Immunization in developing countries

Vaccines are one of the most effective public health interventions available, estimated to save between two and three million lives each year.

Immunization is an evidence-based tool to prevent illness, disability and death from vaccine-preventable diseases, including:

Cost effective health outcomes

In the Copenhagen Consensus, leading economists ranked childhood immunization as one of the most cost-effective interventions to advance child heath. A 2016 Johns Hopkins University study found that vaccines could save governments $44 dollars for every dollar spent on vaccine - an excellent return on investment. Despite the progress achieved in recent decades, nearly 19 million children remain unimmunized every year. That is almost 20% of children born each year.

What is Canada doing to help?

Canada contributes to global efforts to reduce child mortality rates by working with trusted partners such as Gavi, the Vaccine Alliance.

Canada’s support for Gavi, the Vaccine Alliance, has helped Gavi immunize more than half a billion children to date.

We have also provided more than $600 million to the Global Polio Eradication Initiative (GPEI). This has helped ensure that polio surveillance systems are able to rapidly detect any new cases that emerge, that every last child is reached with the polio vaccine, and that health workers have the capacity to respond to and control any outbreaks as soon as they arise, ultimately with the goal of achieving global eradication by 2019.

The GPEI is a partnership among the World Health Organization, UNICEF, Rotary International, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

Preventing deadly tetanus infections

Canada is matching the contributions of UNICEF Canada and the Kiwanis Foundation of Canada to support maternal and neonatal tetanus elimination. This initiative is focused on helping 3.4 million women of reproductive age receive three doses of tetanus toxoid vaccine. These doses will help prevent deadly tetanus infections in women and their future children.

Immunization is important to reduce child mortality rates and improve health, both of which are central to sustainable development.

Related links

Date Modified:

La vaccination dans les pays en développement

Les vaccins sont une des interventions de santé publique parmi les plus rentables qui soient, on estime qu’ils sauvent entre deux et trois millions de vies chaque année.

La vaccination est un outil fondé sur des données probantes utilisé pour prévenir les maladies, les invalidités et les décès dus à des maladies évitables, dont :

Un rapport coût-efficacité optimal en santé

À l’issue de la rencontre du Consensus de Copenhague en 2012, des économistes éminents ont classé la vaccination parmi les interventions les plus efficaces pour améliorer la santé infantile. Selon l’étude publiée en 2016 par des chercheurs de l’Université Johns-Hopkins, les vaccins pourraient épargner 44 dollars pour chaque dollar dépensé en vaccin, soit un excellent rendement du capital investi. Malgré les progrès réalisés au cours des dernières décennies, chaque année près de 19 millions d’enfants ne sont toujours pas immunisés. Ceci représente presque 20 p. 100 des enfants qui naissent chaque année.

Que fait le Canada pour aider ?

Le Canada s’associe à des partenaires dignes de confiance, tels que Gavi, l’Alliance du vaccin pour collaborer aux efforts engagés dans le monde pour réduire la mortalité infantile.

Ainsi, l’appui du Canada à Gavi, l’Alliance du vaccin, a permis à Gavi d’immuniser plus d’un demi-milliard d’enfants, sauvant ainsi à ce jour plus de 7 millions de vies.

Nous avons aussi versé plus de 600 millions de dollars à l’Initiative mondiale pour l’éradication de la poliomyélite (IMEP). Cet appui global a aidé à s’assurer que les systèmes de surveillance soient bien en mesure de détecter rapidement l’apparition de nouveaux cas, que tous les enfants soient vaccinés contre la polio, que les professionnels de la santé soient en mesure de faire face et de contrôler toute épidémie dès son déclenchement, avec comme objectif ultime l’éradication mondiale avant 2019.

L’IMEP consiste en un partenariat entre l’Organisation mondiale de la santé, l’UNICEF, le Rotary International, les Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, des États-Unis, et la Fondation Bill-et-Melinda-Gates.

Prévenir les infections mortelles du tétanos

Le Canada verse des contributions équivalentes à celles d’UNICEF Canada et de la Fondation canadienne du Kiwanis pour contribuer à éliminer le tétanos maternel et néonatal. Cette contribution a permis à 3,4 millions de femmes en âge de procréer de recevoir trois doses du vaccin antitétanique pour prévenir les infections tétaniques mortelles chez les femmes et les enfants qu’elles porteront.

La vaccination est importante pour réduire la mortalité infantile et améliorer la santé des populations, deux composantes essentielles du développement durable.

Liens connexes

Date de modification: