Frequently Asked Questions – CPTPP Tariff Rate Quotas

CPTPP entry-into force and phase in of CPTPP TRQs

How will the entry-into-force date of December 30, 2018 affect the phase-in of the CPTPP quotas?
  • As of December 30, 2018, CPTPP TRQ volumes will be prorated to the number of months that remain in the ‘quota year’ as defined in the specific provisions of each TRQ.
  • For example, some TRQs are administered based on the calendar year, while others are based on the dairy year (August 1 – July 31); the turkey TRQ is administered on the turkey marketing year (May 1 to April 30).
    • TRQs administered on a calendar year basis :
      • The quota volumes will be prorated to volumes equal to one month of the quota volume commitment for year one, lasting for the period of December 30 to December 31, 2018;allocations for this period must be utilized by midnight on December 31, and will not be carried forward into 2019.
      • The full TRQ volume for quota year two will then be made available as of January 1, 2019 until December 31, 2019.
    • TRQs administered on a dairy year basis :
      • the quota volumes will be prorated to volumes equal to eight months of the quota volume commitment, lasting for the period from December 30, 2018 to July 31, 2019.
      • The full TRQ volumes for quota year two will then be made available as of August 1, 2019, to July 31, 2020.
    • For the turkey TRQ, which is administered on a turkey marketing year basis :
      • The quota volume will be prorated to a volume equal to five months of the quota volume commitment, lasting for the period from December 30, 2018 to April 30, 2019.
      • The full TRQ volume for quota year two will then be made available as of May 1, 2019, to April 30, 2020.
  • The CPTPP quotas will be phased in over 11 to 19 years, depending on the quota. However, the majority of the new access will have been phased in by year six of the agreement (i.e. 2023), followed by smaller growth until the final phase-in year of the CPTPP quota. The CPTPP quota volumes will not grow after the final phase-in year.
Can I import from all CPTPP Parties beginning December 30, 2018?
  • No. Only products that originate from a CPTPP Party that has ratified the agreement may be imported under the CPTPP quotas.
  • The first six countries to ratify the CPTPP are Australia, Canada, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand, and Singapore.
  • As of December 30, 2018, allocation holders can request import permits for products from Australia, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand, and Singapore.
  • Vietnam ratified the Agreement on November 16, 2018.
  • As of January 14, 2019, allocation holders can begin to request import permits for products from Vietnam.
  • When existing signatories to the CPTPP ratify the Agreement (i.e. Brunei, Chile, Malaysia, and Peru), Canada will update the relevant Notice to Importers for the CPTPP TRQs to include the name of the CPTPP Party. Canada will give advance notice to allocation holders of the date on which they may begin to source eligible products from that CPTPP Party.

Allocation process

How can I apply for an allocation under the new CPTPP quotas?
What is the application period for the CPTPP quotas?
  • The CPTPP agreement enters into force on December 30, 2018.
  • The application period for all CPTPP quotas begins on November 26 and closes on December 12.
  • Some CPTPP quotas are administered on the basis of the calendar year (January 1 to December 31), while others use the dairy year (August 1 to July 31) or the marketing year (May 1 to April 30). 
  • Due to the different periods of time over which some CPTPP quotas are administered, the application deadlines for quota year two and future years will not be the same for every CPTPP quota.
  • Applications for calendar-year quotas, due December 12, will serve as the basis for the Minister’s allocation decision for quota year one (2018) as well as quota year two (2019). The application process for quota year three will open ninety days in advance of the beginning of quota year three on January 1, 2020.
  • Companies applying for dairy-year quotas must submit an application for quota year two in a separate application process that will open ninety days in advance of the beginning of quota year two on August 1, 2019.  
  • Companies applying for marketing-year quotas must submit an application for year two in a separate application process that will open ninety days in advance of the beginning of quota year two on May 1, 2019.
I do not have an EIPA number. Can I still submit an application?
  • Yes. If an applicant does not have an EIPA number, Global Affairs Canada will assign one based on the information provided in the application for an allocation.
I am not active in the Canadian sector to which I wish to apply.  Can I apply for quota anyway?
  • No. The Minister’s policies states that, at a minimum, an applicant must be a resident of Canada and have been active in the Canadian sector in the 12-month reference period immediately preceding the allocation year.   
  • Depending on the TRQ, activity is determined on basis of an applicant’s record of production, use or sales. 
  • Interested stakeholders who are not currently active in the applicable Canadian sector (as defined in the Notice to Importers), but who become active in the future, will be able to apply once they become active.
The Notice to Importers states that an applicant must be active in the Canadian sector regularly during the reference period and the allocation year.  What does this mean?
  • This is normally understood to mean that applicants are able to demonstrate activity on a monthly basis.
  • This is why the application form requests applicants to complete a monthly breakdown of their activities in the applicable sector.
Do I have to be able to demonstrate a history of importing these products to apply for an allocation under the applicable CPTPP quotas?
  • No. Applicants’ eligibility for an allocation will be assessed against the eligibility criteria for the applicable CPTPP quota and their activity in the Canadian sector in the 12-month reference period immediately preceding the allocation year. 
If I don’t apply for an allocation in year one, can I still apply for an allocation in subsequent years?
  • Yes. The CPTPP quotas are allocated on an annual basis on the basis of an applicant’s activity during the 12-month reference period.
Do I have to submit a new application each year?
  • Yes. Applicants must submit an application on an annual basis and demonstrate that they were active in the reference period.
How can I determine the pool under which I should apply?
  • Applicants must determine which of the quota pools most corresponds to the nature of their business. The Department will review the application and determine whether an applicant qualifies for the quota pool to which they have applied. 
I believe I qualify for an allocation under more than one group in a CPTPP quota. Can I apply for an allocation under both groups?
  • No. Applicants are eligible to apply under only one group.
Why do I have to provide an accountant’s letter with my application?
  • An accountant’s letter ensures that the quantities claimed in applications accurately reflect the amount of relevant products manufactured or sold by the applicant.
  • Where quotas are allocated on a market share basis, it is important to ensure that applicants do not inadvertently misrepresent their activity levels in their applications, as this would affect the allocation of all the eligible applicants and could result in penalties under the Export and Import Permits Act for providing false and misleading information.
The Notice to Importers says that only one applicant from a group of related parties will receive an allocation under an individual CPTPP quota. How can I determine if I am related to another company?
  • The criteria for determining whether individuals or companies applying for quota are related are set out in the Notice to Importers in the Appendix entitled “Information concerning related persons”. Applicants who are uncertain whether they are related should err on the side of caution and list the individuals or companies to whom they may be related and seek an assessment from Global Affairs Canada.
I am related to an allocation holder under another tariff rate quota program for these products. Can I apply for an allocation under the CPTPP quotas?
  • Yes. However, related parties may not receive more than one allocation under the same CPTPP TRQ.
Once I have submitted an application, how will I know if I have qualified for an allocation?
  • Applicants will be informed in writing whether they have qualified for an allocation and the amount of quota they have been allocated.
  • Applicants will be informed whether they have received an allocation on December 21, 2018.
Will my allocation be the same each year, or will it change from year to year?
  • The amount allocated to each individual quota holder will vary from year to year.
  • For quotas that are allocated on a market share basis, the amount of quota that an applicant will receive in any given year will depend on the level of that applicant’s activity in the domestic sector in relation to the activity of all the other eligible applicants in his or her pool.
  • For quotas that are allocated on an equal share basis, the amount of quota that an applicant will receive in any given year will depend on the number of eligible applicants to the quota.
Is there any cap on the maximum amount of quota that an individual applicant can receive?
  • No, there is no policy to cap the amount of quota that an applicant can be allocated. 
  • However, the maximum amount of quota that an applicant can be allocated will be limited in practice by the allocation methodology that applies to the CPTPP quota.
  • For CPTPP quotas that are allocated on a market share basis, the size of the largest allocation will be a function of the market activity of the eligible applicants; the applicant with largest market activity (whether in terms of sales, production, or distribution) will receive an allocation that is proportionate to the market activity of all eligible applicants in the CPTPP quota.
  • For CPTPP quotas that are allocated on an equal share basis, the size of the allocation received by all eligible applicants will be equal to the volume of available quota divided by the number of eligible applicants.
Is there a minimum amount of quota that an applicant can receive? Will applicants receive allocations in commercially viable quantities? What happens if the calculation of market share produces an allocation size that is less than the minimum threshold?
  • Yes, there is a minimum allocation that an applicant may receive; however, the exact quantity varies depending on the TRQ.
  • 20,000 KG is the minimum allocation under the CPTPP quotas for dairy, chicken and turkey, respectively. Applicants whose market share calculation does not result in an allocation at or above the 20,000 KG minimum threshold will normally not be issued an allocation, unless the applicant identifies the minimum volume they are willing to accept. Should an applicant’s market share calculation result in a volume lower than the identified volume, no allocation will be issued.
  • 25,000 dozen is the minimum allocation under the CPTPP quotas for eggs, and broiler hatching eggs and chicks, respectively. Applicants whose market share calculation does not result in an allocation at or above 25,000 dozen will normally not be issued an allocation, unless the applicant identifies the minimum volume they are willing to accept. Should an applicant’s market share calculation result in a volume lower than the identified volume, no allocation will be issued.
What happens if I cannot use my entire allocation? Can I return some? How do I do that?
  • An underutilization penalty will normally apply to allocation holders that do not utilize 90 or 95 percent of their allocation in a quota year, depending on the utilization threshold that is indicated in the applicable Notice to Importers.
  • Allocation holders that do not meet the minimum utilization threshold in the quota year may have their allocations adjusted downward by an under-utilization penalty for the new quota year.
  • If an allocation holder anticipates that they may not be able to utilize all or a portion of their quota allocation, they may return any portion of their unused allocation by no later than the return date indicated in the applicable Notice to Importers.  Any portion of an allocation that is returned by the return date will be considered as having been used for the purposes of administering the under-utilization policy.
  • Allocation holders who wish to return quota may do so by notifying Global Affairs Canada in writing of the volume of allocation they wish to return by no later than the applicable return date. This notification should be sent to the organizational mailbox associated with the administration of the applicable CPTPP quota.  
How can I access quota that has been returned by other allocation holders?
  • Returned quantities will normally be made available seven days after the return deadline to eligible allocation holders who have not returned any unused quantity of their allocation.
  • The first issuance of returned quota will be in proportion to the applicant’s initial allocation; afterwards, quota will be available on demand if any remains after the first issuance.
Is it possible to transfer quota? If so, to whom and how?
  • Yes.  The Minister may allow the transfer of allocations between allocation holders.
  • All quota transfers must be referred to Global Affairs Canada for consideration.
  • Requests must be made by way of the Transfer Request Form for the applicable specific CPTPP quota.
  • For all CPTPP dairy quotas, once an allocation holder has transferred all or part of their allocation to another allocation holder, they will not be able to receive a quota transfer for the remainder of the allocation year.  Conversely, once an allocation holder has received a transfer, they may not transfer any of their allocation to another allocation holder for the remainder of the quota year. 
I am a distributor. Why can’t I include sales of products to other distributors in my application?
  • Sales to other distributors are not allowed to be included in a distributor applicant’s total sales in order to ensure that the sale of that same quantity of products is not used by multiple distributors to qualify for an allocation. 
  • Distributors may include in their application all sales made to other types of businesses, including processors, retailers, food service, etc.
  • Distributors may also include quantities of products they exported during the reference period.
How do I get more information about the allocation process?
Date Modified:

Foire aux questions – Contingents tarifaires de l’Accord de Partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste

Entrée en vigueur de l’Accord de Partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste (PTPGP) et introduction progressive des contingents tarifaires (CT)

En quoi la date d’entrée en vigueur du 30 décembre 2018 touchera-t-elle l’introduction progressive des contingents du PTPGP ?
  • À compter du 30 décembre 2018, les volumes des CT du PTPGP seront calculés au prorata du nombre de mois restant dans l’« année contingentaire », telle qu’elle est définie dans les modalités particulières de chaque CT.
  • Par exemple, certains CT sont administrés sur la base de l’année civile, tandis que d’autres sont fondés sur la campagne laitière (1er août au 31 juillet); le CT du dindon, quant à lui, est administré selon l’année de commercialisation du dindon (1er mai au 30 avril).
    • Pour les CT administrés sur la base de l’année civile :
      • le volume du CT sera calculé au prorata du volume correspondant à un mois du volume contingentaire prévu dans l’Accord pour la première année, et ce, pour la période allant du 30 au 31 décembre 2018; les parts des contingents doit être utilisé jusqu’à minuit le 31 décembre, et ne seront pas disponible en 2019.
      • Le volume total du CT pour la deuxième année contingentaire sera rendu disponible du 1er janvier au 31 décembre 2019.
    • Pour les CT administrés sur la base de la campagne laitière :
      • le volume du CT sera calculé au prorata du volume correspondant à huit mois du volume contingentaire prévu dans l’Accord, et ce, pour la période allant du 30 décembre 2018 au 31 juillet 2019.
      • Le volume total du CT pour la deuxième année contingentaire sera rendu disponible du 1er août 2019 au 31 juillet 2020.
    • Pour le dindon, dont le CT est administré sur la base de son année de commercialisation
      • le volume du CT sera calculé au prorata du volume correspondant à cinq mois du volume contingentaire prévu dans l’Accord, et ce, pour la période allant du 30 décembre 2018 au 30 avril 2019.
      • Le volume total du CT pour la deuxième année contingentaire sera rendu disponible du 1er mai 2019 au 30 avril 2020.
  • Les contingents prévus dans le PTPGP seront mis en œuvre progressivement sur une période de 11 à 19 ans, selon le contingent. Cependant, la majeure partie des nouveaux engagements d’accès devront être mis en application progressivement au plus tard la sixième année de l’Accord (c.-à-d. 2023), de sorte que l’accès au marché sera par la suite élargi de manière plus limitée jusqu’à la dernière année de l’introduction progressive des CT du PTPGP. Les volumes des CT du PTPGP n’augmenteront pas après la dernière année de l’introduction progressive.
Puis-je importer des produits de touts les participants au PTPGP à partir du 30 décembre 2018 ?
  • Non. Seuls les produits en provenance d’une partie au PTPGP qui a ratifié l’Accord peuvent être importés en vertu des contingents du PTPGP.
  • Les six premiers pays à ratifier le PTPGP sont l’Australie, le Canada, le Japon, le Mexique, la Nouvelle-Zélande et Singapour.
  • À compter du 30 décembre 2018, les détenteurs de parts des CT pourront demander des licences d’importation pour des produits en provenance de l’Australie, du Japon, du Mexique, de la Nouvelle-Zélande et de Singapour.
  • Le Vietnam a ratifié le PTPGP le 16 novembre, 2018.
  • À compter du 14 janvier 2019, les détenteurs de parts des CT pourront demander des licences d’importation pour des produits en provenance du Vietnam.
  • Lorsque les signataires actuels au PTPGP ratifieront l’entente (c.-à-d. Brunei, le Chili, la Malaisie, et le Pérou), le Canada fera une mise à jour des Avis aux importateurs du PTPGP concernés pour y inclure le nom des signataires qui auront maintenant ratifié l’entente. Le Canada avisera à l’avance les détenteurs de contingent de la date à laquelle ceux-ci seront en mesure de faire l’approvisionnement des produits éligibles visés des parties du PTPCG concernés.

Méthode d’attribution des CT

Comment puis-je demander une part des nouveaux contingents du PTPGP?
Quelle est la période pour présenter une demande afin d’obtenir une part des CT du PTPGP?
  • L’Accord du PPTGP entre en vigueur le 30 décembre 2018.
  • La période pour présenter une demande pour tous les contingents du PPTGP commence le 26 novembre et se termine le 12 décembre.
  • Certains contingents du PTPGP sont administrés sur la base de l’année civile (1er janvier au 31 décembre), tandis que d’autres utilisent la campagne laitière (1er août au 31 juillet) ou l’année de commercialisation (1er mai au 30 avril).
  • Comme les contingents du PTPGP sont administrés sur la base de différentes périodes, les dates limites pour présenter une demande pour la deuxième année contingentaire et les années suivantes ne seront pas les mêmes pour tous les contingents du PTPGP.
  • En ce qui concerne les contingents administrés sur la base de l’année civile, le ministre décidera de l’attribution des parts de contingent en se fondant sur les demandes soumises avant la date limite du 12 décembre, et ce, à la fois pour la première année (2018) et la deuxième année contingentaire (2019). La période de demande pour obtenir une part de CT pour la troisième année contingentaire sera ouverte 90 jours avant le début de celle-ci, le 1er janvier 2020.
  • Pour ce qui est des contingents administrés sur la base de la campagne laitière, les entreprises devront présenter une demande pour la deuxième année contingentaire selon un processus de demande distinct qui sera ouvert 90 jours avant le début de la deuxième année contingentaire le 1er août 2019.
  • En ce qui a trait aux contingents administrés sur la base de l’année de commercialisation, les entreprises devront présenter une demande pour la deuxième année selon un processus de demande distinct qui sera ouvert 90 jours avant le début de la deuxième année contingentaire le 1er mai 2019.
Je n’ai pas de numéro de dossier en vertu de la LLEI. Puis-je tout de même présenter une demande?
  • Oui. Si un demandeur n’a pas de numéro de dossier en vertu de la LLEI, Affaires mondiales Canada lui en attribuera un à partir des renseignements fournis dans la demande de part de CT.
Je ne suis pas actif dans l’industrie canadienne pour laquelle je souhaite présenter une demande. Puis-je tout de même présenter une demande de part de contingent?
  • Non. Les politiques ministérielles prévoient que, au minimum, le demandeur doit être un résident du Canada et avoir été actif dans l’industrie canadienne au cours de la période de référence de 12 mois qui précède immédiatement l’année contingentaire visée par leur demande.
  • Selon le contingent tarifaire, l’activité est déterminé sur la base des antécédents de production, d’utilisation ou de vente du requérant.
  • Les intervenants intéressés qui ne sont pas actuellement actifs dans l’industrie canadienne en question (tel qu’elle est définie dans l’avis aux importateurs pertinent), mais qui le deviendront dans l’avenir pourront présenter une demande de part de CT dès qu’ils y seront actifs.
L’avis aux importateurs indique qu’un demandeur doit être régulièrement actif dans l’industrie canadienne au cours de la période de référence et de l’année contingentaire. Qu’est-ce que cela signifie?
  • Cela signifie habituellement que les demandeurs doivent être en mesure de démontrer qu’ils exercent des activités chaque mois.
  • C’est pourquoi les demandeurs doivent indiquer sur le formulaire de demande une répartition mensuelle de leurs activités dans l’industrie en question.
Dois-je faire la preuve que j’ai déjà importé ces produits par le passé pour demander une part des contingents du PTPGP?
  • Non. L’admissibilité des demandeurs à une part de CT sera évaluée en fonction des critères d’admissibilité pour le contingent du PTPGP applicable et de leurs activités dans l’industrie canadienne au cours de la période de référence de 12 mois qui précède immédiatement l’année contingentaire visée par leur demande.
Si je ne demande pas une part de CT pour la première année, puis-je en demander une au cours des années suivantes?
  • Oui. Les parts des contingents du PTPGP sont attribuées sur une base annuelle en fonction des activités des demandeurs au cours de la période de référence de 12 mois.
Dois-je présenter une nouvelle demande chaque année?
  • Oui. Les demandeurs doivent présenter une demande chaque année et démontrer qu’ils ont été actifs au cours de la période de référence.
Comment puis-je déterminer au titre de quelle réserve je devrais présenter ma demande?
  • Les demandeurs doivent déterminer la réserve contingentaire qui correspond le mieux à la nature de leurs activités. Le Ministère examinera la demande et jugera si le demandeur est admissible à la réserve contingentaire pour laquelle il a présenté sa demande.
Je crois que je suis admissible à une part de CT pour plus d’un groupe prévu au titre d’un contingent du PTPGP. Puis-je demander une part de CT pour les deux groupes?

Non. Les demandeurs peuvent uniquement demander une part de CT au titre d’un seul groupe.

Pourquoi dois-je fournir la lettre d’un comptable avec ma demande?
  • La lettre d’un comptable permet de s’assurer que les quantités présentées dans la demande correspondent exactement aux quantités de produits en question fabriquées ou vendues par le demandeur.
  • Lorsque les contingents sont attribués en fonction des parts de marché, il est important de s’assurer que les demandeurs, par inadvertance, ne présentent pas faussement leur niveau d’activité dans leurs demandes, ce qui aurait une incidence sur les parts de CT attribuées à tous les demandeurs admissibles et pourrait entraîner des sanctions aux termes de la LLEI pour avoir fourni des renseignements faux ou trompeurs.
L’avis aux importateurs indique qu’une seule part de contingent sera attribuée pour tout groupe de demandeurs qui sont des « personnes liées ». Comment puis-je déterminer si j’ai un lien avec une autre entreprise?
  • Les critères permettant de déterminer si une personne ou une entreprise qui présente une demande de part de contingents est liée à une autre sont énoncés dans l’avis aux importateurs, à l’annexe intitulée « Information au sujet des personnes liées ». Les demandeurs qui ne savent pas s’ils sont liés doivent faire preuve de prudence, énumérer les personnes et les entreprises auxquelles ils pourraient être liés et demander une évaluation à Affaires mondiales Canada.
Je suis lié à un détenteur de part de CT dans le cadre d’un autre programme de contingents tarifaires pour ces produits. Puis-je demander une part des contingents du PTPGP?
  • Oui. Cependant, il se peut que les parties liées ne reçoivent pas plus d’une part au titre des mêmes contingents tarifaires du PTPGP.
Si j’ai déjà présenté une demande, comment saurai-je si une part de CT m’est allouée?
  • Les demandeurs seront informés par écrit de l’approbation de leur part de CT, ainsi que de la quantité du contingent qui leur a été attribuée.
  • Les demandeurs seront informés de l’attribution de leur part de CT le 21 décembre 2018.
Ma part de CT sera-t-elle la même chaque année, ou changera-t-elle d’une année à l’autre?
  • La quantité attribuée à chaque détenteur de part de CT variera d’année en année.
  • Pour les contingents qui sont attribués en fonction de la part de marché, la quantité du contingent qu’un demandeur recevra dans une année donnée dépendra du niveau d’activité de ce demandeur dans l’industrie nationale par rapport aux activités de tous les autres demandeurs admissibles dans le groupe (ou réserve) auquel il appartient.
  • Pour les contingents qui sont attribués à parts égales, la quantité du CT qu’un demandeur recevra dans une année donnée dépendra du nombre de demandeurs admissibles à ce contingent.
Existe-t-il une limite à la quantité maximale du contingent que peut recevoir un demandeur?
  • Non, il n’existe aucune limite à la quantité du contingent pouvant être allouée à un demandeur.
  • Cependant, la quantité maximale de contingent qu’un requérant pourrait se voir attribuée sera, en pratique,  limitée par la méthode d’allocation s’appliquant au contingent du PTPGP.  
  • Pour les contingents du PTPGP attribués sur une base de part de marché, la taille de la plus grande part sera fonction de l’activité sectorielle des requérants éligibles ; le requérant ayant la plus grande activité sectorielle (en terme de ventes, production ou distribution selon le cas) recevra une part proportionnelle à l’activité sectorielle de tous les requérants éligibles sous le contingent du PTPGP en question.
  • Pour les contingents du PTPGP répartis sur une base de part égale, la taille de la part reçue par tous les requérants éligibles sera l’équivalent de la quantité de contingent disponible divisée par le nombre de requérants éligibles.
Y a-t-il une quantité minimale du contingent que peut recevoir un demandeur? Les parts de CT sont-elles allouées aux demandeurs selon des quantités viables sur le plan commercial? Qu’arrivera-t-il si le calcul de la part de marché donne une quantité contingentaire qui est inférieure au seuil minimal?
  • Oui, il existe une part de CT minimale qu’un demandeur peut recevoir, mais la quantité exacte varie en fonction du CT.
  • La part minimale des contingents du PTPGP pour les produits laitiers, le poulet et le dindon est de 20 000 kg, respectivement. Les demandeurs dont la part de marché calculée n’équivaut pas à une part de CT égale ou supérieure au seuil minimal de 20 000 kg ne recevront habituellement pas une part de CT, sauf s’ils ont indiqué le volume minimal qu’ils sont disposés à accepter. Aucune part de CT ne sera attribuée si le calcul de la part de marché d’un demandeur entraîne un volume inférieur au volume minimal indiqué.
  • La part minimale des contingents du PTPGP pour les œufs, et les œufs d’incubation et les poussins est de 25 000 douzaines, respectivement. Les demandeurs dont la part de marché calculée n’entraîne pas une part de CT égale ou supérieure au seuil minimal de 25 000 douzaines ne recevront habituellement pas une part de CT, sauf s’ils ont indiqué le volume minimal qu’ils sont disposés à accepter. Aucune part de CT ne sera attribuée si le calcul de la part de marché d’un demandeur entraîne un volume inférieur au volume minimal indiqué.
Qu’arrive-t-il si je ne suis pas en mesure d’utiliser toute ma part de CT? Puis-je en retourner une partie? Comment puis-je le faire?
  • Une pénalité pour sous-utilisation est habituellement appliquée aux détenteurs de part de CT qui n’ont pas utilisé 90 % à 95 % de leur allocation au cours d’une année contingentaire, selon le seuil d’utilisation qui est indiqué dans l’avis aux importateurs applicable.
  • Les détenteurs de CT qui n’atteignent pas le seuil d’utilisation minimal au cours de l’année contingentaire peuvent voir leur part de CT rajustée à la baisse, au moyen d’une pénalité pour sous-utilisation, pour la nouvelle année contingentaire.
  • Si un détenteur de part de CT prévoit ne pas être en mesure d’utiliser toute ou une partie de la part qui lui a été attribuée, il peut remettre toute partie inutilisée au plus tard à la date de remise indiquée dans l’avis aux importateurs applicable. Toute partie d’un contingent remise avant la date de remise sera considérée comme ayant été utilisée aux fins de l’administration de la politique relative à la sous-utilisation.
  • Les détenteurs de part de CT qui souhaitent remettre toute part inutilisée peuvent le faire en informant Affaires mondiales Canada par écrit du volume qu’ils souhaitent remettre au plus tard à la date de remise applicable. Cette notfication devrait être envoyée à la boîte de courriel ministérielle associée à l’administration du contingent du PTPGP applicable.
Comment puis-je obtenir les parts de contingent remises par d’autres détenteurs de CT?
  • Les quantités remises seront habituellement offertes sept jours après la date limite de remise aux détenteurs de CT admissibles qui n’ont remis aucune quantité non utilisée de leur part de CT.
  • Les parts remises seront d’abord attribuées proportionnellement à la part initiale de CT détenue par chaque demandeur; ensuite, toutes les parts restantes, s’il y en a, seront offertes sur demande.
Est-il possible de transférer des parts de contingent? Si oui, à qui et comment?
  • Oui. Le ministre peut permettre le transfert de parts entre des détenteurs du CT.
  • Toute demande de transfert de parts de contingent doit être soumise à Affaires mondiales Canada aux fins d’examen.
  • Les demandes doivent être présentées au moyen du formulaire de demande de transfert pour le contingent du PTPGP applicable.
  • Dans le cas de tous les contingents du PTPGP pour les produits laitiers, tout détenteur de parts qui a transféré toute ou une partie de sa part de CT à un autre détenteur ne pourra plus recevoir un transfert de parts pour le reste de l’année contingentaire. De la même manière, le détenteur de parts qui a reçu un transfert ne pourra plus transférer une part quelconque de ses parts à un autre détenteur de CT pour le reste de l’année contingentaire.
Je suis distributeur. Pourquoi ne puis-je pas inclure les ventes des produits à d’autres distributeurs dans ma demande?
  • Un distributeur ne peut inclure dans sa demande les ventes à d’autres distributeurs dans ses ventes totales, afin d’assurer que la vente de la même quantité de produits n’est pas utilisée par plusieurs distributeurs pour être admissibles à une part de CT.
  • Dans leur demande, les distributeurs peuvent inclure toutes les ventes faites à d’autres types d’entreprises, comme les transformateurs, les détaillants et les services alimentaires.
  • Les distributeurs peuvent également inclure les quantités de produits qu’ils ont exportés au cours de la période de référence.
Comment puis-je en savoir plus sur la méthode d’attribution des CT ?
Date de modification: