Restoring the lives of human trafficking survivors in Ukraine

The promise of a high paying job in another country can lure people into the trap of modern-day slavery and human trafficking.

Ukrainian brothers Ruslan and Ivan received support from a Canadian international development project helped them reintegrate into Ukrainian society. They have traded the walls of forced confinement for their own car wash business to provide for their families.

Young Ukrainian brothers Ivan and Ruslan took a contract abroad hoping to be able to send money home to their families. Many men in the Ukraine are forced to look for work outside their country to put food on the table.

The brothers left their small western Ukrainian town in June of 2013 for what they thought was a profitable construction job in Russia.

The realities of forced work

The circumstances on the ground were very different. As soon as Ivan and Ruslan arrived their identification and other documents were confiscated. They found themselves trapped in a fenced construction site patrolled by guards.

The men report they were threatened, humiliated and physically abused as they worked. Without documents, escape wasn’t an option.

When the construction work was finished, the workers were sent back to the Ukraine with almost no money. Ivan and Ruslan say that there was very little money left after they were charged for food and accommodation.

Support for victims

As with many victims upon their return to the Ukraine, Ivan and Ruslan felt desperate.

Then their luck changed. They turned to the local employment centre where they heard about a program offering assistance to victims of human trafficking.

Rebuilding back home with Canada’s support

The project supported by Canada, Combatting Trafficking of Children and Youth in Ukraine helped the brothers receive medical and psychological support. Restoring the self confidence and self-esteem of workers who have experienced slavery is an important step in reducing further trauma and family crises.

This project was established to provide support for human trafficking victims in Ukraine, a situation that has been on the rise since the early 1990s.

Young people in Ukraine are exploited in vast numbers

In 2014, the International Organization for Migration mission in Ukraine identified and assisted almost one thousand victims of trafficking. These victims had suffered forced labour and sexual exploitation in 13 different countries, including Ukraine. Most of the victims were younger than 35 years old.

But these victims only account for a small fraction of the young people affected. Many more have been exploited and forced into labour, begging, commercial sex or production of child pornography.

Not enough children and young people have access to the social and psychological rehabilitation they need. This type of assistance should be guaranteed to them by the Law on Combating Trafficking in Human Beings.

Canada is committed to supporting Ukraine’s efforts to fight modern day slavery

The Trafficking of Children and Youth in Ukraine project helps young victims to seek protection, health care and justice.

Project activities include:

  • improving the skills of government workers who provide victim assistance
  • raising public awareness about the consequences of human trafficking
  • creating job opportunities
  • providing rehabilitation and reintegration assistance

As for Ivan and Ruslan, Canada’s support helped to get them back on their feet.

Building a business and a better life

Together they developed a business plan for a car wash service and won a grant to start their business. Their services are in demand and they are planning to expand and offer interior car cleaning as well.

Ukraine depends on the skills of its citizens of all ages to rebuild lives. Ivan and Ruslan are a good example of how supporting the human rights of Ukrainians will help citizens engage as positive members of society.

Date Modified:

Redonner de la dignité aux survivants de la traite de personnes en Ukraine

La promesse d’un emploi bien rémunéré dans un autre pays peut être un piège menant à l’esclavage moderne et à la traite des personnes.

Ruslan et Ivan sont deux frères ukrainiens qui, grâce à un projet de développement international du Canada, ont pu réintégrer la société ukrainienne. Après avoir repris le contrôle de leur vie, à la suite d’une période de travaux forcés, ils ont ouvert une entreprise de lavage de voitures grâce à laquelle ils peuvent subvenir aux besoins de leur famille.

Deux jeunes frères ukrainiens, Ivan et Ruslan, répondent à une offre d’emploi à l’étranger qui devrait leur permettre d’envoyer de l’argent à leurs familles. Pour nourrir leur famille, bon nombre d’Ukrainiens se voient forcés de chercher du travail à l’étranger.

Sur une promesse d’un travail bien rémunéré dans le secteur de la construction, les deux frères quittent leur petite ville de l’ouest de l’Ukraine en juin 2013.

La réalité du travail forcé

Sur place, les conditions sont bien différentes. Dès leur arrivée, Ivan et Ruslan se font confisquer leurs papiers d’identité et leurs autres documents de voyage. Ils sont confinés dans un chantier de construction clôturé, patrouillé par des gardes de sécurité.

Les deux hommes sont menacés, humiliés et violentés sur le chantier. Sans documents de voyage, la fuite n’était pas une issue.

À la fin des travaux, les travailleurs sont retournés en Ukraine pratiquement sans le sou. Ivan et Ruslan affirment qu’il ne leur restait que très peu d’argent après avoir payé les frais de nourriture et d’hébergement.

Soutien aux victimes

Comme plusieurs autres victimes de retour en Ukraine, Ruslan et Ivan se sentent désabusés.

Puis leur sort change. Au centre local ils sont informés de l’existence d’un programme d’aide aux victimes de la traite de personnes.

Refaire sa vie chez soi avec l’aide du Canada

Soutenu par le Canada, le projet « Lutte contre la traite des enfants et des jeunes » en Ukraine a aidé Ruslan et Ivan à obtenir des soins médicaux et psychologiques. Aider les travailleurs qui ont connu l’esclavage à regagner estime et confiance en eux est une démarche importante pour réduire les traumatismes et prévenir les difficultés familiales.

Le projet a pour objectif de venir en aide aux victimes de la traite de personnes en Ukraine, dont le nombre ne cesse de croître depuis le début des années 1990.

Exploitation massive des jeunes en Ukraine

En 2014, la mission en Ukraine de l’Organisation internationale pour les migrations (OIM) a recensé et aidé près d’un millier de victimes de la traite de personnes. Ces dernières ont subi l’esclavage et l’exploitation sexuelle dans treize pays, y compris en Ukraine. La plupart des victimes avaient moins de 35 ans.

Ces victimes recensées ne représentent qu’une infime partie des jeunes exploités, réduits à la mendicité, à la prostitution, à l’exploitation aux fins de production de matériel pédopornographique et aux travaux forcés.

Trop peu d’enfants et de jeunes ont accès à une aide sociale et psychologique et aux services de réhabilitation, pourtant nécessaires et garantis en vertu de la loi dite Law on Combating Trafficking in Human Beings (Loi concernant la lutte contre la traite de personnes).

Le Canada s’est engagé à appuyer la lutte menée par l’Ukraine contre l’esclavage moderne

Le projet de lutte contre la traite des enfants et des jeunes en Ukraine vient en aide aux jeunes victimes en leur offrant un abri, des soins médicaux et des services juridiques.

Parmi les activités du projet figurent :

  • le renforcement des compétences des travailleurs de l’État qui assurent la prestation de services aux victimes;
  • la sensibilisation du public sur les conséquences de la traite des personnes;
  • la création d’emplois;
  • la mise sur pied de services de réhabilitation et de réinsertion sociale.

Le Canada a aidé Ivan et Ruslan à reprendre leur vie en mains.

Créer une entreprise pour améliorer son sort

Ces derniers ont élaboré un plan d’affaires pour une entreprise de lavage de voitures et obtenu une subvention pour démarrer leur entreprise. Leurs services sont tellement populaires qu’ils envisagent d’en élargir la gamme pour offrir le service de nettoyage intérieur des véhicules.

Pour se reconstruire, l’Ukraine doit compter sur les compétences de ses citoyens de tout âge. Le cas de Ruslan et d’Ivan témoigne de la capacité des efforts de protection des droits de la personne à transformer les Ukrainiens en membres actifs de la société civile.

Date de modification: