Volunteer Cooperation Program

The deadline for submitting a proposal for this call was Wednesday, February 20, 2019, 12 p.m. (noon) ET.


The summary of the final report of the formative evaluation of the Volunteer Cooperation Program (2015-2020) has been added to the list of the Available Resources section.

The total amount of funding available under this call for proposals is up to $420 million over 7 years. Global Affairs Canada may fund any number of proposals, or none, up to the maximum funding available. Global Affairs Canada intends to fund proposals of at least $3 million and no more than $50 million.

You must submit your proposal through the Partners@International portal before the deadline. We will not accept any late submissions. Please read the portal instructions carefully and plan to submit your application at least three business days before the closing date to ensure that technical difficulties do not prevent you from submitting your proposal by the deadline.

Objectives

The Volunteer Cooperation Program (VCP) will aim to contribute to the economic and/or social well-being of the poorest, most marginalized and vulnerable people, particularly women and girls, in developing countries.

Under this call, your proposed project must contribute to the achievement of these ultimate and intermediate outcomes.

Ultimate outcome

Improved economic and/or social well-being of the poorest, most marginalized and vulnerable people, particularly women and girls, in developing countries, with a view to contributing to sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

Indicators:

Intermediate outcomes

Increased engagement of Canadians in international development and key global issues in support of the action areas of Canada’s Feminist International Assistance Policy (FIAP).

Indicators:

Increased performance of developing country partners to deliver more inclusive, innovative and environmentally sustainable development initiatives that advance gender equality, in support of the action areas of Canada’s FIAP.

Indicators:

You may adjust the call’s outcome statements to ensure they are grounded in the reality of your project design, making them more specific in terms of the who, what and where of your project.

Additional information

Types of skilled volunteer mandates eligible for funding under the Volunteer Cooperation Program:

North-South mandates must represent at least 90% of the total number of volunteer mandates.

A volunteer must be a person that is considered by law to be an adult at time of travel and possesses a skill set required by the developing-country organization.

Engagement activities:

Applicants must include in their proposal up to 10% of Global Affair’s Canada’s contribution to the direct costs (see budget template for definition) of the project for engagement activities aimed at awareness raising, knowledge sharing and network strengthening in Canada. These engagement activities should promote global citizenship by encouraging Canadians to develop a deeper understanding of international development issues and to become actively involved in addressing these issues. Engagement activities that are NOT eligible for funding include:

Special thematic funds:

Applicants can include in their proposal up to 5% of Global Affairs Canada’s contribution to the direct costs of the project to activities that complement the work of volunteers by supporting some of the department’s priority themes: feminist approaches, innovation and experimentation, diversity and inclusion, indigenous integration, LGBTQ2 and climate change.

Gender equality:

Canada’s Feminist International Assistance Policy states that: “No less than 95% of Canada’s bilateral international development assistance initiatives will target or integrate gender equality and the empowerment of women and girls.” Priority will be given to proposals that meet the requirement of targeting or fully integrating gender equality and women’s and girls’ empowerment in their design. To support this, your proposal’s logic model must have gender equality outcomes. In addition to the elements in section 2.1 of the application form the theory of change must detail:

For more information on the program please refer to the Volunteer Cooperation Program - Information note.

Organization eligibility requirements

Carefully review the following eligibility screening requirements for submitted application packages for this particular call. Global Affairs Canada will not comment on the eligibility of specific potential applicants.

This call is open to Canadian organizations, which may submit an application alone or in consortiums with other organizations. Applicants (including all signatories in the case of consortiums) must meet the following requirements:

If your proposed project does not conform to the above statements, it will not be assessed because it cannot be considered for funding under this call.

Required project parameters

Carefully review the points below to determine whether your proposed project is in alignment with the parameters of the call. We will not respond to questions about the eligibility of your proposal. You must be able to answer “yes” to all the following statements in order for your application to be considered for funding under this call:

If your proposed project does not conform to the above statements, it will not be assessed because it cannot be considered for funding under this call.

Please note that Global Affairs Canada will not consider projects that include new construction/physical work.

Required project experience

The applicant, in the case of a single applicant or a partnership, or the lead applicant or other signatories in the case of a consortium, must use volunteerism as a key mechanism for delivering development results abroad and provide a maximum of two examples of recent (less than 10 years ago) projects in Section 5.1 of the application form. Collectively, the examples must demonstrate a minimum of 3 years in recruiting and sending a relevant number of volunteers to developing countries.

Applicants unable to fulfill the above requirements are not eligible to apply under this call.

Additional guidance

Preference may be given to proposals that:

How we assess your proposal

Please note that this call will use a one-step application process. The comparative assessment process is described below. In this call, applicants must submit a shortened full proposal.

As the first step, applications to this call will undergo an eligibility check to verify that all Organization eligibility requirements and Required project parameters listed on this call page are met by the application.

Next, eligible applications will be assessed to ensure that the Required project experience has been demonstrated. Applications that do not meet the Required project experience will not be further assessed. You will be notified if your application is not found to be eligible or if it does not meet the Required Project Experience.

Then, applications that meet this requirement will proceed to merit assessment as described in How we assess your proposal. The merit assessment assessment criteria that will be used for this call are the Full proposal assessment criteria.

Available resources

There are a number of resources available online to help develop your application package. We strongly encourage you to read all of the following tools and guidance before beginning your application process. Failure to meet the mandatory requirements, minimum standards and deadlines detailed therein will result in your application package not being considered for funding.

How to submit your application package

Important: If you intend to apply to this call for proposals, you must send an email to correspondance.pid@international.gc.ca by Wednesday, February 13, 2019, in order to receive the budget template for this call. Please reference the Volunteer Cooperation Program call for proposals in your email when requesting the budget template. The budget must be completed and uploaded to the portal along with all other documents, as outlined below.

In order to be considered in this call, you must upload the application form and all supporting document and submit them through the Partners@International portal of Global Affairs Canada by Wednesday, February 20, 2019, 12 p.m. (noon) ET.

If your organization is not already registered in Partners@International, register as soon as possible because it can take 10 or more business days to process a registration request.

Your application package must include all of the following documents:

Submission of a proposal does not guarantee funding. Funding decisions will be made on the merit assessment of your application.

Accessing and using PDF forms

Use only Adobe Reader/Adobe Acrobat to work on the standardized PDFs to be submitted with your application package. If you use other software, the data you enter may not appear once submitted to Global Affairs Canada, and the application will be considered ineligible.

If you are having difficulty downloading the proposal form, it is generally due to the type of software you have (or do not have) on your computer. Please read and follow the help instructions. If you have all the correct software installed, download the form to your desktop and open it directly in Adobe Reader 8 or above; otherwise, other software installed on your computer may try (and fail) to open the form using your default settings.

Questions on using the Partners@International portal

Please read and follow all the instructions for using the Partners@International portal (linked on the right side menu). Do not open multiple windows within the portal as this may cause technical problems.

Please do not register or submit at the last minute.

If you encounter technical difficulties while registering or trying to submit a proposal, send an email to: partners-partenaires@international.gc.ca. Please note: during the last two weeks before a call closes, the service standard for replying to your enquiry is 3 business days. Technical support for the portal is only available 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. ET, Monday to Friday.

Questions specific to this call

If you still have questions about this call after reading the general Questions and answers about applying for funding, please send them to correspondance.pid@international.gc.ca by Wednesday, January 16, 2019, 12 p.m. (noon) ET. We will not respond to questions received after this deadline, nor to questions on specific organizational circumstances or specific project proposals. Applicants will not receive emails with responses. Answers will only appear on the Q&As page for this call for proposals to ensure that all applicants have access to the same information at the same time.

Date Modified:

Programme de coopération volontaire

La date limite pour soumettre une proposition était le mercredi 20 février 2019, à 12 h (midi), heure de l’Est.


Le sommaire du rapport final de l'évaluation formative du Programme de coopération volontaire (2015-2020) a été ajouté à la liste de la section Ressources disponibles.

Le montant total du financement offert dans le cadre de cet appel de propositions peut atteindre 420 millions de dollars sur 7 ans. Il est possible qu’Affaires mondiales Canada finance plusieurs propositions, ou n’en finance aucune, jusqu’à concurrence du financement maximal disponible. Affaires mondiales Canada prévoit de financer des propositions d’au moins 3 millions de dollars et d’au plus 50 millions de dollars.

Vous devez soumettre votre proposition par l’intermédiaire du portail Partenaires@International avant la date limite. Nous n’accepterons aucune proposition reçue après cette date. Veuillez lire attentivement les directives sur le portail et prévoyez soumettre votre demande au moins trois jours ouvrables avant la date de clôture afin de vous assurer que des difficultés techniques ne vous empêchent pas de soumettre votre proposition avant la date limite.

Objectifs

L’objectif du Programme de coopération volontaire (PCV) est de contribuer au bien-être économique et social des personnes les plus pauvres, les plus marginalisées et les plus vulnérables, en particulier les femmes et les filles, dans les pays en développement.

Dans le cadre de cet appel, le projet que vous proposez doit contribuer à l’atteinte des résultats ultimes et intermédiaires suivants :

Résultat ultime

Bien-être économique et/ou social amélioré des personnes les plus pauvres, les plus marginalisées et les plus vulnérables, en particulier les femmes et les filles, dans les pays en développement, en vue de contribuer aux objectifs de développement durable (ODD).

Indicateurs :

Résultats intermédiaires

Participation accrue des Canadiens au développement international et aux enjeux mondiaux clés, en appui aux champs d’action de la Politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada (PAIF).

Indicateurs :

Performance accrue des partenaires des pays en développement dans la mise en œuvre d’initiatives de développement plus inclusives, plus novatrices et plus durables sur le plan environnemental, et qui font progresser l’égalité des genres, en appui aux champs d’action de la PAIF du Canada.

Indicateurs :

Vous pouvez ajuster les énoncés des résultats de l’appel pour vous assurer qu’ils reflètent la réalité de la conception de votre projet, les rendant plus précis quant au qui, au quoi et au lieu de votre projet.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Types de mandats de volontaires qualifiés admissibles au financement dans le cadre du Programme de coopération volontaire :

Les mandats Nord-Sud doivent représenter au moins 90% du nombre total de mandats de volontaires.

Un volontaire doit être une personne réputée adulte en vertu de la loi au moment de voyager et posséder l’ensemble des compétences requises par l’organisation du pays en développement.

Activités de mobilisation :

Les demandeurs doivent inclure dans leur proposition jusqu’à 10 % de la contribution d’Affaires mondiales Canada aux coûts directs (consulter le modèle du budget pour obtenir la définition) du projet pour les activités de mobilisation qui visent la sensibilisation, la transmission du savoir et le renforcement des réseaux au Canada. Ces activités de mobilisation devraient promouvoir les citoyens du monde en encourageant les Canadiens à mieux comprendre les enjeux de développement international et à participer activement au traitement de ces enjeux. Les activités de mobilisation qui ne sont PAS admissibles au financement sont les suivantes :

Fonds thématiques spéciaux :

Les demandeurs peuvent inclure dans leur proposition jusqu’à 5 % de la contribution d’Affaires mondiales Canada aux coûts directs du projet pour des activités qui complètent les travaux des volontaires en soutenant certains des thèmes prioritaires du Ministère : approches féministes, innovation et expérimentation, diversité et inclusion, intégration autochtone, LGBTQ2 et changements climatiques.

Égalité des genres :

La Politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada stipule que « pas moins de 95 % des initiatives bilatérales du Canada en matière d’aide au développement international visent ou intègrent l’égalité des genres et le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles ». La priorité sera accordée aux propositions qui respectent l’exigence de cibler et d’intégrer pleinement, dans leur conception, l’égalité des genres et le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles. À l’appui de cette exigence, le modèle logique de votre proposition doit inclure des résultats relatifs à l’égalité des genres. Outre les éléments de la section 2.1 du formulaire de demande, la théorie du changement doit préciser les éléments suivants : 

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le programme, veuillez consulter la note d’information sur le Programme de coopération volontaire.

Critères d’admissibilité de l’organisation

Veuillez examiner attentivement les critères de vérification de l’admissibilité des dossiers de demande présentés dans le cadre de cet appel de propositions.  Affaires mondiales Canada ne formulera aucun commentaire sur l’admissibilité de demandeurs éventuels précis.

Cet appel est ouvert aux organisations canadiennes, lesquelles peuvent soumettre une demande seules ou au sein d’un consortium, avec d’autres organisations. Les demandeurs (y compris tous les signataires dans le cas de consortiums) doivent satisfaire aux exigences suivantes :

Si le projet que vous proposez ne respecte pas les énoncés ci-dessus, il ne sera pas évalué, car il ne peut être pris en considération pour du financement au titre du présent appel.

Critères du projet à respecter

Veuillez passer attentivement en revue les points ci-dessous pour déterminer si le projet que vous proposez satisfait aux critères énoncés dans l’appel. Nous ne répondrons pas aux questions concernant l’admissibilité de votre proposition. Vous devez être en mesure de répondre « oui » à tous les énoncés suivants pour que votre demande soit prise en considération pour un financement en vertu de cet appel :

Si le projet que vous proposez ne respecte pas les énoncés ci-dessus, il ne sera pas évalué, car il ne peut être pris en considération pour du financement au titre du présent appel.

Veuillez noter qu’Affaires mondiales Canada ne prendra pas en considération les projets qui incluent de nouveaux travaux physiques ou de construction.

Expérience requise pour le projet

Le demandeur, dans le cas d’un demandeur unique ou d’un partenariat, ou le demandeur principal ou les autres signataires dans le cas d’un consortium, doit utiliser le volontariat en guise de mécanisme clé pour obtenir des résultats en matière de développement à l’étranger et fournir un maximum de deux exemples de projets récents (datant de moins de 10 ans) dans la section 5.1 du formulaire de demande. Ensemble, les exemples doivent illustrer un minimum de trois années à recruter et à envoyer un nombre pertinent de volontaires vers des pays en développement.

Les demandeurs qui ne sont pas en mesure de satisfaire aux exigences énoncées ci-dessus ne sont pas admissibles à présenter une demande dans le cadre du présent appel.

Directives supplémentaires

La préférence peut être accordée aux propositions qui :

Comment sont évaluées les propositions

Veuillez noter que le processus de demande pour le présent appel se déroulera en une seule étape. Le processus d’évaluation comparative est décrit ci-dessous. Dans cet appel, les demandeurs doivent soumettre une proposition complète abrégée.

Les demandes présentées dans le cadre de cet appel feront d’abord l’objet d’une vérification de l’admissibilité afin de s’assurer que les demandes satisfont à tous les critères d’admissibilité de l’organisation et à tous les critères du projet à respecter tel qu’ils sont énoncés sur cette page.

Ensuite, les demandes admissibles seront évaluées pour s’assurer que l’expérience requise pour le projet a été démontrée. Les demandes qui ne satisfont pas aux exigences de l’expérience requise pour le projet ne feront pas l’objet d’une évaluation plus approfondie. Vous serez avisé si votre demande est jugée inadmissible ou si elle ne satisfait pas à l’expérience requise pour le projet.

Finalement, les demandes qui satisfont à cette exigence feront l’objet d’une évaluation du mérite, comme il est décrit dans Comment sont évaluées les propositions. Les critères d’évaluation qui seront utilisés pour cet appel sont les Critères d’évaluation des propositions complètes.

Ressources disponibles

Il y a un certain nombre de ressources en ligne qui peuvent vous aider à préparer votre dossier de demande. Nous vous encourageons fortement à lire tous les outils et les conseils suivants avant de commencer à préparer votre demande. Si vous ne respectez pas les exigences obligatoires, les normes minimales et les échéances décrites dans le présent document, vous ne serez pas admissible au financement.

Comment présenter votre dossier de demande

Important : Si vous avez l’intention de présenter une demande dans le cadre de cet appel de propositions, vous devez envoyer un courriel à correspondance.pid@international.gc.ca d’ici le mercredi 13 février 2019, afin de recevoir le modèle du budget pour cet appel. S’il vous plait, précisez que vous demandez le modèle de budget pour l'appel de propositions du Programme de coopération volontaire. Le budget doit être rempli et téléversé vers le portail, et être accompagné de tous les autres documents, comme il est indiqué ci-dessous.

Afin que votre demande soit prise en considération pour le présent appel, vous devez télécharger le formulaire de demande et les documents justificatifs, et les soumettre par l’intermédiaire du portail Partenaires@International d’Affaires mondiales Canada d’ici le mercredi 20 février 2019, à 12 h (midi) HE

Si ce n’est pas déjà fait, vous devez inscrire votre organisation sur le portail Partenaires@International d’Affaires mondiales Canada. Il est recommandé de le faire  sans tarder, car le traitement de l’inscription peut prendre 10 jours ouvrables ou plus.

Tous les documents suivants doivent figurer dans votre dossier de demande :

La soumission d’une proposition ne garantit pas un financement. Les décisions de financement seront prises en fonction de l’évaluation du mérite de votre demande.

Comment avoir accès aux formulaires PDF et comment les utiliser

Utilisez seulement Adobe Reader/Adobe Acrobat pour travailler sur les PDF normalisés à soumettre avec votre dossier de demande. Si vous utilisez d’autres logiciels, les données que vous entrez pourraient ne pas apparaître une fois soumises à Affaires mondiales Canada, et la demande sera considérée comme inadmissible.

Si vous avez de la difficulté à télécharger le formulaire de proposition, c’est généralement dû au type de logiciel que vous avez (ou n’avez pas) sur votre ordinateur. Veuillez lire et suivre les directives d’aide. Si vous avez installé tous les bons logiciels, téléchargez le formulaire sur votre bureau et ouvrez-le directement dans Adobe Reader 8 ou une version plus récente; sinon, d’autres logiciels installés sur votre ordinateur pourraient essayer d’ouvrir le formulaire (et ne pas y parvenir) en utilisant vos paramètres par défaut.

Questions concernant le portail Partenaires@International

Veuillez lire et suivre toutes les directives d’utilisation du portail Partenaires@International (liens du menu à droite). N’ouvrez pas plusieurs fenêtres à l’intérieur du portail, car cela pourrait causer des problèmes techniques.

Svp ne pas vous inscrire ou soumettre une proposition à la dernière minute.

Si vous éprouvez des difficultés techniques en vous inscrivant ou en essayant de soumettre une proposition, envoyez un courriel à partners-partenaires@international.gc.ca. Veuillez noter qu’au cours des deux dernières semaines avant la fermeture d’un appel, la norme de service pour répondre à votre demande de renseignements est de trois jours ouvrables. Le soutien technique pour le portail n’est disponible que de 9 h à 16 h HE, du lundi au vendredi.

Questions spécifiques au présent appel

Si vous avez encore des questions au sujet de cet appel après avoir lu les Questions et réponses sur les demandes de financement, veuillez les envoyer à correspondance.pid@international.gc.ca d’ici le mercredi 16 janvier 2019, à 12 h (midi) HE. Nous ne répondrons pas aux questions reçues après cette date ni aux questions portant sur des circonstances propres à une organisation ou des propositions de projet particulières. Les candidats ne recevront pas de courriels contenant des réponses. Les réponses n’apparaîtront que sur la page Questions et réponses de cet appel de propositions pour s’assurer que tous les demandeurs ont accès aux mêmes renseignements, au même moment.

Date de modification: