Benefits of the CPTPP for Manitoba

The Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) is a trading block that represents 495 million people with a combined gross domestic product of CAD $13.5 trillion – a full 13.5% of global GDP.  Through the CPTPP, Canada will soon have preferential access to half a billion consumers in the world’s most dynamic and fast-growing market – a move that will strengthen Canadian businesses, grow the economy, and create more well-paying jobs for middle class Canadians.

Main advantages for Manitoba

Manitoba – Asia-Pacific trade snapshot

Top Manitoba Merchandise Exports to CPTPP Markets (2015-2017 average)

Pie chart of Manitoba’s top exports to CPTPP countries (2015-2017 average)
Text version

Top Manitoba Merchandise Exports to CPTPP Markets (2015-2017 average)

  • Total: $1,436,769,635
  • Agricultural Goods: $1,175,989,615
  • Industrial Machinery: $82,209,619
  • Aerospace: $54,370,205
  • Metals and Minerals: $44,479,652
  • Forestry: $23,926,035
  • Chemicals and Plastics: $14,826,517

Opening new markets for exports from Manitoba to Asia-Pacific countries

The elimination of tariffs will help make exports from Manitoba exports more price-competitive in CPTPP markets. Examples of Manitoba products that will benefit from improved access include the following:

Agricultural and agri-food products

Pork

  • In Japan, tariffs of up to 20% on pork products, including sausages, which are subject to the gate price system, will be eliminated within 10 years.
  • In Vietnam, tariffs of up to 27% on fresh, chilled and frozen pork will be eliminated within nine years.

Canola seed and canola oil

  • While canola seed already enters Japan duty-free, tariffs of up to 13.20 yen/kilogram (kg) on canola oil will be eliminated within five years.
  • In Vietnam, tariffs of 5% on canola seed will be eliminated upon the Agreement’s entry into force, while tariffs of up to 20% on canola oil will be eliminated within seven years.

Wheat

  • In Japan, Canada will have access to a country-specific quota for food wheat that starts at 40,000 tonnes and will increase to 53,000 tonnes within six years. Mark-ups within this country-specific quota will be reduced by 45% or 50%.
  • In Vietnam, tariffs of up to 5% on all wheat products will be eliminated upon the Agreement’s entry into force.

Malt

  • In Japan, a duty-free Canadian-specific quota of 89,000 tonnes will be available upon the Agreement’s entry into force and will provide greater certainty for Canadian exporters.
  • In Vietnam, tariffs of 5% on malt will be eliminated within three years.

Frozen french fries

  • In Japan, tariffs of up to 8.5% will be eliminated within three years.
  • In Vietnam, tariffs of 24% will be eliminated within three years.
  • In Australia, tariffs of 5% will be eliminated upon the Agreement’s entry into force.
  • In New Zealand, tariffs of 5% will be eliminated upon the Agreement’s entry into force.
Aerospace products

Aerospace

  • In Australia, tariffs of up to 5% will be eliminated upon the Agreement’s entry into force.
  • In New Zealand, tariffs of up to 5% will be eliminated upon the Agreement’s entry into force.
Metals and minerals products

Nickel

  • In Japan, tariffs of up to 11.7% or 44 yen/kg, whichever is less, will be eliminated within 10 years.
Fish and seafood products

Frozen freshwater fish fillets

  • In Japan, tariffs of up to 3.5% on frozen perch and whitefish fillets will be eliminated upon the Agreement’s entry into force.
  • In Vietnam, tariffs of 18% will be eliminated upon the Agreement’s entry into force.

Opening new markets for exports of services from Manitoba to Asia-Pacific countries

The CPTPP provides Manitoba’s services suppliers with greater predictability and enhanced market access across a broad range of sectors, including:

Manitoba enterprises that engage in electronic commerce as a means of trade will benefit from trade rules such as the prohibition on applying customs duties to content transmitted electronically, and ensuring the protection of online personal information.

Improving temporary entry for business people

The CPTPP will improve labour mobility for highly- skilled business persons, making it easier for professionals from Manitoba to provide expertise in CPTPP markets. In particular, the CPTPP facilitates the temporary entry of Canadian business visitors, intra-corporate transferees, investors, highly-skilled professionals, technicians, as well as the spouses of some of these Canadian business persons—contributing to greater certainty and predictability for prospective business entrants.

Reducing non-tariff barriers

The CPTPP includes enforceable provisions to help secure market access gains for Canadian exporters so that exporters are not undermined by unnecessary measures that restrict trade, such as technical barriers to trade or sanitary and phytosanitary measures. As a result, the CPTPP will create a more predictable trading environment for Canadian exporters, without compromising the ability of the government to protect the health and safety of Canadians or safeguard animal and plant health.   

Expanding access to government procurement

The CPTPP establishes clear rules to ensure that Canadian suppliers of goods, services and construction services have access to open, fair and transparent processes when bidding for procurement contracts in CPTPP countries. The Agreement expands government procurement commitments with existing free trade agreement partners, including Chile and Peru, and secures new access to procurement opportunities in Australia, Brunei, Malaysia and Vietnam.

Facilitating two-way investment between Manitoba and the Asia-Pacific region

The CPTPP’s investment rules will provide greater stability and protection for investors, while preserving the rights of federal, provincial and territorial governments to legislate and regulate in the public interest. In areas such as energy, mining, manufacturing, financial services and professional services, Canadian investors will enjoy transparent and predictable access to CPTPP markets. Strong rules will ensure that investors from Canada are treated in a fair, equitable and non-discriminatory manner, allowing them to compete on an equal footing with other investors in CPTPP countries. Canadian investors will also have access to a fair and transparent investor-state dispute settlement mechanism.

Date Modified:

Avantages du PTPGP pour le Manitoba

L'Accord de Partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste (PTPGP) est un bloc commercial comptant 495 millions de personnes et dont le produit intérieur brut combiné est de 13,5 mille milliards de dollars canadiens, soit 13,5 % du PIB mondial. Grâce au PTPGP, le Canada aura bientôt un accès préférentiel à un demi-milliard de consommateurs dans le marché le plus dynamique et à la croissance la plus rapide au monde. L’adhésion au PTPGP renforcera les entreprises canadiennes, stimulera l'économie et créera davantage d'emplois bien rémunérés pour les Canadiens de la classe moyenne.

Principaux avantages pour le Manitoba

Aperçu du commerce entre le Manitoba et la région de l’Asie-Pacifique

Principales exportations de marchandises du Manitoba vers les pays du PTPGP (moyenne de 2015-2017)

Diagramme à secteurs montrant les principales exportations du Manitoba vers les pays du PTPGP (moyenne de 2015 à 2017)
Version texte

Principales exportations de marchandises du Manitoba vers les pays du PTPGP (moyenne de 2015-2017)

  • Total : 1 436 769 635 $
  • Produits agricoles : 1 175 989 615 $
  • Machines industrielles : 82 209 619 $
  • Aérospatiale : 54 370 205 $
  • Métaux et minéraux : 44 479 652 $
  • Produits forestiers : 23 926 035 $
  • Produits chimiques et plastiques : 14 826 517 $

Nouveaux débouchés dans la région de l’Asie-Pacifique pour les produits du Manitoba

Grâce à l’élimination des droits de douane, les exportations du Manitoba vers les pays du PTPGP deviendront plus concurrentielles. Voici des exemples de produits du Manitoba qui bénéficieront d’un meilleur accès :

Produits agricoles et agroalimentaires

Porc :

  • Au Japon, des droits de douane pouvant atteindre jusqu’à 20 % sur les produits du porc (y compris les saucisses) lesquels sont assujettis au régime de prix-seuil, seront éliminés d’ici dix ans.
  • Au Vietnam, des droits de douane pouvant atteindre jusqu’à 27 % sur le porc frais, réfrigéré ou congelé seront éliminés d’ici neuf ans.

Graines de canola et huile de canola :

  • Les graines de canola sont déjà admises au Japon en franchise de droits, et d’ici cinq ans, les droits pouvant atteindre jusqu’à 13,20 yens par kilo  sur l’huile de canola seront éliminés.
  • Au Vietnam, des droits de 5 % sur les graines de canola seront éliminés dès l’entrée en vigueur du Partenariat, alors que des droits pouvant atteindre jusqu’à 20 % sur l’huile de canola seront éliminés d’ici sept ans.

Blé :

  • Au Japon, le Canada bénéficiera d’un contingent tarifaire paticulier pour le blé alimentaire, qui passera graduellement de 40 000 tonnes à 53 000 tonnes d’ici six ans. Les majorations associées à ce contingent seront réduites de 45% ou de 50 %.
  • Au Vietnam, des droits  pouvant atteindre jusqu’à 5 % sur tous les produits du blé seront éliminés dès l’entrée en vigueur de l’accord.

Malt :

  • Au Japon, le Canada bénéficiera d’un contingent tarifaire en franchise de droits d’environ 89 000 tonnes dès l’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord, ce qui procurera plus de certitude aux exportateurs canadiens.
  • Au Vietnam, des droits de 5 % sur le malt seront éliminés d’ici trois ans.

Frites surgelées :

  • Au Japon, des droits pouvant atteindre jusqu’à 8,5 % seront éliminés d’ici 3 ans.
  • Au Vietnam, des droits de 24 % seront éliminés d’ici 3 ans.
  • En Australie, des droits de 5 % seront éliminés dès l’entrée en vigueur du Partenariat.
  • En Nouvelle-Zélande, des droits de 5 % seront éliminés dès l’entrée en vigueur du Partenariat.
Produits aérospatiaux

Aérospatiale : 

  • En Australie, des droits pouvant atteindre jusqu’à 5 % seront éliminés dès l’entrée en vigueur du Partenariat.
  • En Nouvelle-Zélande, des droits pouvant atteindre jusqu’à 5 % seront éliminés dès l’entrée en vigueur du Partenariat.
Métaux et produits minéraux

Nickel :

  • Au Japon, des droits pouvant atteindre jusqu’à 11,7 % ou 44 yens par kilo  (suivant le moins élevé) seront éliminés d’ici dix ans.
Poisson et fruits de mer

Filets de poisson d’eau douce congelés :

  • Au Japon, des droits pouvant atteindre jusqu’à 3,5 % sur les filets de sandre ou de corégone congelés seront éliminés dès l’entrée en vigueur du Partenariat.
  • Au Vietnam, des droits de 18 % seront éliminés dès l’entrée en vigueur du Partenariat.

Nouveaux débouchés dans la région de l’Asie-Pacifique pour les services du Manitoba

Le PTPGP offre aux fournisseurs de services du Manitoba une prévisibilité accrue et un meilleur accès aux marchés dans un vaste éventail de secteurs, notamment :

Les entreprises du Manitoba qui font du commerce électronique profiteront d’une meilleure gouvernance du commerce électronique comme outil d’échange, notamment l’interdiction d’imposer des droits de douane sur le contenu transmis par voie électronique ou la protection des renseignements personnels en ligne.

Amélioration au chapitre de l’admission temporaire des gens d’affaires

Le PTPGP contribuera à améliorer la mobilité des gens d’affaires hautement qualifiés, facilitant ainsi la tâche des professionnels du Manitoba qui souhaitent offrir leur expertise dans les pays du PTPGP. Plus précisément, le PTPGP facilitera l’admission temporaire de gens d’affaires, d’employés mutés au sein d’une entreprise, d’investisseurs, de professionnels et de techniciens hautement qualifiés, ainsi que des conjoints et conjointes de certains de ces Canadiens. Cela procurera plus de certitude et de prévisibilité aux personnes souhaitant se rendre dans les pays du PTPGP pour y faire des affaires.

Réduction des obstacles non tarifaires

Le PTPGP comprend des dispositions exécutoires visant à maintenir l’accès aux marchés accordé aux exportateurs canadiens, afin que cet accès ne soit pas entravé par des mesures qui limitent inutilement le commerce, notamment par des obstacles techniques au commerce ou des mesures sanitaires et phytosanitaires. Le PTPGP aura donc pour effet d’établir un environnement commercial plus prévisible pour les exportateurs canadiens, sans compromettre la capacité du gouvernement du Canada de protéger la santé et la sécurité des Canadiens ainsi que la santé et la sécurité des animaux ou des plantes. 

Accès accru aux marchés publics

Le PTPGP établit des règles claires pour permettre aux fournisseurs canadiens de biens, de services et de services de construction de bénéficier de processus ouverts, équitables et transparents lorsqu’ils soumissionnent à un marché public dans les pays du PTPGP. L’Accord permet d’élargir la portée des engagements en matière de marchés publics avec les partenaires qui sont déjà parties à un accord de libre-échange, y compris le Chili et le Pérou, et procurera au Canada de nouvelles possibilités en matière de marchés publics en Australie, à Brunéi, en Malaisie et au Vietnam.

Facilitation des investissements bilatéraux entre le Manitoba et la région de l’Asie-Pacifique

Les règles d’investissement prévues dans le PTPGP procureront aux investisseurs une stabilité et une protection accrues, tout en préservant le droit des gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux d’adopter des lois et des règlements dans l’intérêt public. Dans des secteurs comme ceux de l’énergie, de l’exploitation minière, de la fabrication, des services financiers et des services professionnels, les investisseurs canadiens jouiront d’un accès transparent et prévisible aux marchés du PTPGP. Grâce à l’application de règles rigoureuses, les investisseurs du Canada seront traités de manière juste, équitable et non discriminatoire, ce qui leur permettra de concurrencer sur un pied d’égalité avec d’autres investisseurs dans les pays du PTPGP. Les investisseurs canadiens auront également accès à un mécanisme juste et transparent en matière de règlement des différends entre investisseurs et États.

Date de modification: