer à la Montreal Gazette.

M. Cruickshank est né et a grandi à Toronto, en Ontario. Il a obtenu en 2013 un doctorat honorifique en écritures saintes du Trinity College.

Date de modification: