Consultation regarding the possible addition of Israel and the United Arab Emirates to the Automatic Firearms Country Control List (AFCCL)

The Export and Import Permits Act (EIPA) requires those who wish to export from Canada any items included on the Export Control List (ECL) to obtain, prior to shipment, an export permit Footnote 1 . Applications to export controlled goods or technology are reviewed on a case-by-case basis to ensure that these exports are consistent with Canada’s foreign and defence policies.

The EIPA places very strict controls on the export of certain prohibited firearms, prohibited weapons and prohibited devices (as defined in the Criminal Code of Canada).  Export permit applications for exports of such items are only considered for countries that are included on the Automatic Firearms Country Control List (AFCCL), a list of countries the Government of Canada has deemed it appropriate to permit the export of these items to and with which the Government of Canada has signed an intergovernmental defence, research, development and production arrangement.  There are currently 36 countries listed on the AFCCL.   

At this time, the Export Controls Division would like to invite stakeholders and the general public to provide their views regarding a possible regulatory amendment which could result in the addition of Israel and United Arab Emirates to the AFCCL.

The proposed regulation, if ultimately approved by the Governor in Council, will allow exporters of certain prohibited firearms, prohibited weapons and prohibited devices to submit permit applications for the export of these items to Israel and the United Arab Emirates.  Please note that inclusion on the AFCCL does not guarantee that a permit will be issued for the export of these items, and that all applications will remain subject to the Government of Canada’s review process.

Submissions must be received no later than December 7, 2014. All submissions will be treated as protected information.  While submissions may be subject to requests under the Access to Information Act, no information will be released without first consulting with the original provider.

Please submit your contributions by email or mail to:

Attention – AFCCL Consultation
Export Controls Division (TIE)
Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development 
125 Sussex Drive 
Ottawa, ON  K1A 0G2
Email: tie.consultations@international.gc.ca 

For further information, please contact:

Mark Richards
(343) 203-4336

Footnotes

Footnote 1

With exceptions for the export of certain controlled goods and technology to the United States.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Consultations concernant la possibilité d’ajouter Israël et les Émirats arabes unis à la Liste des pays désignés (armes automatiques) (LPDAA)

La Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation (LLEI) exige que les exportateurs souhaitant exporter du Canada tout article figurant sur la Liste des marchandises d’exportation contrôlée (LMEC) obtiennent, avant d’envoyer les marchandises, une licence d’exportation Note de bas de page 1. L’application des contrôles à l’exportation des marchandises et technologies désignées est examinée au cas par cas, pour s’assurer que ces exportations respectent les politiques étrangère et de défense du Canada.

La LLEI exerce un contrôle très strict sur les exportations de certaines armes à feu prohibées, d’armes prohibées et de dispositifs prohibés (comme le précise le Code criminel du Canada).  Seules sont examinées les demandes de licences d'exportation des articles susmentionnés vers les pays inscrits sur la Liste des pays désignés (armes automatiques) (LPDAA), une liste de pays vers lesquels le gouvernement du Canada a jugé qu'il était approprié d'exporter ces articles et avec qui il a signé un accord intergouvernemental en matière de défense, de recherche, de développement et de production.  Il y a actuellement 36 pays inscrits à la LPDAA.

À l’heure actuelle, la Direction des contrôles à l’exportation aimerait inviter les parties intéressées et le grand public à faire part de leur point du vue en ce qui concerne la possibilité d’apporter des modifications à la réglementation qui pourraient donner lieu à l’ajout d’Israël et des Émirats arabes unis à la LPDAA.

Les modifications proposées, si elles sont approuvées par le gouverneur en conseil, permettront aux exportateurs de certaines armes à feu prohibées, d’armes prohibées et de certains dispositifs prohibés de présenter une demande de licence d'exportation pour ces articles vers Israël et les Émirats arabes unis. Veuillez noter que l'ajout de ces pays à la LPDAA ne garantit pas qu'une licence d'exportation pour ces articles sera délivrée. Toutes les demandes seront assujetties au processus d'examen du gouvernement du Canada.

Les demandes devront être reçues au plus tard le 7 décembre 2014. Elles seront toutes traitées comme des renseignements protégés. Bien que tous les renseignements puissent être visés par des demandes présentées en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, ils ne seront pas divulgués sans consultation préalable avec leur source initiale.

Veuillez envoyer vos commentaires par courriel ou par la poste à :

Attention – Consultations concernant la LPDAA
Direction des contrôles à l’exportation (TIE)
Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada 
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa,(ON)  K1A 0G2
courriel : tie.consultations@international.gc.ca

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Mark Richards
343-203-4336

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

À l'exception des exportations de certaines marchandises et technologies contrôlées aux États-Unis.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1