Phyllis Yaffe, Consul General of Canada in New York, United States

Image of Phyllis Yaffe

Message from the Consul General

I am honoured and privileged to serve as Canada’s Consul General in New York where together with the entire Consulate General team we work to further deepen and expand the Canada-U.S. relationship. Canada and the U.S. are not only neighbours, but each other’s allies and closest of friends. Our relationship is underpinned by our shared values, and advanced by the close collaboration of our governments, our business, civil society and academic communities, and most importantly, by our citizens.

The Consulate General’s area of responsibility includes the U.S. states of New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, Pennsylvania, Delaware as well as Bermuda.

On our website you will find more information on our highly integrated partnerships across a variety of areas, as well as links to the various services offered by the Consulate General, including consular assistance to Canadian citizens and information about immigration and visa requirements to travel to Canada. I invite you to explore our site and to visit it for updates and information. I also encourage you to follow us and engage with us on Twitter, Facebook and LinkedIn where you will be able to learn about the many activities and events we organise throughout the year.

I am delighted to be here and am looking forward to proudly representing Canada.

Phyllis Yaffe
Consul General

Biography

Phyllis Yaffe was announced as Canada's Consul General in New York in July 2016. She has had a distinguished career in both the private and not-for-profit sectors. Ms. Yaffe has served as chair of the board of Cineplex Entertainment, lead director of Torstar Corporation and as a member of the boards of Lionsgate Entertainment and Blue Ant Media. A former board member of Astral Media, for many years she served as a senior officer, and ultimately as chief executive officer, of Alliance Atlantis Communications Inc. At Alliance Atlantis, Ms. Yaffe oversaw worldwide operations, including Canadian specialty-television channels, international television distribution business and the popular CSI television franchise.

Ms. Yaffe is a recipient of the Order of Canada, as well as the Lifetime Achievement Award from Women in Film and Television. She was also inducted into the Canadian Association of Broadcasters’ Hall of Fame, and has served as Chair of the Board of Governors of Ryerson University, Chair of Women Against Multiple Sclerosis, Chair of the Ontario Science Centre and served on the board of the World Wildlife Fund.

Ms. Yaffe holds a Master of Library Science from the University of Toronto, a Bachelor of Library Science from the University of Alberta and a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Manitoba as well as an Honorary Doctor of Laws from the University of Manitoba, an Honorary Doctor of Literature from Mount Saint Vincent University in Halifax, and an Honorary Doctor of Laws from Ryerson University.

Date Modified:

Phyllis Yaffe, Consule général du Canada aux États-Unis à New York

Image de Phyllis Yaffe

Message de la Consule générale

Quel honneur et quel privilège de servir comme consule générale du Canada à New York où, avec l’aide de toute l’équipe du Consulat général, nous travaillons à approfondir et à étendre la relation entre le Canada et les États‑Unis. Nos deux pays sont non seulement voisins, mais également alliés et amis proches. Notre relation s’appuie sur nos valeurs communes et progresse grâce à l’étroite collaboration de nos gouvernements, à nos collectivités du milieu des affaires, de la société civile et du milieu universitaire et, plus important encore, à nos citoyens.

La responsabilité du Consulat général touche notamment les États de New York, du New Jersey, du Connecticut, de la Pennsylvanie et du Delaware, ainsi que les Bermudes.

Notre site Web offre davantage d’informations sur nos partenariats hautement intégrés dans un vaste éventail de secteurs, ainsi que des liens vers divers services offerts par le Consulat général, dont l’aide consulaire aux citoyens canadiens et de l’information sur les exigences en matière d’immigration et de visa pour voyager au Canada. Je vous invite à explorer notre site et à le visiter pour obtenir des mises à jour et des renseignements. Je vous encourage également à nous suivre et à discuter avec nous sur Twitter, Facebook et LinkedIn, où vous pourrez en apprendre plus sur les nombreux événements et activités que nous organisons pendant l’année.

Je suis heureuse d’être ici et impatiente à l’idée de représenter fièrement le Canada.

Phyllis Yaffe
Consule générale

Biographie

Phyllis Yaffe a été nommée consule générale du Canada à New York en juillet 2016. Elle a mené une brillante carrière dans le secteur privé et au sein d’organismes à but non lucratif. Mme Yaffe a présidé le conseil de Cineplex Entertainment, a été directrice principale de Torstar Corporation et membre des conseils de Lionsgate Entertainment et de Blue Ant Media. Ancienne membre du conseil d’Astral Media, elle a servi pendant de nombreuses années comme agente principale et, ultimement, comme PDG d’Alliance Atlantis Communications Inc, où elle a supervisé les opérations mondiales, y compris les chaînes spécialisées à la télévision canadienne, les activités internationales de télédistribution et les séries populaires CSI (Les Experts).

Mme Yaffe est récipiendaire de l'Ordre du Canada, ainsi que du prix pour l'ensemble de sa carrière de Women in Film and Television. Elle a également été intronisée au Temple de la renommée de l'Association canadienne des radiodiffuseurs et a été présidente du Conseil des gouverneurs de l'Université Ryerson, présidente de Women Against Multiple Sclerosis, et membre du Conseil d'administration du World Wildlife Fund.

Elle est titulaire d’une maîtrise en bibliothéconomie de l’Université de Toronto, d’un baccalauréat en bibliothéconomie de l’Université de l’Alberta, et d’un baccalauréat en arts de l’Université du Manitoba, ainsi que d’un doctorat honorifique en droit de l’Université du Manitoba, d’un doctorat honorifique en littérature de l’Université Mount Saint Vincent à Halifax, et d’un doctorat honorifique en droit de l’Université Ryerson.

Date de modification: