Request for expressions of interest to design and manage the partnership for gender equality

Deadline for submitting an expression of interest is 12:00 p.m. (noon) Eastern Time on January 31, 2019. Please review the “How to submit your expression of interest” section of this page carefully.


An Information Session on the Expression of Interest for the Partnership for Gender Equality is scheduled for January 16, 10:30 – 12:00 p.m. (Eastern Time).

Canada’s feminist vision

Canada adopted a Feminist International Assistance Policy that seeks to eradicate poverty and build a more peaceful, more inclusive and more prosperous world. Canada firmly believes that promoting gender equality and empowering women and girls is the most effective approach to achieving this goal.

Women often face additional intersectional discrimination, including on the basis of their race, ethnicity, religion, language, sexual orientation, gender identity, age, ability, or migrant or refugee status, among other aspects of personal identity. A feminist approach places gender equality at the centre of poverty eradication by challenging the discrimination faced by women and girls around the world and by recognizing that inequalities exist along intersectional lines.

What is this?

This is an invitation to members of the philanthropic community, the private sector, not-for profit and non-governmental organizations, following the Government of Canada’s May 25, 2018 call to action to work together with the Government to catalyze new investments in support of gender equality and women’s rights in developing countries.

This is the first step in a process that will lead to the selection of an organization or consortium to set up and manage the partnership for gender equality.

The opportunity

Women’s organizations and movements in developing countries often lead the way in efforts to promote and protect women’s rights, advance gender equality and empower women and girls, yet they get very little of the funding dedicated to gender equality. While there are a number of international donors and organizations working to advance women’s rights, gender equality and the empowerment of women and girls at local, national, regional and global levels with financial and capacity-building assistance, there is currently no single-window entity or global funding platform where interested partners from across sectors can pool and leverage their funds, ensuring long-term sustainable, predictable and flexible financing to help address the funding gap faced by women’s organizations and movements working to advance women’s rights, gender equality and the empowerment of women and girls in developing countries.

The Partnership is an opportunity for collective leadership from the private sector, philanthropic community, civil society, and governments to collaborate to build an initiative with long-term global impact.

Putting the partnership into action

The Government of Canada is seeking interested organizations that can leverage its commitment of up to $300 million in official development assistance (ODA) funding to mobilize additional resources from the private sector, philanthropic community and civil society to create a sustainable and predictable source of funding for women’s organizations and movements that advance women’s rights, gender equality and the empowerment of women and girls in developing countries.

To do this, the partnership should have three complementary functions:

  1. It should mobilize, receive and manage financial contributions from government, individuals, philanthropic foundations, the private sector, and other donors;
  2. It should be a grant-maker and provide expertise, connections and structural support to strengthen women’s organizations and movements that advance women’s rights, gender equality and women’s empowerment in developing countries and operate at local, national, regional, and global levels; and
  3. It should catalyze additional financial resources through investments, including gender smart and social impact investments.

To be successful, the partnership needs to be governed and managed in a way that is consistent with its feminist vision – an inclusive and globally distributed governance that takes into consideration the views of those it is aiming to support.

Please visit our website and take note of What we heard through our consultations on the partnership.

The process

The purpose of this invitation is to receive expressions of interest (EOI) from organizations or consortia that have a compelling vision and innovative plan, as well as the financial capacity, a track record of mobilizing resources, and experience providing financial support to women’s organizations and movements that advance women’s rights, gender equality and the empowerment of women and girls to design, establish and manage the partnership.

This EOI is the first of a two-stage process. Funding will not be provided on the basis of the EOI. Following the EOI stage, Global Affairs Canada will invite eligible organizations or consortia to develop and submit a comprehensive proposal to design, establish, and manage the partnership.

Given the wide-ranging functions noted above, Global Affairs Canada encourages organizations to consider consortium arrangements in which partners’ expertise is leveraged to fully achieve the partnership’s goals. Consortia may include partnerships between and among Canadian and international organizations from civil society, the private sector, and the philanthropic community. Organizations can be identified to be part of more than one EOI.

If your organization or consortium cannot meet all of the elements identified in this Expression of Interest, but do have real capacity on some elements and is interested in locating partners who do intend to respond to this EOI, please be aware that we will hold an information session to provide information and further opportunities for collaboration. Please continue to monitor this page for updated information.

Instructions for submission of expression of interest

Please ensure your submission responds to the elements below (ensure any dollar amounts are in Canadian dollars).

For the purpose of this EOI, ‘Entity’ refers either to a single organization or multiple organizations working together in a consortium submitting an EOI. ‘Lead Contact’ refers to the organization that will be the single point of contact for this submission.

1. Proposed vision and plan (not to exceed 5 pages)

We want to hear about your innovative vision and plan on using the Government’s commitment of up to $300 million to leverage resources in support of women’s organizations and movements that advance women’s rights, gender equality and the empowerment of women and girls in developing countries. Please provide a brief description of how the Entity would:

Importantly, please explain how you will establish the governance and structure of the partnership, and manage it in accordance with a feminist approach.

Global Affairs Canada would also consider plans that include granting and investment activities in Canada, in support of domestic women’s organizations and movements that advance women’s rights, gender equality and the empowerment of women and girls in Canada. Note however that the Government of Canada’s contribution in the form of ODA resources can only be used for purposes deemed for the benefit of poverty alleviation in developing countries.

2. Capacity requirements

If you are applying as a consortium, and unless otherwise specified, please clearly indicate which members of the consortium contribute to meeting the criteria.

2.1 Mobilizing financial contributions towards development outcomes: (not to exceed 2 pages)

The entity should demonstrate experience attracting and raising funds, including from Canadian or international donors, philanthropists, and the private sector, and a proven history of being able to execute diverse fund-raising strategies.

Please describe the entity’s fund-raising strategies and results achieved, which would include: ratio of funds raised for every $1 of initial funding committed; and target donor classes (e.g. philanthropic sources, international organizations, private foundations, multilateral organizations and other governments).

2.2 Experience in grant-making to advance women’s rights, gender equality and the empowerment of women and girls in developing countries: (not to exceed 2 pages)

At least one organization within the entity should demonstrate at least 3 years of experience in grant-making that advances women’s rights, gender equality and the empowerment of women and girls in developing countries.

Grant-making refers to channeling resources to grassroots women’s, girls and trans organizations to equip them as agents of change. The resources can take the form of funding, expertise, connections and structural support to women’s organizations that operate at a local, national, sub-national, regional or global level.

2.3 Investment management experience (not to exceed 3 pages)

The entity should demonstrate that it has managed or advised an investment strategy with an investment portfolio value which is, at a minimum, of a similar size and scope as this initiative. Experience demonstrated should include the ability to implement investment governance.

Experience in managing a portfolio that seeks to create social impact that advances gender equality outcomes is considered an asset, as well as experience implementing feminist approaches to governance.

Please provide a detailed response, including information on investment governance elements such as investment manager selection and investment policy. 

2.4 Financial capacity (not to exceed 2 pages)

Note: One of the organizations (either as a single applicant or as a member of a consortium) must be incorporated in Canada (see item 2.6 below), be able to take possession of Government of Canada funds and meet the financial capacity requirements.

This applicant or organization must demonstrate in a letter that it has the financial capacity and level of fiduciary oversight appropriate for an initiative of this magnitude and scope. This includes financial controls and systems, policies and procedures and governance structures, as well as evidence of experience managing significant annual revenues and/or assets.

The letter must be signed by the Chief Financial Officer or authorized board member of the organization.

2.5 International development programming experience (not to exceed 2 pages)

At least one organization within the entity should demonstrate at least three years of experience managing international development assistance programs or initiatives in ODA-eligible countries with annual expenditures of $20 million or more.

2.6 Legal status

At least one organization, either as a single applicant or as a member of a consortium, must meet the financial requirements above and be incorporated in Canada. It will be a requirement at future stages of this process that the entity’s principle office must be located in Canada.

2.6.1 Proof of legal status

The entity or one of the consortium members must be incorporated under the provincial territorial and federal laws of Canada. Please provide proof of legal status (e.g., a letter of incorporation) and a Canada Revenue Agency business number.

3. Financial statements

All organizations responding to this EOI must provide two years of audited financial statements dated within 40 months of the submission deadline for this EOI.

These statements should be signed by a member of the board or a delegate.

Next stage in the selection process

Following this EOI process, which is the first in a two-stage process, Global Affairs Canada will invite organizations or consortia that have submitted a complete package responding to all of the elements to develop and submit a comprehensive proposal to design, establish, and manage the partnership.

In the comprehensive proposal, applicants will have the flexibility and scope to propose appropriate governance structures, competitive investment approaches, resource mobilization strategies, structures and allocation of funds and other parameters. Applicants will be required to provide clear, complete, and insightful proposals covering a range of strategic, technical and financial parameters.

Applicants will also have the opportunity to ask questions, in order to submit proposals which best demonstrate their strategy in meeting the objectives of this initiative.

Additional resources

How to submit your Expression of Interest

To be considered in this expressions of interest process, you must submit your complete EOI package to PGE-PEG@international.gc.ca by 12:00 p.m. (noon) Eastern Time on January 31, 2019.

Your EOI package must include all of the following:

Language: English or French, or a combination of these two languages.

File type: Please submit documents in PDF format

All documents must comply with the following presentation standards:

Questions about this expression of interest

If you have questions specific to this expression of interest, please send them to PGE-PEG@international.gc.ca by 12:00 p.m. (noon) Eastern time January 17th, 2019. We will not respond to questions received after this deadline or to questions on specific organizational circumstances or on specific expressions of interest. Please note that all answers to questions will be posted on the partnership for gender equality questions and answers page to ensure that all potential applicants have access to the same information at the same time. We will not send answers directly to applicants.

Other information

Global Affairs Canada reserves the right at any time to:

Date Modified:

Demande de déclaration d’intérêt pour la conception et la gestion du partenariat pour l’égalité des genres

Ce processus de sélection est maintenant fermé. La date limite pour présenter une demande de déclarations d’intérêt était le jeudi 31 janvier 2019 à 12 h (midi), heure de l’Est.

La vision féministe du Canada

Le Canada a adopté une Politique d’aide internationale féministe qui vise à éliminer la pauvreté et à bâtir un monde plus pacifique, plus inclusif et plus prospère. Le Canada croit fermement que favoriser l’égalité des genres et renforcer le pouvoir des femmes et des filles est le moyen le plus efficace pour atteindre cet objectif.

Les femmes font souvent face en plus à une discrimination intersectionnelle basée sur des aspects de leur identité personnelle tels que la race, l’origine ethnique, la religion, la langue, l’orientation sexuelle, l’identité de genre, l’âge, la capacité ou le statut d’immigrante ou de réfugiée parmi d’autres. Une approche féministe place l’égalité des genres au cœur des efforts visant à éliminer la pauvreté en luttant contre les discriminations auxquelles sont confrontées les femmes et les filles dans le monde entier et en reconnaissant que des inégalités de nature intersectionnelle subsistent.

Qu’est-ce que c’est

Ceci est une invitation qui s’adresse aux membres de la communauté philanthropique, du secteur privé, des organismes sans but lucratif et non gouvernementaux, à la suite de l’appel à l’action lancé par le gouvernement du Canada le 25 mai 2018 pour collaborer avec le gouvernement afin d’encourager de nouveaux investissements dans le but d’appuyer l’égalité des genres et les droits des femmes dans les pays en développement.

Il s’agit de la première étape d’un processus qui mènera à la sélection d’un organisme ou d’un consortium chargé d’établir et de gérer le Partenariat pour l’égalité des genres.

L’opportunité

Les organisations et mouvements de femmes dans les pays en développement sont souvent à la tête des efforts visant la promotion et la protection des droits des femmes, la promotion de l’égalité des genres et le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles, mais elles reçoivent très peu des fonds consacrés à l’égalité des genres. Bien qu’un certain nombre de donateurs et d’organismes internationaux s’emploient à promouvoir les droits des femmes, l’égalité des genres et le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles à l’échelle locale, nationale, régionale et internationale en apportant une aide financière et en renforçant les capacités, il n’existe actuellement aucune entité à guichet unique ou plate-forme de financement mondiale où les partenaires intéressés de tous les secteurs peuvent mettre leurs fonds en commun et en tirer parti pour assurer un financement durable, prévisible et souple sur le long terme pour aider les organisations et mouvements de femmes à combler l’écart financier dont ils font état dans leurs activités ciblant les droits des femmes, l’égalité des genres et le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles dans les pays en développement.

Le Partenariat est une occasion pour le leadership collectif du secteur privé, de la communauté philanthropique, de la société civile et des gouvernements de collaborer à l’élaboration d’une initiative ayant un impact mondial à long terme.

Mise en œuvre du partenariat

Le gouvernement du Canada est à la recherche d’organismes intéressés qui peuvent tirer parti de son engagement pouvant atteindre 300 millions de dollars en aide au développement officielle (ADO) pour mobiliser des ressources supplémentaires du secteur privé, de la communauté philanthropique et de la société civile afin de créer une source de financement durable et prévisible pour les organisations et mouvements de femmes qui font progresser les droits des femmes, l’égalité des genres et le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles dans les pays en développement.

Pour ce faire, le Partenariat devrait avoir trois fonctions complémentaires :

  1. Il devrait mobiliser, recevoir et gérer les contributions financières du gouvernement, des particuliers, des fondations philanthropiques, du secteur privé et d’autres donateurs;
  2. Il devrait fournir des subventions, une expertise, des réseaux et un soutien structurel afin de renforcer les organisations et mouvements de femmes qui font progresser les droits des femmes, l’égalité des genres et le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes dans les pays en développement et qui exercent des activités à l’échelle locale, nationale, régionale et internationale;
  3. Il devrait avoir un effet catalyseur pour attirer des ressources financières supplémentaires grâce à des investissements, y compris des investissements intelligents en matière d’égalité des genres et à impact social.

Pour réussir, le Partenariat doit être gouverné et géré d’une manière conforme à sa vision féministe – une gouvernance inclusive et mondialement répartie qui tient compte des points de vue des personnes qu’il vise à soutenir.

Veuillez visiter notre site web et prendre note de Ce que nous avons entendu dans le cadre de nos consultations sur le Partenariat.

Le processus

La présente invitation vise à solliciter des déclarations d’intérêt (DI) de la part d’organismes ou de consortiums qui ont une vision convaincante et un plan novateur, ainsi qu’une capacité financière, des antécédents de mobilisation de ressources et de l’expérience en matière de soutien financier aux organisations et mouvements de femmes qui font progresser les droits des femmes, l’égalité des genres et le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles pour concevoir, établir et gérer le Partenariat.

Cette DI constitue la première étape d’un processus qui en compte deux. Le financement ne sera pas accordé sur la base de la DI. Après l’étape de la déclaration d’intérêt, Affaires mondiales Canada invitera les organismes ou les consortiums admissibles à élaborer et à présenter une proposition détaillée pour concevoir, établir et gérer le Partenariat.

Compte tenu de la vaste gamme de fonctions susmentionnées, Affaires mondiales Canada encourage les organismes à envisager des ententes de consortium dans le cadre desquelles l’expertise des partenaires est mise à profit pour atteindre pleinement les objectifs du Partenariat. Les consortiums peuvent comprendre des partenariats entre des organismes canadiens et internationaux de la société civile, du secteur privé et de la communauté philanthropique. Les organismes peuvent être cités comme faisant partie de plus d’une déclaration d’intérêt.

Si votre organisme ou votre consortium ne peut répondre à tous les éléments identifiés dans la présente déclaration d’intérêt, mais qu’il possède une capacité réelle sur certains éléments et qu’il souhaite trouver des partenaires qui ont l’intention de répondre à la présente DI, veuillez noter que nous tiendrons une séance d’information pour fournir des renseignements et d’autres possibilités de collaboration. Nous vous invitons à consulter le site périodiquement pour obtenir l’information à jour.

Directives pour la présentation d’une déclaration d’intérêt

Veuillez vous assurer que votre présentation répond aux éléments ci-dessous (assurez-vous d’indiquer tous les montants en dollars canadiens).

Aux fins de la présente demande de DI, le terme « entité » désigne soit un seul organisme, soit plusieurs organismes travaillant ensemble au sein d’un consortium qui présente une DI. « Personne-ressource principale » désigne l’organisme qui sera le point de contact unique pour cette présentation.

1. Vision et plan proposés (5 pages au maximum)

Nous voulons connaître votre vision et votre plan novateurs en vue d’utiliser le montant pouvant atteindre 300 millions de dollars que le gouvernement s’est engagé à verser pour mobiliser des ressources à l’appui des organisations et mouvements de femmes qui font progresser les droits des femmes, l’égalité des genres et le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles dans les pays en développement. Veuillez fournir une brève description de la façon dont l’entité réaliserait les tâches suivantes :

De façon importante, veuillez expliquer comment vous établirez la gouvernance et la structure du Partenariat et comment vous le gérerez selon une approche féministe.

Affaires mondiales Canada prendra également en considération les plans qui comprennent des activités de subvention et d’investissement au Canada, à l’appui d’organisations et de mouvements de femmes au pays qui font progresser les droits des femmes, l’égalité des genres et le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles au Canada. Il faut toutefois noter que la contribution du gouvernement du Canada sous la forme de ressources de l’ADO ne peut être utilisée qu’à des fins jugées utiles pour la réduction de la pauvreté dans les pays en développement.

2. Exigences en matière de capacité

Si vous présentez une demande à titre de consortium, à moins d’indication contraire, veuillez indiquer clairement quels membres du consortium contribuent à satisfaire aux critères.

2.1 Mobiliser des contributions financières pour des résultats de développement : (2 pages au maximum)

L’entité doit démontrer de l’expérience dans l’attraction et la collecte de fonds, y compris auprès de donateurs, des philanthropes canadiens ou internationaux et du secteur privé, ainsi qu’une capacité éprouvée à exécuter diverses stratégies de collecte de fonds

Veuillez décrire les stratégies de collecte de fonds de l’entité et les résultats obtenus, notamment : le ratio des fonds recueillis pour chaque dollar de financement initial engagé, et les catégories de donateurs cibles (p. ex. sources philanthropiques, organisations internationales, fondations privées, organisations multilatérales et autres gouvernements).

2.2 Expérience de l’octroi de subventions pour promouvoir les droits des femmes, l’égalité des genres et le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles dans les pays en développement : (2 pages au maximum)

Au moins un organisme au sein de l’entité doit démontrer au moins 3 ans d’expérience dans l’octroi de subventions visant à faire progresser les droits des femmes, l’égalité des genres et le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles dans les pays en développement.

L’octroi de subventions consiste à canaliser les ressources vers les organisations locales de femmes, de filles et de transgenres afin de les outiller en tant qu’agents de changement. Les ressources peuvent prendre la forme d’un financement, d’expertise, de réseaux et d’un soutien structurel fournis aux organisations de femmes qui exercent des activités à l’échelle locale, nationale, sous-nationale, régionale ou internationale.

2.3 Expérience en gestion d’investissements (3 pages au maximum)

L’entité doit démontrer qu’elle a géré ou conseillé une stratégie d’investissements dont la valeur du portefeuille d’investissements est au moins aussi importante et d’une portée semblable à celle de la présente initiative. L’expérience démontrée devrait inclure la capacité de mettre en place la gouvernance en matière d’investissement. 

Une expérience dans la gestion d’un portefeuille qui cherche à créer un impact social favorisant l’égalité des genres est considérée comme un atout, de même que de l’expérience dans la mise en œuvre d’approches féministes en matière de gouvernance.

Veuillez fournir une réponse détaillée, incluant des renseignements sur les éléments de la gouvernance en matière d’investissement, comme la sélection des gestionnaires des investissements et la politique d’investissements.

2.4 Capacité financière (2 pages au maximum)

Remarque : L’un des organismes (à titre de demandeur unique ou de membre d’un consortium) doit être constitué en société au Canada (voir le point 2.6 ci-dessous), être en mesure de prendre possession des fonds du gouvernement du Canada et satisfaire aux exigences en matière de capacité financière.

Ce demandeur ou cet organisme doit démontrer dans une lettre qu’il a la capacité financière et le niveau de surveillance fiduciaire appropriés pour une initiative de cette ampleur et de cette portée. Cela comprend les contrôles et systèmes financiers, les politiques et procédures et les structures de gouvernance, ainsi que les preuves de l’expérience acquise dans la gestion de revenus ou d’actifs annuels importants.

La lettre doit être signée par l’agent principal des finances ou un membre autorisé du conseil d’administration de l’organisme.

2.5 Expérience des programmes de développement international (2 pages au maximum)

Au moins un organisme au sein de l’entité doit démontrer au moins trois ans d’expérience dans la gestion de programmes ou d’initiatives d’aide au développement international dans des pays admissibles à l’ADO dont les dépenses annuelles sont de 20 millions de dollars ou plus.

2.6 Statut juridique

Au moins un organisme, soit en tant que demandeur unique ou membre d’un consortium, doit satisfaire aux exigences financières ci-dessus et être constitué en société au Canada. Aux étapes ultérieures de ce processus, il sera exigé que le bureau principal de l’entité soit situé au Canada.

2.6.1 Preuve de statut juridique

L’entité ou l’un des membres du consortium doit être constitué en vertu des lois provinciales, territoriales et fédérales du Canada. Veuillez fournir une preuve du statut juridique (p. ex., une lettre de constitution) et un numéro d’entreprise de l’Agence du revenu du Canada.

3. États financiers

Tous les organismes qui répondent à la présente DI doivent fournir deux années d’états financiers vérifiés datés de moins de 40 mois de la date limite de soumission de la DI.

Ces états financiers devraient être signés par un membre du conseil d’administration ou par un délégué.

Prochaine étape du processus de sélection

À la suite de la DI, qui constitue la première étape d’un processus qui en compte deux, Affaires mondiales Canada invitera les organismes ou les consortiums qui auront soumis un dossier complet qui répond à tous les éléments à élaborer et à présenter une proposition détaillée pour concevoir, établir et gérer le Partenariat. 

Dans la proposition complète, les candidats auront toute la latitude nécessaire pour proposer des structures de gouvernance appropriées, des stratégies d’investissement compétitives, des stratégies de mobilisation des ressources, des structures et allocation des fonds et d’autres éléments. Les candidats devront soumettre des propositions claires, complètes et réfléchie englobant un éventail de paramètres stratégiques, techniques et financiers.

Les candidats auront également l’occasion de poser des questions afin de soumettre des propositions qui démontrent le mieux leur stratégie pour atteindre les objectifs de la présente initiative.

Ressources additionnelles

Comment soumettre une déclaration d’intérêt

Pour être pris en considération dans le cadre de ce processus de déclaration d’intérêt, vous devez soumettre votre dossier de DI complet à PGE-PEG@international.gc.ca au plus tard le 31 janvier 2019 à 12 h (midi), heure de l’Est.

Votre dossier de DI doit comprendre tous les documents suivants :

Exigences linguistiques : Anglais ou français, ou une combinaison de ces deux langues.

Type de fichier : Veuillez soumettre les documents en format PDF.

Tous les documents doivent être conformes aux normes de présentation suivantes :

Questions concernant cette déclaration d’intérêt

Si vous avez des questions au sujet de la présente déclaration d’intérêt, veuillez les envoyer à PGE-PEG@international.gc.ca au plus tard à 12 h (midi), heure de l’Est, le 17 janvier 2019. Nous ne répondrons pas aux questions reçues après cette date, ni aux questions portant sur des circonstances propres à un organisme ou des déclarations d’intérêt particulières. Veuillez noter que les réponses aux questions seront toutes affichées sur la page questions et réponses du partenariat pour l’égalité des genres, et ce, afin de s’assurer que tous les demandeurs aient simultanément accès aux mêmes renseignements. Nous ne répondrons pas directement aux demandeurs.

Information supplémentaire

Affaires mondiales Canada se réserve le droit, en tout temps de :

Date de modification: