HIV/AIDS in developing countries

HIV stands for human immunodeficiency virus. This virus breaks down the body’s immune system.

Without the protection against infection and disease, HIV causes people to become sick with infections that wouldn't normally affect them. If it is left untreated HIV can lead to the disease AIDS (acquired immunodeficiency syndrome).

Sub-Saharan Africa remains the most affected area

At the end of 2015, there were 36.7 million people worldwide living with HIV. Sub-Saharan Africa remains the most affected area with nearly 1 in every 25 adults living with HIV.

In the hardest-hit countries, girls account for more than 80% of all new HIV infections among adolescents. Globally adolescent girls and young women (15-24 years) are twice as likely as males of the same age to be at risk of HIV.

Access to drugs and health services makes a difference

There is progress in the fight against HIV/AIDS.

In 2016, 17.3 million people living with HIV had access to anti-retroviral therapy and fewer people are dying of AIDS-related illnesses.

In 2015, 1.1 million people died from AIDS-related causes worldwide, compared to 2 million in 2005. There was a 45% decrease in new infections between 2000 and 2015.

This progress is largely due to advances such as:

Canada is active in the global response to HIV/AIDS. We recognize the need to increase efforts to achieve universal access to HIV prevention measures, treatment, care and support.

Hard numbers show results on the ground

UNAIDS (the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS) is the lead multilateral organization coordinating the global HIV/AIDS response. UNAIDS brings together the efforts and resources of 11 United Nations organizations, 22 member states as well as civil society representatives involved in the HIV/AIDS response. Canada has contributed over $100 million to UNAIDS since its inception in 1996. With the support of Canada and other donors, the co-sponsors of the Joint Programme contributed to the following in 2015:

In research led by the World Health Organization overt five-thousand mother-infant pairs were enrolled in studies and a cumulative total of 3,399 health care workers were trained in three countries: Malawi, Nigeria and Zimbabwe since the inception of the project between 2011 and 2016.

Working towards the 90-90-90 goal

Canada works closely with its United Nations partners in the fight against HIV/AIDS.

For example, Canada has provided ongoing financial support to UNAIDS since its inception in 1996. Canada works with UNAIDS and its partners to fast-track efforts to meet the ambitious 90-90-90 treatment targets.

The goal is that:

Canada also works toward the ultimate goal of eliminating HIV/AIDS by 2030. Steps to achieve this goal include promoting sexual and reproductive health and rights and addressing the unmet needs of adolescent girls in the global HIV/AIDS response.

Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria

Canada has supported the Global Fund since its inception in 2002, with more than $2.9 billion in commitments. With the support of donors such as Canada, the Global Fund has achieved tremendous results:

Related links

Date Modified:

Le VIH/SIDA dans les pays en développement

Le sigle VIH désigne le virus de l’immunodéficience humaine. Ce virus détériore les cellules du système immunitaire.

Sans protection contre l’infection et la maladie, les personnes atteintes du VIH peuvent souffrir d’infections auxquelles elles résisteraient normalement. En l’absence de traitement, le VIH peut mener au sida (syndrome d’immunodéficience acquise).

L’Afrique subsaharienne reste la région la plus touchée

À la fin de 2015, 36,7 millions de personnes étaient séropositives dans le monde. L’Afrique subsaharienne reste la région la plus touchée avec près d’un adulte sur 25 séropositif.

Dans les pays les plus durement touchés, les filles représentent plus de 80 p. 100 de toutes les nouvelles infections au VIH chez les adolescents. À l’échelle mondiale, les adolescentes et les jeunes femmes de 15 à 24 ans sont deux fois plus susceptibles de contracter le VIH que les garçons et les jeunes hommes de ce groupe d’âge.

L’accès à des médicaments et à des services de santé  fait toute la différence

Des progrès ont été accomplis dans la lutte contre le VIH/SIDA.

En 2016, 17,3 millions de personnes vivant avec le VIH avaient accès à un traitement antirétroviral et moins de gens meurent suite à des maladies associées au SIDA.

En 2015, 1,1 million de personnes dans le monde sont décédées de causes liées au sida, comparativement à 2 millions en 2005. On a également observé une baisse de 45 p. 100 des nouveaux cas d’infection entre 2000 et 2015.

Ces progrès sont largement attribuables à diverses avancées, notamment :

Le Canada participe à l’action mondiale contre le VIH/sida et il reconnaît la nécessité d’intensifier les efforts pour fournir un accès universel aux mesures de prévention du VIH ainsi qu’aux traitements, aux soins et au soutien offerts aux malades.

Les données révèlent des résultats tangibles sur le terrain

ONUSIDA (le Programme commun des Nations Unies sur le VIH/SIDA) est l’organisation multilatérale chargée de coordonner la réponse mondiale face au VIH/SIDA. ONUSIDA centralise les actions et les ressources de 11 organisations des Nations Unies, de 22 états membres ainsi que des représentants de la société civile engagés dans la lutte contre le VIH/SIDA. Le Canada a financé ONUSIDA à hauteur de 100 millions de dollars depuis sa création en 1996. Grâce à l’appui du Canada et d’autres donateurs, les co-parrains du Programme commun ont contribués en 2015 comme suit :

Au cours de recherches dirigées par l’Organisation mondiale de la santé plus de cinq mille paires mère-nourrisson ont été engagés dans les études et un nombre total de 3 399 agents de santé ont été formés dans trois pays le Malawi, Nigeria and Zimbabwe depuis le début du projet en 2011 et 2016.

Travailler dans le but d’atteindre un traitement de 90-90-90

Le Canada travaille en étroite collaboration avec ses partenaires de l’ONU pour lutter contre le VIH/SIDA.

Par exemple, le Canada a constamment soutenu financièrement l’ONUSIDA depuis sa création. Le Canada travaille ONUSIDA et ses partenaires pour accélérer les efforts visant à atteindre les ambitieuses cibles de traitement 90-90-90.

Ce but consiste à avoir

Le Canada contribue également à l’atteinte de l’objectif ultime d’éradiquer le VIH/SIDA d’ici 2030. Les étapes y parvenir consistent notamment à faire la promotion de la santé sexuelle et reproductive et des droits à cet égard, et à répondre aux besoins non satisfaits des adolescentes dans le cadre de la lutte mondiale contre le VIH/sida.

Fonds mondial de lutte contre le sida, la tuberculose et le paludisme

Le Canada a versé plus de 2,88 milliards de dollars au Fonds mondial depuis sa création en 2002. Grâce à l’appui de donateurs comme le Canada, le Fonds mondial a obtenu des résultats considérables :

Liens connexes

Date de modification: