James Villeneuve, Consul General of Canada in Los Angeles, United States

Message from the Consul General

I am extremely honoured to be the Head of Mission for the Consulate General of Canada in Los Angeles, and to be leading a dedicated team that promotes trade and investment, provides consular services to Canadians in need, and encourages close cooperation between Canada and the United States within our region of Southern California, Arizona and Nevada.

No two countries have a deeper, more beneficial relationship than Canada and the U.S. – in business; security and defence; and academic, cultural and environmental interests. Our partnership is forged by shared geography, similar values, common interests, deep connections and powerful, multi-layered economic ties.

Every day, nearly $2 billion in goods and services cross our shared border in a perfectly balanced trade relationship. Overall, Canada-U.S. trade supports 9 million jobs in the U.S. – including 1.4 million in this region alone.

Our Consulate General in Los Angeles, our Consulate in San Diego and our Honorary Consul in Arizona are dedicated to building upon our successful partnership, expanding our shared prosperity and working together on the issues that unite our countries – and we look forward to doing so with our partners and friends across this region.

James Villeneuve
Consul General

Biography

James Villeneuve was appointed Consul General of Canada, Los Angeles in February 2014. He is Canada's senior representative in Southern California, Arizona and Nevada.

Prior to his appointment, Mr. Villeneuve worked for Anheuser Busch InBev, the world’s largest brewing company and the parent company of Labatt Breweries, for more than 27 years. He started with Labatt in Toronto in sales and marketing and was later transferred to Vancouver, where he was regional director of government affairs for Western Canada.

In 1995, Mr. Villeneuve returned to Toronto to manage Labatt’s rebranding initiative and to run the company’s corporate and sports properties. He later became director of corporate affairs and then vice-president of corporate affairs for Canada. From 2007 to 2009, Mr. Villeneuve worked in Brussels to lead InBev’s global corporate affairs practice. After InBev purchased Anheuser Busch in 2009, Mr. Villeneuve moved to St. Louis to lead the company’s North American corporate affairs department.

Mr. Villeneuve has served on many boards during his career, including the Toronto Economic Development Commission, the Metro Toronto Convention Centre, the 2008 Toronto Olympic Bid, the Granville Island Trust, the Association of Canadian Advertisers, Carleton University, the Canadian Club, Teach for America, the United Way and the Regional Chamber and Growth Association in St. Louis. He received a Bachelor’s degree from Carleton University in 1985.

Mr. Villeneuve is married to Kim Walker-Villeneuve and they have two children, Grace and Andrew.

Date Modified:

James Villeneuve, Consul général du Canada à Los Angeles

Message du Consul général

Je suis extrêmement honoré d’être le chef de mission du consulat général du Canada à Los Angeles et de diriger une équipe dévouée qui fait la promotion des échanges commerciaux et de l'investissement, fournit des services consulaires aux Canadiens et encourage une coopération étroite entre le Canada et les États-Unis au sein de notre région du sud de la Californie, de l'Arizona et du Nevada.

Aucuns pays n’ont une relation qui soit aussi mutuellement profitable que le Canada et les États-Unis - en affaires; en matière de sécurité et de défense; et en ce qui touche les intérêts académiques, culturels et environnementaux. Notre partenariat s'articule autour d’une géographie partagée, de valeurs similaires, d’intérêts communs, de liens étroits et de relations économiques puissantes et profondes.

Chaque jour, près de 2 milliards de dollars en biens et services traversent notre frontière commune. Notre relation commerciale est l’une des plus parfaitement équilibrées qui soient. Dans l'ensemble, c’est plus de 9 millions d'emplois aux États-Unis, dont 1,4 million dans cette région, qui dépendent du commerce entre le Canada et les États-Unis.

Notre consulat général à Los Angeles, notre consulat à San Diego et notre consul honoraire en Arizona sont entièrement voués à fortifier ce partenariat fructueux, à renforcer notre prospérité commune et à travailler sur les questions qui unissent nos deux pays en collaboration avec nos partenaires et amis à travers cette région.

James Villeneuve
Consul général

Biographie

James Villeneuve a été nommé consul général du Canada à Los Angeles en février 2014. Il est le représentant principal du Canada en Californie du Sud, en Arizona et Nevada.

Avant de devenir consul général à Los Angeles, il a travaillé 27 ans chez Anheuser Busch InBev, la plus grande société brassicole du monde et société mère des brasseries Labatt. Il a entamé sa carrière dans les bureaux torontois de Labatt, dans le domaine des ventes et du marketing, puis a été transféré à Vancouver, où il a occupé le poste de directeur régional des affaires gouvernementales pour l’Ouest du Canada.

En 1995, M. Villeneuve est retourné à Toronto pour gérer la refonte de l’image de marque de Labatt ainsi que les propriétés immobilières et les installations sportives de l’entreprise. Il est par la suite devenu directeur des affaires de la société, puis vice-président des affaires de l’entreprise pour le Canada. De 2007 à 2009, M. Villeneuve a travaillé à Bruxelles chez InBev afin de diriger la pratique des affaires mondiales de l’entreprise. En 2009, après l’achat d’Anheuser Busch par InBev, il s’est établi à Saint Louis pour y diriger les affaires nord-américaines de l’entreprise.

M. Villeneuve a fait partie de nombreux conseils d’administration au cours de sa carrière, notamment ceux de la Toronto Economic Development Commission, du Palais des congrès du Toronto métropolitain, de la candidature de Toronto comme ville hôte des Jeux olympiques de 2008, du Granville Island Trust, de l’Association canadienne des annonceurs, de l’Université Carleton, du Canadian Club, de Teach for America, de Centraide et de la Regional Chamber and Growth Association de Saint Louis. M. Villeneuve est titulaire d'un B.A. l'Université Carleton en 1985.

M. Villeneuve et son épouse, Kim Walker-Villeneuve, ont deux enfants, Grace et Andrew.

Date de modification: