United States-Mexico-Canada Agreement (USMCA)

North American Free Trade Agreement banner

A new United States-Mexico-Canada Agreement

On September 30, 2018, the United States, Mexico and Canada announced the completion of negotiations toward a new United States-Mexico-Canada Agreement (USMCA). The outcomes preserve key elements of this trading relationship and incorporate new and updated provisions that seek to address 21st-century trade issues and promote opportunities for the nearly half a billion people who call North America home.

In 1994, the United States, Mexico and Canada created the largest free trade region in the world with the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA), generating economic growth and helping to raise the standard of living for the people of all three member countries. By strengthening the rules and procedures governing trade and investment, this agreement has proved to be a solid foundation for building Canada’s prosperity and has set a valuable example of the benefits of trade liberalization for the rest of the world. The new United States-Mexico-Canada Agreement will serve to reinforce Canada’s strong economic ties with the United States and Mexico.

  • Read the posted text of the agreement
    This link is to an external website and the text is available in English only at this time. The posted text will be subject to further refinement, technical corrections and legal review, a process that will also involve formatting. Efforts are underway to provide a French version of the text as soon as possible.

Highlights

  • Since 1994, NAFTA has generated economic growth and rising standards of living for the people of all three member countries.
  • In 2017, total trilateral merchandise trade (the total of each country’s imports from one another) reached nearly US$1.1 trillion.
  • Total merchandise trade between Canada and the United States has more than doubled since 1993, and has grown over nine-fold between Canada and Mexico.

News

More news...


The agreement

Agreement fact sheets


Resources

Background


While agreement has been reached on a new United States-Mexico-Canada Agreement, the original agreement still remains in force. The information below is specific to NAFTA, the agreement currently in force.

Economic growth & prosperity

How NAFTA has generated economic growth and rising standards of living for the people of all three member countries.

Investment

How NAFTA contributes to enhancing Canada’s attractiveness to foreign investors.

Multilateral agreements

Summary of Multilateral Agreements between Canada, Mexico and the United States.

History

A history of NAFTA.

Contact point

If you have questions or comments about this free trade agreement or the environmental and labour cooperation agreements, we would like to hear from you. Please contact Global Affairs Canada at the following address:

Trade Negotiations – North America Division (TNP)
Global Affairs Canada
John G. Diefenbaker Building
111 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario, K1N 1J1
Fax: 613-944-3214
Email: re-enquiries-demandes.NAFTA@international.gc.ca

Economic growth & prosperity

  • Since 1994, NAFTA has generated economic growth and rising standards of living for the people of all three member countries. By strengthening the rules and procedures governing trade and investment throughout the continent, NAFTA has proven to be a solid foundation for building Canada’s future prosperity.
  • NAFTA has had an overwhelmingly positive effect on the Canadian economy. It has opened up new export opportunities, acted as a stimulus to build internationally competitive businesses, and helped attract significant foreign investment.
  • By any measure the NAFTA has been a success by serving as a basis to grow both trilateral and bilateral North American relationships and the results speak for themselves. This integration helps maximize our capabilities and make our economies more innovative and competitive.
  • In 2016, total trilateral merchandise trade, as measured by the total of each country’s imports from its other two NAFTA partners, amounted to nearly USD $1.0 trillion – more than a threefold increase since 1993. In 2016, NAFTA partners represented 28% of the world’s gross domestic product (GDP) with just less than 7% of the world’s population. Since the implementation of NAFTA, the North American economy has expanded, with the combined GDP for Canada, the U.S. and Mexico reaching USD $21.1 trillion in 2016.
  • Cooperation through the NAFTA has created a North America where Canadian, American and Mexican companies do more than make and sell things to each other, now, our companies increasingly make things together.

Investment

  • The NAFTA’s provisions ensure greater certainty and stability for investment decisions by guaranteeing fair, transparent and non–discriminatory treatment of investors and their investments throughout the free trade area.
  • The NAFTA has contributed to enhancing Canada’s attractiveness to foreign investors while providing more opportunities for Canadians to invest in NAFTA partners’ economies. Investment is a key pillar of economic growth. At the end of 2016, the stock of investment in Canada from our NAFTA partners was $CA393.8 billion (CA$392.1 billion from the U.S. and CA$1.7 billion from Mexico), while Canada had invested CA$491.2 billion in our two NAFTA partners (CA$474.4 billion in the U.S. and CA$16.8 billion in Mexico).
  • Canada and the U.S. have one of the world’s largest investment relationships with a bilateral investment stock totalling more than CA$866.4 billion in 2016, according to Canadian statistics.
  • The stock of Canadian direct investment in Mexico has increased dramatically since NAFTA entered into force, reaching nearly CA$16.8 billion in 2016, up from only CA$530 million in 1993.

Summary of Multilateral Agreements between Canada, Mexico and the United States

The North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA)

The North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA), signed by Prime Minister Brian Mulroney, Mexican President Carlos Salinas, and U.S. President George H.W. Bush, came into effect on January 1, 1994. NAFTA has generated economic growth and rising standards of living for the people of all three member countries. By strengthening the rules and procedures governing trade and investment throughout the continent, NAFTA has proved to be a solid foundation for building Canada’s prosperity.
The NAFTA superseded the Canada-U.S. Free Trade Agreements (CUFTA).  Negotiations towards the CUFTA began in 1986 and the agreement was in force by January 1, 1989.  The two nations agreed to a historic agreement that placed Canada and the United States at the forefront of trade liberalization. For more information, please see the information page on the Canada-US Free Trade Agreement.

North American Agreement on Labour Cooperation

The North American Agreement on Labour Cooperation (NAALC) came into effect in January 1994. It is one of two parallel accords to the North American Free Trade Agreement between the United States, Canada, and Mexico. The Agreement is administered by the Commission for Labour Cooperation, which consists of a Council of Ministers and a tri-national Secretariat, based in Washington D.C. Currently four provinces (Quebec, Alberta, Manitoba and Prince Edwards Island) are signatories to the NAALC through an Intergovernmental Agreement.
The Commission works in close cooperation with the National Administrative Offices (NAOs) established in each country to implement the Agreement and serve as the national point of contact. In Canada, the Office for Inter-American Labour Cooperation within the Labour Branch of Human Resources and Skills Development Canada acts as the Canadian NAO. The Canadian NAO also provides for the submission and receipt of public communications (complaints) on labour law matters arising in the territory of another Party and serves as the official review agency in Canada.

The text of the North American Agreement on Labour Co-operation is available on The Commission for Labour Cooperation’s website.

North American Agreement on Environmental Cooperation

The second parallel accord is the North American Agreement on Environmental Cooperation (NAAEC), which established the Commission on Environmental Cooperation (CEC) in 1994. The CEC is mandated to enhance regional environmental cooperation, reduce potential trade and environmental conflicts and promote the effective enforcement of environmental law. It also facilitates cooperation and public participation in efforts to foster conservation, protection and enhancement of the North American environment. It consists of three principal components: the Council (Environment Ministers), the Joint Public Advisory Committee (JPAC) and Secretariat, headquartered in Montreal.  It has an annual budget of US$9 million, with Canada, Mexico and U.S. contributing US$3 million per year, and is governed by consensus (not majority).

The text of the North American Agreement on Environmental Co-operation is available on the CEC website.

History

  • The North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA), signed by Prime Minister Brian Mulroney, Mexican President Carlos Salinas, and U.S. President George H.W. Bush, came into effect on January 1, 1994.
  • The NAFTA was built on the success of the Canada-U.S. Free Trade Agreement and provided a complement to Canada’s efforts through the WTO agreements by making deeper commitments in some key areas.
  • With the coming into force of the NAFTA, the world's largest free trade area was formed. The Agreement has brought economic growth and rising standards of living for people in all three countries.
  • The NAFTA, being the first comprehensive trade agreement of its type, has set a valuable example of the benefits of trade liberalization for the rest of the world.
  • In the event of a dispute, the NAFTA directs the governments concerned to seek to resolve their differences amicably through the NAFTA’s Committees and Working Groups or other consultations. If no mutually acceptable solution is found, the NAFTA provides for dispute settlement procedures. One of the principle elements of the NAFTA is the establishment of a clear set of rules for dealing with the settlement of disputes. The NAFTA was the first agreement to afford cross-border investors an impartial legal tribunal to address differences.
  • Under the NAFTA, tariffs on all covered goods traded between Canada and Mexico were eliminated in 2008. Tariffs on covered goods traded between Canada and the United States became duty free on January 1, 1989, in accordance with the CUSFTA which was carried forward under NAFTA.
Date Modified:

L'Accord États-Unis-Mexique-Canada (AEUMC)

L'Accord États-Unis-Mexique-Canada (AEUMC) bannière

Un nouvel Accord États-Unis–Mexique–Canada


Le 30 septembre 2018, les États-Unis, le Mexique et le Canada ont annoncé l'achèvement des négociations en vue d’un nouvel Accord États-Unis–Mexique–Canada (AEUMC). Ces négociations ont permis de conserver les éléments clés de cette relation commerciale, ainsi que d’incorporer des dispositions nouvelles et mises à jour visant à résoudre les enjeux commerciaux du 21e siècle et à promouvoir les débouchés pour le près d’un demi-milliard de gens qui vivent en Amérique du Nord.

En 1994, les États-Unis, le Mexique et le Canada ont créé la plus grande région de libre-échange au monde au moyen de l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALENA), qui a donné lieu à une croissance économique et a contribué à élever le niveau de vie de la population des trois pays membres. En renforçant les règles et les procédures régissant le commerce et l’investissement, cet accord s’est révélé être une base solide pour bâtir la prospérité au Canada, en plus d’être un exemple précieux des avantages que présente la libéralisation du commerce pour le reste du monde. Le nouvel Accord États-Unis–Mexique–Canada servira à renforcer les liens économiques déjà solides entre le Canada, les États-Unis et le Mexique.

  • Lire le texte publié de l’accord
    Ce lien mène vers un site Web externe et le texte n’est disponible qu’en anglais pour le moment. Le texte publié fera l'objet d’améliorations, de corrections techniques et d'une révision juridique, un processus qui nécessitera également une mise en forme. Nous nous efforçons de fournir une version française du texte dès que possible.

Points saillants

  • Depuis 1994, l'ALENA contribue à la croissance économique et à la hausse du niveau de vie de la population des trois pays membres.
  • En 2017, la valeur du commerce trilatéral de marchandises, telle que mesurée par les importations totales de chacun des pays à partir des autres partenaires, s’élevait à plus de 1 100 milliards $US.
  • Le commerce de marchandises entre le Canada et les États-Unis a plus que doublé depuis 1993, et est maintenant neuf fois plus élevé entre le Canada et le Mexique.

Nouvelles

Plus de nouvelles...


L’Accord

Fiches d'information de l'accord


Ressources

À propos de l’ALÉNA


Bien qu'un accord ait été conclu concernant un nouvel Accord États-Unis–Mexique–Canada, l'accord initial reste toujours en vigueur. Les informations ci-dessous sont propres à l’ALENA, l'accord présentement en vigueur.

La croissance économique et la prospérité

Comment l'ALÉNA contribue à la croissance économique et à la hausse du niveau de vie de la population des trois pays membres.

Investissement

Comment l'ALÉNA contribue à accroître l'attrait du Canada aux yeux des investisseurs étrangers.

Accords multilatéraux

Aperçu des accords multilatéraux entre le Canada, le Mexique et les États-Unis.

Historique

L’histoire de l'ALÉNA.

Point de contact

Nous vous invitons à nous faire part de vos questions ou de vos commentaires au sujet de cet accord de libre-échange et des accords sur la coopération dans le domaine du travail ou sur l’environnement. Pour ce faire, veuillez communiquer avec Affaires mondiales Canada aux coordonnées suivantes :

Direction des Négociations commerciales – Amérique du Nord
Affaires mondiales Canada
John G. Diefenbaker Building
111 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario, K1N 1J1
Téléc. : 613-944-3214
Courriel : re-enquiries-demandes.NAFTA@international.gc.ca

La croissance économique et la prospérité

  • Depuis 1994, l'ALENA contribue à la croissance économique et à la hausse du niveau de vie de la population des trois pays membres. En renforçant les règles et procédures régissant le commerce et l'investissement d'un bout à l'autre du continent, l'ALENA s’est avéré une base solide pour promouvoir la prospérité du Canada.
  • L’ALENA a eu des répercussions extrêmement positives sur l’économie canadienne. Il a offert de nouvelles possibilités d’exportation, stimulé l’établissement d’entreprises concurrentielles à l’échelle internationale et aidé à attirer d’importants investisseurs étrangers.
  • L’ALENA a été une réussite sur tous les plans, en servant notamment de base au renforcement des relations bilatérales et trilatérales en Amérique du Nord, et les résultats sont à cet égard éloquents. L'intégration aide à maximiser nos capacités et à augmenter l'innovation et la compétitivité de nos économies.
  • En 2016, la valeur du commerce trilatéral de marchandises, tel que mesuré par les importations totales de chacun des pays à partir de ses deux autres partenaires de l’ALENA, s’élevait à plus de 1 000 milliards $US – soit plus du triple depuis 1993. En 2016, les partenaires de l’ALENA représentaient 28% du produit intérieur brut (PIB) mondial, avec moins de 7% de la population mondiale. Depuis la mise en œuvre de l’ALENA, l’économie nord-américaine a augmenté, avec un PIB combiné du Canada, des États-Unis et du Mexique, s’élevant à 21 100 milliards $US en 2016.
  • La coopération dans le cadre de l'ALENA a permis de façonner une Amérique du Nord où les entreprises canadiennes, américaines et mexicaines font davantage que fabriquer et vendre des produits entre elles : nos entreprises produisent de plus en plus ensemble.

Investissement

  • Les dispositions de l’ALENA assurent une plus grande certitude et une plus grande stabilité en matière de décisions d’investissement en accordant un traitement juste, transparent et non discriminatoire aux investisseurs et à leurs investissements dans toute la zone de libre-échange.
  • L’ALENA a contribué à accroître l'attrait du Canada aux yeux des investisseurs étrangers, tout en offrant davantage de possibilités aux Canadiens d’investir dans les économies partenaires de l’ALENA. L’investissement est un pilier de la croissance économique. En 2016, le stock d’investissement au Canada en provenance des États-Unis se chiffrait à 393,8 milliards $CA (392,1 milliards $CA des États-Unis et 1,7 milliard $CA du Mexique), tandis que les investissements du Canada dans ses pays partenaires de l’ALENA totalisaient 491,2 milliards $CA (474,4 milliards $CA aux États-Unis et 16,8 milliards $CA au Mexique).
  • Le Canada et les États-Unis entretiennent l’une des plus importantes relations d’investissement du monde; leur stock d’investissement bilatéral a atteint près de 866,4 milliards $CA en 2016, selon les statistiques canadiennes.
  • Le stock d'investissement direct du Canada au Mexique a aussi connu une croissance spectaculaire depuis l'entrée en vigueur de l'ALENA : de seulement 530 millions $CA en 1993, il a bondi à 16,8 milliards $CA en 2016.

Aperçu des accords multilatéraux entre le Canada, le Mexique et les États-Unis

L’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALENA)

L’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALENA), signé par le premier ministre Brian Mulroney, le président du Mexique Carlos Salinas et le président des États-Unis George H.W. Bush, est entré en vigueur le 1er janvier 1994. L’ALENA est à l’origine de la croissance économique et de la hausse du niveau de vie de la population des trois pays membres. En renforçant les règles et procédures régissant le commerce et l'investissement d'un bout à l'autre du continent, l'ALENA s'avère une base solide pour bâtir la prospérité du Canada.

L'ALENA a remplacé l’Accord de libre-échange (ALE) Canada-États-Unis. Les négociations en vue de cet ALE ont commencé en 1986, et l’Accord est entré en vigueur le 1er janvier 1989. La conclusion de cet accord historique a placé le Canada et les États-Unis à l’avant-garde de la libéralisation du commerce.Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter la page d'information au sujet de l'ALE Canada-États-Unis.

Accord nord-américain de coopération dans le domaine du travail

L’Accord nord-américain de coopération dans le domaine du travail (ANACT) est entré en vigueur en janvier 1994. Il s’agit de l'un des deux accords parallèles liés à l’ALENA entre les États-Unis, le Canada et le Mexique. L’ANACT est administré par la Commission de coopération dans le domaine du travail, qui est composée d’un conseil des ministres et d’un secrétariat trinational établi à Washington (DC). À l’heure actuelle, quatre provinces (Québec, Alberta, Manitoba et Île-du-Prince-Édouard) sont signataires de l’ANACT dans le cadre d’un accord intergouvernemental.

La Commission collabore étroitement avec les bureaux administratifs nationaux (BAN) établis dans chacun des trois pays pour mettre en œuvre l’Accord et servir de point de contact national. Le BAN du Canada est le Bureau de coopération interaméricaine dans le domaine du travail au sein de la Direction générale du travail de Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada. Le BAN du Canada prend les mesures nécessaires pour assurer la présentation et l’acceptation de communications du public (plaintes) sur des questions relatives au droit du travail se posant sur le territoire d’une autre Partie, et il agit à titre d’organisme officiel d’examen au Canada.

Le texte de l’Accord nord-américain de coopération dans le domaine du travail se trouve sur le site Web de la Commission de coopération dans le domaine du travail.

Accord nord-américain de coopération dans le domaine de l’environnement

Le second accord parallèle est l’Accord nord-américain de coopération dans le domaine de l'environnement (ANACDE), dans le cadre duquel a été établie la Commission de coopération environnementale (CCE) en 1994. La CCE a pour mandat d’accroître la coopération environnementale à l’échelle de la région, de contribuer à la prévention des différends commerciaux et environnementaux et de promouvoir l'application efficace des lois de l'environnement. En outre, elle facilite la collaboration et la participation du public en vue de promouvoir la conservation, la protection et l'amélioration de l'environnement nord-américain. Elle comporte trois composantes principales : le Conseil (ministres de l’Environnement), le Comité consultatif public mixte (CCPM) et le Secrétariat, dont le siège est à Montréal. Elle dispose d’un budget annuel de 9 millions de dollars américains, chaque pays membre y contribuant 3 millions de dollars américains tous les ans. Elle est régie par consensus (et non à la majorité).

Le texte de l’Accord nord-américain de coopération dans le domaine de l'environnement se trouve sur le site Web de la CCE.

Historique

  • L’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALENA), signé par le premier ministre Brian Mulroney, le président du Mexique Carlos Salinas et le président des États-Unis George H.W. Bush, est entré en vigueur le 1er janvier 1994.
  • L’ALENA a tiré parti du succès de l’Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et les États-Unis (ALECEU) et complété les efforts déployés par le Canada dans le cadre des accords de l’OMC en renforçant ses engagements dans certains secteurs clés.
  • L’entrée en vigueur de l’ALENA a donné lieu à la formation de la plus grande zone de libre-échange au monde. L’ALENA a permis de stimuler la croissance économique de chacun des trois pays et d’accroître le niveau de vie de leur population.
  • L’ALENA, le premier accord commercial global en son genre, a donné un bel exemple des avantages de la libéralisation du commerce pour le reste du monde.
  • En cas de différend, les gouvernements concernés sont tenus, aux termes de l’ALENA, de le régler à l’amiable par l’intermédiaire des comités et des groupes de travail de l’ALENA ou d’autres mécanismes de consultation. Si aucune solution mutuellement acceptable n’est trouvée, l’ALENA prévoit des procédures de règlement des différends. L’un des éléments principaux de l’ALENA est l’établissement d’une série de règles claires en matière de règlement des différends. L’ALENA a été le premier accord à permettre aux investisseurs transfrontaliers de recourir à des tribunaux impartiaux pour régler les différends.
  • En vertu de l’ALENA, les droits de douane sur les marchandises admissibles entre le Canada et le Mexique ont été complètement éliminés en 2008. Les droits de douane sur les marchandises admissibles entre le Canada et les États-Unis ont été éliminés le 1er janvier 1989, conformément à l’ALECEU, dont les dispositions ont été conservées dans l’ALENA.
Date de modification: