David MacNaughton, Ambassador of Canada to the United States

Image of David MacNaughton

Message from the Ambassador

Canada has no closer friend, partner and ally than the United States. The Canada–U.S. relationship is grounded in our shared values; our desire to build a prosperous future for citizens on both sides of the border; and our common commitment to security at home and abroad.

Our economic partnership forms the core of our relationship. This partnership is free, fair, and balanced – supporting millions of jobs on both sides of the border. Much of our economic activity is the result of working together and making things together. This collaboration has led to advances in medicine, science, and technology that help people at home and abroad live safer and more prosperous lives.

Together, we share a deep resolve to protect our continent’s natural beauty through sound environmental stewardship. We are jointly seeking innovative solutions to keep our air and waterways pristine for future generations. At the same time, Canada is the United States’ largest and most secure energy supplier. Canadian oil, natural gas, and electricity power the U.S. and support economic growth across the country.

Canadian and U.S. law enforcement work together at the border to ensure our citizens are secure. We collaborate on enforcement and share information to track known threats. At home and abroad, Canada’s military men and women serve alongside their U.S. peers, leading in the global fight against terrorism, responding to humanitarian and natural disasters, and protecting vulnerable communities from acts of aggression.

It is a privilege to serve as Canada’s representative to the United States and to work with the team at Canada’s Embassy in Washington and our Consulates General across the country to deepen what is already the world’s most successful bilateral relationship.

David MacNaughton
Ambassador of Canada

Biography

Canada’s Ambassador to the United States of America, Mr. David MacNaughton, presented his credentials to President Obama on March 3, 2016.

As a seasoned entrepreneur and political strategist, Mr. MacNaughton brings a unique set of skills and experiences to his new role as Ambassador.

In the 1980s, Mr. MacNaughton transformed the public affairs industry by building an organization that comprised government relations, public opinion research and public relations. After selling his business in 1989, Mr. MacNaughton became President of Canada’s largest government and public relations firm and subsequently North American President of the world’s largest public relations firm. From 1995 until 2003, Mr. MacNaughton was President of Strathshore Financial and was an advisor to one of Canada’s leading investment banks.

Mr. MacNaughton’s public sector experience includes work at both the federal and provincial levels, including as advisor to the Minister at the Departments of Transport, Industry and Foreign Affairs. He was principal secretary to the Premier of Ontario from 2003 to 2005 and the Chairman of StrategyCorp from 2005 until his appointment.

Active in community affairs, Mr. MacNaughton has served on the boards of the North York General Hospital, the Stratford Festival, the National Ski Academy, TV Ontario, the Toronto French School and the Toronto International Film Festival.

Mr. MacNaughton is married and has four daughters.

Date Modified:

David MacNaughton, Ambassadeur du Canada aux États-Unis

Image de David MacNaughton

Message de l'ambassadeur

Le Canada n’a pas d’ami, de partenaire ou d’allié plus proche que les États-Unis. La relation Canada‒É.-U. se fonde sur le partage de valeurs communes, sur notre désir de construire un avenir prospère pour les citoyens des deux côtés de la frontière, et sur notre engagement commun pour assurer la sécurité dans nos pays et à l’étranger.

Notre partenariat économique constitue l’essence de notre relation. Ce partenariat est libre, équitable et équilibré, et il contribue à soutenir des millions d’emplois des deux côtés de la frontière. Une grande partie de notre activité économique est le résultat du fait que nous travaillons ensemble et que nous fabriquons des choses ensemble. Cette collaboration s’est traduite par des progrès en médecine, en science et en technologie qui aident les gens au pays et à l’étranger à vivre plus en sécurité et à avoir des vies plus prospères.

Ensemble, nous avons la même profonde détermination à protéger la beauté naturelle de notre continent par une bonne gérance de l’environnement. Nous cherchons ensemble des solutions novatrices pour préserver le parfait état de notre air et de nos voies fluviales pour les générations futures. Par ailleurs, parmi les fournisseurs d’énergie des États-Unis, le Canada est le plus important et le plus fiable. Le pétrole, le gaz naturel et l’électricité du Canada alimentent les É.-U. et soutiennent la croissance économique à travers le pays.

Les forces policières du Canada et des É.-U. travaillent ensemble à la frontière pour s’assurer que nos citoyens sont en sécurité. Nous collaborons à l’application de la loi et nous nous échangeons de l’information pour surveiller les menaces connues. Au pays et à l’étranger, les hommes et les femmes des forces armées du Canada servent aux côtés de leurs homologues des É.-U., jouant ainsi un rôle de premier plan dans la lutte mondiale contre le terrorisme, faisant face aux catastrophes naturelles et pour l’humanité, et protégeant des communautés vulnérables contre des actes d’agression.

C’est un privilège d’être le représentant du Canada aux États-Unis, de travailler avec l’équipe de l’ambassade du Canada à Washington et avec celles de nos consulats généraux à travers le pays, et de le faire pour approfondir davantage la relation bilatérale qui est déjà la plus fructueuse au monde.

David MacNaughton
Ambassadeur du Canada

Biographie

M. David MacNaughton a présenté ses lettres de créance en qualité d’ambassadeur du Canada auprès des États-Unis, le 3 mars 2016.

Entrepreneur et stratège politique chevronné, M. MacNaughton apporte un ensemble unique de compétences et d’expériences à son nouveau rôle d’ambassadeur.

Dans les années 1980, M. MacNaughton a transformé l’industrie des affaires publiques en édifiant une organisation regroupant des entreprises œuvrant dans les domaines des relations gouvernementales, de la recherche sur l’opinion publique et des relations publiques. Après avoir vendu son entreprise en 1989, M. MacNaughton est devenu président-directeur général de la plus importante entreprise de relations gouvernementales et de relations publiques au Canada, et par la suite président-directeur général pour l’Amérique du Nord de la plus importante entreprise de relations publiques au monde. De 1995 à 2003, M. MacNaughton a été président de Strathshore Financial et conseiller auprès de l’une des plus importantes banques d’investissement du Canada.

L’expérience de la fonction publique de M. MacNaughton comprend du travail à la fois aux échelons fédéral et provincial, notamment comme conseiller auprès du ministre des Transports, du ministre de l’Industrie et du ministre des Affaires étrangères. Il a été secrétaire principal auprès du premier ministre de l’Ontario de 2003 à 2005, ainsi que président du conseil et chef de la direction de StrategyCorp de 2005 jusqu’à sa nomination.

M. MacNaughton est actif dans la collectivité et a siégé sur les conseils d’administration du North York General Hospital, du Stratford Festival, de la National Ski Academy, de TV Ontario, du Collège français de Toronto et du Festival international du film de Toronto.

M. MacNaughton est marié et a quatre filles.

Date de modification: