The human rights of LGBTI persons

The Government of Canada advocates for the protection and promotion of the human rights of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex (LGBTI) persons globally.

Current context

More than seventy countries criminalize same-sex conduct using laws that often date back to the colonial era. For instance, five of these countries impose the death penalty. However, even when these laws are not enforced, authorities sometimes ignore hate-motivated violence, arbitrary arrest, torture, sexual assault and even murder of LGBTI persons. This can also take place in countries where same-sex conduct is not illegal.

What Canada is doing to protect LGBTI persons internationally

Canada believes the human rights of all persons to be universal and indivisible. This includes the human rights of LGBTI persons. In order to promote and protect the rights of LGBTI persons, we:

We use bilateral and multilateral channels to:

International recognition

United Nations LGBTI initiatives

A growing number UN agencies and programs are now LGBTI-inclusive. At the forefront is the UN Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR). A summary released in 2015 lists the broad range of initiatives. The OHCHR’s LGBTI webpage includes links to UN reports and resolutions on sexual orientation and gender identity, as well as information on Vitit Muntarbhorn, Independent Expert on protection against violence and discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender identity. The OHCHR also promotes LGBTI rights through its Free and Equal program. An example of one the United Nations Development Program’s initiatives is Being LGBT in Asia. UN AIDS also examines LGBTI and health-related issues in Asia. UNESCO is has been advocating for increased awareness on homophobia and transphobia in the educational system. The World Health Organization have drawn links between sexual health and human rights.

International organizations and funds

In Washington, D.C., the World Bank has just appointed its first Advisor on Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity Issues, while the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights has appointed a Rapporteur on the Rights of LGBTI Persons. The Organization for Security Cooperation in Europe has studied hate crimes against LGBT people, and the African Commission on Human and People’s Rights voted to condemn violence on the basis of sexual orientation and gender identity. The LGBTI issues have also been raised within the Commonwealth. Some international organizations also support programming in the area of LGBTI rights, including the Global Equality Fund, the Global Philanthropy Project, and the Arcus Foundation.

Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs)

More and more Canadian NGOs are working to raise awareness and improve the lives of LGBTI persons internationally. The Dignity Initiative and Egale are working on policy and programming in this area. Fondation Émergence and Equitas, based in Montréal, also work on LGBTI human rights issues.

Related links

Date Modified:

Les droits des LGBTI

Le gouvernement du Canada est un défenseur de la protection et de la promotion des droits des lesbiennes, gais, bisexuels, transgenres et intersexués (LGBTI) du monde entier.

Contexte actuel

Plus de 70 pays criminalisent le comportement homosexuel en se servant de lois qui datent souvent de l’époque coloniale. Parmi ceux-ci, cinq pays imposent la peine de mort. Toutefois, même s’ils n’appliquent pas de telles lois, les autorités ferment parfois les yeux sur des actes de violence motivée par la haine, des arrestations arbitraires, la torture, des agressions sexuelles et même des meurtres de personnes LGBTI. Ces situations peuvent également se produire dans des pays où le comportement homosexuel n’est pas illégal.

Que fait le Canada pour protéger les LGBTI sur la scène internationale?

Le Canada estime que les droits de la personne sont universels et indivisibles, qu’ils englobent les droits des LGBTI. Pour promouvoir et protéger les droits des LGBTI, nous :

Nous avons recours aux instruments bilatéraux et multilatéraux pour :

Reconnaissance internationale

Initiatives des Nations Unies relatives aux LGBTI

Un nombre croissant d’agences et de programmes de l’ONU est désormais ouvert aux LGBTI. Le bureau du Haut-Commissariat aux Droits de l’Homme (HCDH) de l’ONU est à l’avant-garde. Un résumé publié (en anglais seulement) en 2015 présente un large éventail de ses initiatives. La page Web (en anglais uniquement) du HCDH comprend des liens vers des rapports et des résolutions de l’ONU relatives à l’orientation sexuelle et l’identité de genre ainsi que des informations sur Vitit Muntarbhorn un expert-indépendant sur la protection contre la violence et la discrimination fondées sur l’orientation sexuelle et l’identité de genre. Le HCDH assure aussi la promotion des droits des LGBTI à l’aide de son programme Libre et égaux. L’initiative intitulée Being LGBT in Asia (en anglais) constitue un exemple des initiatives de développement du Programme des Nations-Unies. ONU SIDA étudie également les questions LGBTI liées à la de santé en Asie (en anglais). L’UNESCO préconise une prise de conscience accrue de la violence homophobe et transphobe dans le système éducatif. L’Organisation Mondiale de la Santé attiré l’attention sur les liens entre la santé sexuelle et les droits de la personne.

Organisations internationales et financement

À Washington, D.C., la Banque mondiale vient de nommer le premier conseiller sur les questions d’orientation sexuelle et d’identité de genre, tandis que la Commission interaméricaine des droits de l’homme a nommé un Rapporteur des droits des personnes LGBTI (en anglais et espagnol). L’Organisation pour la sécurité et la coopération en Europe a étudié  les crimes haineux ciblant les personnes LGBTI, et la Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples a voté pour condamner la violence fondée sur l’orientation sexuelle et l’identité de genre. La question LGBTI a aussi été évoquée au sein du Commonwealth. Plusieurs organisations internationales appuient aussi des programmes en rapport avec les droits des LGBTI, dont le Fonds mondial pour l’Égalité, le Global Philanthropy Project, et Arcus Foundation.

Organisations non-gouvernementales (ONG)

De plus en plus d’ONG canadiennes travaillent à sensibiliser les gens et à améliorer la vie des personnes LGBT dans le monde entier. L'Initiative dignité et Égale travaillent actuellement à des politiques et des programmes dans ce domaine. La Fondation Émergence et Equitas, établis à Montréal, travaillent aussi sur les questions des droits des personnes LGBTI.

Liens connexes

Date de modification: