#FemParl IV: Inspiring action from the Middle East to South and Southeast Asia!

Women leaders are building a more equal future, from Cairo to Beirut to Delhi!


2019: Engage. Empower

Back for its fourth annual year, #FemParl is bigger than ever, spanning two regions, three countries and seven days!

Young female parliamentarians and women leaders from across the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) will gather in Cairo for two days of workshops and discussions focused on communications, women in governance and inclusive economic growth. The delegates will then travel to Beirut for another two days that will focus on women’s empowerment and gender equality, as well as women’s role in peace and security.

After a week in the Middle East and North Africa, #FemParl returns to Delhi to empower women leaders from across South and Southeast Asia to challenge social norms, overcome traditional barriers and influence decision makers in business and politics.


Why now?

Delegates from #FemParl II in Colombo, Sri Lanka

In many countries across the Middle East and North Africa, including Egypt, Algeria, Tunisia, Jordan and Morocco, the current percentages of female representation in parliament are the highest in their histories. Although there is a long tradition of women’s movements in many countries in the MENA region, there has been a greater focus on women’s empowerment and political engagement in recent years. All across the region, we are seeing the emergence of a new generation of young, dynamic female leaders taking a greater role in the political sphere. #FemParl MENA aims to strengthen and build on the existing skills of participants to actively contribute to and lead inclusive political decision-making and policy development at the national, regional and international levels.

Women in South and Southeast Asia face strict patriarchal values and social norms. A widely held preference for sons means that discriminatory practices begin even before birth. They affect every aspect of a girl’s future from education to health to marriage and beyond.

Fewer than 20% of parliamentarians in South Asia are women according to UN Women, limiting their role in decision-making and leadership. While some progress has been made in the areas of education and life expectancy, South Asia has one of the worst gender gaps in the world, ranked 7th out of 8 regions by the World Economic Forum.


Safaath Ahmed, founder of the youth-led organization Women & Democracy, met with Shamshad Akhtar of the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific during #FemParl III.

#FemParl: A new approach

In 2016 Canadian embassies and high commissions did something different, they created #FemParl.

Recognizing the need to encourage and empower young women to be leaders in the political sphere, and drive positive change for women’s health, education and economic opportunities, they designed a multi-day event.

#FemParl brings together passionate female leaders from across a region to learn, network and be inspired to create a more gender equal world. From leadership skills to effective advocacy tactics to networking with local diplomats, non-profit organizations and United Nations officials, #FemParl is an opportunity for women to learn new skills and build their professional network.

Empowering women and girls is key to building a more peaceful, inclusive and prosperous world. That’s why it’s at the core of Canada’s Feminist International Assistance Policy, and all of Canada’s work abroad.


Making an impact

Since its start in 2016, #FemParl has become a recognized name for empowering women and encouraging participation and leadership in politics across South Asia.

#FemParl delegates have gone on to further gender equality in their communities and countries. Many delegates maintain close relationships with those they met at the workshops and discussions, and mentor future #FemParl delegates.

Now that #FemParl has crossed the Arabian Sea, we look forward to learning about gender equality from this year’s group of women delegates in the Middle East and North Africa as well as South and Southeast Asia. We can’t wait to see what they will accomplish in the years to come!


Related Links


External resources

World Economic Forum Global Gender Gap Report 2018

UN Women and Promundo: International Men and Gender Equality Survey - Middle East and North Africa

UNICEF: Gender Equality in South Asia

UN Women: Gender Equality and the Sustainable Development Goals in Asia and the Pacific

Date Modified:

#FemParl IV : Inspirer l’action du Moyen Orient à l’Asie du Sud et du Sud-Est!

Les femmes leaders bâtissent un avenir plus équitable, du Caire jusqu’à Beyrouth et Delhi!


2019 : Engager. Autonomiser.

De retour pour une quatrième année, #FemParl est plus grand que jamais, couvrant deux régions, trois pays en sept jours!

Les jeunes femmes parlementaires et les femmes leaders de partout au Moyen-Orient et en Afrique du Nord (MOAN) se réuniront au Caire pour deux journées d’ateliers et de discussions axés sur les communications, les femmes dans la gouvernance et la croissance économique inclusive. Les déléguées se rendront ensuite à Beyrouth pour une autre période de deux journées axées sur l’habilitation des femmes et l’égalité des genres ainsi que sur le rôle des femmes dans l’instauration de la paix et de la sécurité.

Après une semaine au Moyen-Orient et en Afrique du Nord, #FemParl retourne à Delhi pour l’habilitation des femmes partout en Asie du Sud et du Sud-Est afin de contester les normes sociales, surmonter les obstacles traditionnels et influencer les décideurs dans le domaine des affaires et de la politique.


Pourquoi maintenant?

Les déléguées de # FemParl II à Colombo, Sri Lanka

Dans de nombreux pays à travers le Moyen-Orient et l’Afrique du Nord, y compris l’Égypte, l’Algérie, la Tunisie, la Jordanie et le Maroc, les pourcentages actuels de représentation des femmes au parlement sont les plus élevés de leur histoire. Bien qu’il y ait une longue tradition de mouvements de femmes dans de nombreux pays de la région du MOAN, l’attention a plutôt été portée sur l’habilitation des femmes et leur engagement politique au cours des dernières années. Partout dans la région, nous constatons l’émergence d’une nouvelle génération de jeunes femmes leaders dynamiques qui prennent un plus grand rôle dans la sphère politique. #FemParl MOAN vise à renforcer et à développer les compétences existantes des participantes pour contribuer activement et diriger l’inclusion à la prise de décisions politiques, de même que l’élaboration des politiques aux niveaux national, régional et international.

Les femmes en Asie du Sud et du Sud-Est doivent faire face à des valeurs patriarcales strictes et aux normes sociales. Une préférence largement répandue pour les garçons signifie que les pratiques discriminatoires commencent avant même la naissance. Elles affectent tous les aspects de l’avenir d’une fille, de l’éducation à la santé, en passant par le mariage et au-delà.

Moins de 20 % des parlementaires de l’Asie du Sud sont des femmes selon ONU Femmes, limitant leur rôle dans la prise de décisions et le leadership. Bien que certains progrès ont été réalisés dans les domaines de l’éducation et de l’espérance de vie, l’Asie du Sud affiche un des pires écarts entre les sexes dans le monde et a été classée au 7e rang des 8 régions par le Forum économique mondial.


Safaath Ahmed, fondatrice d’un organisme dirigée par des jeunes, « Les femmes et la démocratie » a rencontré Shamshad Akhtar de la Commission économique et sociale de l’ONU pour l’Asie et le Pacifique au cours de la campagne #FemParl III.

#FemParl : une nouvelle approche

En 2016 les ambassades et les hauts-commissariats du Canada ont agi différemment, ils ont créé #FemParl.

Reconnaissant la nécessité d’encourager et habiliter les jeunes femmes à occuper des postes de direction dans la sphère politique, et d’apporter un changement positif pour la santé des femmes, pour l’éducation et les possibilités économiques, # FemParl a conçu un événement sur plusieurs jours.

#FemParl réunit des femmes leaders passionnées de l’ensemble d’une région pour apprendre, pour travailler en réseaux et être inspirées pour créer un monde plus égalitaire. À partir de leurs compétences en leadership, des tactiques efficaces pour la défense des droits et de la mise en réseau avec les diplomates locaux, les organismes à but non lucratif et les représentants des Nations unies, #FemParl est une occasion pour les femmes d’acquérir de nouvelles compétences et d’établir leur réseau professionnel.

L’habilitation des femmes et des filles est essentielle pour bâtir un monde plus pacifique, inclusif et prospère. C’est pourquoi cela est au cœur de la Politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada, et de tout le travail du Canada à l’étranger.


Créer un impact

Depuis ses débuts en 2016, #FemParl est devenu un nom officiellement reconnu pour habiliter les femmes et encourager leur participation et leur leadership en politique partout en Asie du Sud.
Les déléguées de #FemParl ont poDepuis ses débuts en 2016, #FemParl est devenu un nom officiellement reconnu pour habiliter les femmes et encourager leur participation et leur leadership en politique partout en Asie du Sud.

Les déléguées de #FemParl ont poursuivi leurs efforts pour promouvoir l’égalité hommes femmes dans leurs communautés et leurs pays. De nombreuses déléguées entretiennent des relations avec les personnes qu’elles ont rencontrées lors des ateliers et des discussions, et elles offrent un mentorat aux futures déléguées de #FemParl.

Maintenant que #FemParl a franchi la mer d’Oman, nous avons hâte d’en apprendre davantage sur l’égalité des genres de la part du groupe de femmes déléguées de cette année au Moyen Orient et en Afrique du Nord ainsi qu’en Asie du Sud et du Sud-Est. Nous avons hâte de voir ce qu’ils vont accomplir dans les années à venir!


Liens connexes


Ressources externes

World Economic Forum Global Gender Gap Report 2018 (disponible seulement en Anglais)

UN Women and Promundo: International Men and Gender Equality Survey - Middle East and North Africa (disponible en anglais ou en arabe)

UNICEF: Gender Equality in South Asia (disponible seulement en Anglais)

UN Women: Gender Equality and the Sustainable Development Goals in Asia and the Pacific (disponible seulement en Anglais)

Date de modification: